We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medieval with bells on”
Review of Rozengrals

Rozengrals
Ranked #22 of 1,006 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $149
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Medieval with bells on”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This has to be one of the most awesome atmospheric places I've seen. It's right up there with any old castle or fort I've visited. Hundreds of candles lighting the old vaulted rooms, lots of rooms with large wooden tables. It's really beautiful. The staff were dressed in medieval costume & I wasn't expecting the food to be up to much but we were pleasantly surprised. The bread is served in old muslin bags & was very tasty. They use old 14th/15th century recipes. The beef & lamb were fab. Don't leave Riga without popping into this utterly amazing venue.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,036
    534
    190
    54
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cute touristy place”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Very cute medieval like place with surprisingly good food. I didn't expect much from restaurant with a lot of "bells and whistles" like burning candles and staff wearing medieval clothes etc, but the food turned out to be great.
Make sure to try their special honey beer!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank deeedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quite good.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The most atmospheric place i've ever been, food was really traditional midieval way cooked, portions were mid sized so you have to eat the whole menu to get full but it's worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ihainpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Most expensive and worst meal in Riga!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We went here for my dad's birthday, we were expecting it to be special for him, I am afraid it was such a disappointment. It was so expensive compared to anywhere else in Riga and the food was really bad, I had fish which was overcooked and inedible, we had read that you are told a story about the place from your waiter so when we hadn't been told anything my sister asked the waiter if he could tell us about the place, in return he picked up the menu and pointed her to a paragraph at the back of it!
They also knew it was my dad's birthday and I wasn't expecting anything amazing but even a simple happy birthday would have been nice. Please don't go here, it really is a tourist trap. By all means go down for a wander around the building which is nice, but please don't waste your money on food when there are so many other lovely places to eat for half the price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 950hello123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“You feel a queen!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

I came here with my boyfriend, and we didn't know what was it but once you go downstairs you realize how charming and beautiful this place is. You really feel as the queen of a castle, and your imagination starts to fly! The food is delicious with big portions and the beer is on top! Nice service, I really recomend it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rozengrals also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Rozengrals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing