We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really freshly prepared sushis and food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kabuki

Kabuki
Ranked #308 of 935 Restaurants in Riga
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not really freshly prepared sushis and food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

low price but sushi and food are not freshly prepared. We took some tiger prawns for diner. It seems everything was cooked for lunch and served few hours later..... Even the rice was dry.... Deserts are not inspiring neither.... Not really a place where to try good sushis

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Sebfja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    33
    12
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Solid Sushi Performer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I have eaten here almost every time I come to Riga. The food is fresh, excellent and consistently good.

The interior is rather sparse (I guess the Japanese minimalism) and seats not so comfortable.

Drinks are on the pricey side (I assume that's how they make money).

The set menu options are very good and the lunch time menu is also very attractive.

Location on Elizabetes Iela is a 20 minute walk from the Old Town.

Overall good stuff! Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ravenna2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sushi sushi shushimi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

One of the best Japanese restaurants i ever been. Any restaurant of the network just perfect. Excellent japaneese food, good service, amazing atmosphere. Fresh fish, sushimi & sushi.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Constantine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Kabuki is a Japaneses chain restaurant which offers mediocre food at best. The food I received was in stark contrast to the pictures on the menu. How they manage to slice fish so thin is beyond me. The rice I received in my sushi was undercooked and hard in the middle. I mentioned this to both my server and the manager; both simply shrugged their shoulders and walked away from me. Another time I was served gray tuna. Yuk. I live in Riga, and will never go to Kabuki again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Janis_Lapsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I had lunch at Kabuki whn on holiday in Riga. The place looked nice with tables outside, both in the sun and in the shadow. The menu included a lot, I shared a plate of sushi with my husband and it tasted great! The service was also excellent. I highly recommend Kabuki restaurant to sushi lovers!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kabuki also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Kabuki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing