We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good”
Review of Monterosso

Monterosso
Ranked #155 of 983 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: One of the oldest restaurants in Riga, «Monterosso» was established in 1913. After re-opening in 2000 it quickly became a favorable dining place for sophisticated locals and international visitors alike. Carrying the heritage of it’s past into today’s glamour, «Monterosso» brings true Italian cuisine to the heart of Old Riga. Our elegant interiors are complemented with a la carte menu created by world renowned chef Patrick Pages. Patrick is a rarity – he is a French chef who understands the fundamentals, essentials, and desirable taste of Italian food. Several years that he spent in Italy made him a true connoisseur of Mediterranian cuisine. Patrick’s background as a leading chef in France and his cooking experience in many European countries as well as in Japan, South America, and Africa ensure that only purity and freshness of the best ingredients shine through to create superb food served in our restaurant. A menu at «Monterosso» is complemented by the finest wine list in Riga. Our wine cellar carries a stock of a few thousand bottles of wine carefully selected from all over the world.
Riga, Riga, Latvia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I am from Riga and prefer the quality places only with attentive and polite service,so I would recommend Monterosso to everyone who like the stylish ,nice atmosphere with really tasty food.This is not a cheap Italian pizzeria,but a cozy place to have a lunch or dinner with friends or family. I love a tuna steak as also tartar!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VeraPachkoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    55
    13
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent food, "Scandinavian" prices”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We went to Monterosso after recommendations from local colleagues, saying that this is one of the few restaurants in Riga who has kept high level for years. We were expecting a lot of peple there, but the restaurant was almost empty (this was a Tuesday, so that could be the reason).
All of us had "foie gras" as a starter, and we did not regret it. For main courses we had duck breast and chicken, and of those I would have chosen the duck breast next time (even if far more expensive). The chicken was ok, nothing more. The wine list is very extensive, you should expect to pay about LVL 30 for a decent bottle. Service was attentive and discreet. We liked the place very much, but found it a bit pricey (of course also due to our choice of the most expensive courses on the menu). I would recommend it for a business dinner or a romantic dinner with partner, even if Biblioteka no 1 still is my Riga favourite.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harstad, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A nice and unexpected surprise”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We actually had booked a table at another restaurant in Riga this night, but we cancelled it after a couple of locals discouraged us. So, by chance we ended up at Monterosso. And we did not regret it! From the moment a polite waiter welcomed us and showed us a table by the window and till we left a few hours later we had a really nice time.

Usually we don't spend that much time at a restaurant, but we felt so comfortable here that we just let the time pass by.

Antipastis, primis, and secondis were all excellent. So was the wine. The only thing that could have been better was the dessert. I have had much better Tiramisu other places, but at that point nothing could have ruined our evening. Not even the total on the bill.. which wasn't very low, but we absolutely felt we've had value for money.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank qrtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very tast, though a bit pricy”
Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

I agree with many others here. The food was really delicious, the service close to best in Riga, atmosphere is very genuine (though as all others restaurants in Riga they seem to think that big TVs is a must) but prices are a bit higher than normal riga prices. If you are used to western european prices its still very ok.

Missed more wine choices on glass, the wine list on bottles was very nice. Can also say that thy really know how to make a good espresso here, pRobably on my top 5 ever.

Helpful?
Thank Kimlean0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

if you like italian food, then you must go to monterossa in riga. yes it is a little bit more expensive as traditional italian restaurants, but ... the perfect food compensates the surcharge. enjoy you meal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterosso also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Monterosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing