We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alus arsenals

Alus arsenals
Ranked #174 of 935 Restaurants in Riga
Cuisines: European, Latvian, Eastern European, Central European, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I usually go there for red ginger beer and pork leg, that is just awesome. If you add there some garlic bread with fresh hot cheese sauce - you will get the recipe for the perfect meal with friend on a Friday evening.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    67
    20
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tartu
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced and poor quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This proved to be the poorest restaurant we visited during our trip. The service was alright, although the person attending to us disappeared after about half an hour so I had to go to the counter to pay. The prices were quite high in comparison to most places, especially considering the food. The food itself was, well disappointing. The portions were small and the taste was nothing to write home about. The salmon with potato pancakes had the salmon at room temperature and the chicken fillet turned out to be 3 small slices of chicken, seasoned with generic spices and overcooked. I would recommend travelers to look around the old town a bit more, there are plenty of other restaurants available.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Das_Lich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cellar restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

we ate here one night in Riga.
located near to the house of the three brothers is a nice restaurant located in a cellar.
Food was very good and was reasonably priced. There was also a wide variety of drink to choose from including local beers and wines.
It was quite the night we ate there, so service was second to none and the waiter was friendly and spoke English well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cold dishes and background music to (literally) die for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This restaurant proved to be real disappointment despite of it's cozy and warm interior and athmosphere.
Our beef carpaccio for starters was awfully over seasoned with some kind of a terrible all-around spice mix. For main course we selected a roasted pork leg with garlic and pepper sauce for two persons and some grilled vegetables. The pork leg was absolutely poorly prepared. It was tasteless, a bit dry and cold in the inside. The skin of the leg was everything but crispy and we found absolutely no hint of the garlic-pepper sauce promised at the menu. Our grilled vegetables was also polluted with the same all-around spice mix than the starters and the veggies itself were all vizened. We didn't stay for desserts.
Despite of bad food and awful background music, the service was very good and waiters were polite.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sntrtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash, D.C.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Basic food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is more franchise restaurant style food than Latvian. Filling, but basic and with no flavor. Staff are not particularly excited to see customers, though that could be because September was slow and not a lot of tourists in the area, so no reason for the same energy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bulag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alus arsenals also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Alus arsenals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing