We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary and a bunch of scammers. Stay away!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Helga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Helga
Ranked #44 of 63 Riga B&B and Inns
Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Scary and a bunch of scammers. Stay away!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

We got a bad feeling upon arrival. The building looked horrible and about to collapse. It was also fairly difficult to find the reception area, as we had to climb 5 flights of scary, dark stairs. When we found the reception the lights were off and a lady came out screaming "not afraid! not afraid!". On the contrary, that actually made us more afraid. What subsequently transpired was nothing sort of a joke. The ladies in the reception decided, after what seemed like an eternity, that there wasn't any room for us so they sent us to another hotel. I would say that Hotel Helga is a sad excuse for a hotel and should be avoided at all costs. If you stay there who knows what might happen to you. Maybe you won't even get to stay there, as was what happened to us.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirleopards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
1
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
387 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2009

Rooms on 3rd floor (no lift & piles of discarded broken furniture on stairways & landings). External door open/unlocked 24/7. Our room was accessed by seperate stairs not through reception so was accessible to all who entered the building if they wished, a man tried to enter the room with a key one night & then said sorry it was the wrong room. Windows were smashed in rooms above and below ours. There is a sex shop & "Gentlemens Club" next door. Not a nice "feel" to the place very dingy & almost scary at times.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Riga hotels

Caracas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2009

I made the booking with booking.com but when I came to this hotel they say to me that my booking is canceled and they do not have any room for me. And trying to offer the room in another hotel for 35% expensive. Next day I contacted with booking.com and was confirmed that reservation was NOT canceled. So, it looks that they pratice overbooking and then trying to sell another hotels much expensive. Be aware of these scammers!!


And! Actually it is not an hotel. It is looks like remodelling appartments renting his rooms...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eltigre4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

Booking ok.

BUT, this is not a hotel. The building concist of one floor concisting of several rooms which are rented out. The location is fine, so are the rooms, but the overall impression of the building is terrible as it looks like a house full of drug addicts. I feel sort of sorry for the owners, because they don't owe the whole building, but on the other side the total service is just average.

My girlfriend was terrified about my booking, but for that price, I was satisfied.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the standard of the building
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Correct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

We paid for 9 nights for a room with one double or two twin beds. Upon arrival we found out that our room was given away to other people and were placed in a room (the size of a closet) that was not only very dirty but, advertised as 4 Stars Hotel. The view from our window is picturesque of a slum, with broken liquor bottles, cigarette buts, used syringes and who knows what else. We had no clock, no phone (and even later the hotel staff wouldn't let us to use their phone in the lobby), no working TV and no Internet connection (although their website states there is free Internet connection).
So called 4 star hotel room didn't have shampoo, lotion nor Kleenex. We could not freely to enter and exit the hotel after 17:00 since the main door was locked and we had to ask staff to open it for us every time. Our bathroom was outside our bedroom in a hallway that could not be locked - we had to leave our belongings in the bathroom on our own risk or take them back to our room every time after using the bathroom. In the bathroom water heater had leakage and my wife's personal items were damaged by the water on the second day, we had to wake up the hotel staff at 23:00 asking to replace our soak and wet toilet paper! My wife and son couldn't take shower for two last days since there was no hot water! There was a bump sleeping on a cardboard in the main entrance to the hotel every night!

  • Liked — Location of that Travel Agency that rents out extra rooms and calls themselves a HOTEL was perfect
  • Disliked — Staff, room, bathroom - EVERYTHING!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Modern_Family_in_Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#3 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Residence Riga Barona
0.1 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#16 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Edvards
Hotel Edvards
#54 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Riga Centre
Ibis Riga Centre
#38 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helga

Property: Helga
Address: Elizabetes iela 22, Riga, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Riga
Hotel Class:4 star — Helga 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Helga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing