We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food, good price, medium service”
Review of Bergs

Bergs
Ranked #146 of 1,006 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: While retaining the character and soul of this long standing institution of the Riga culinary scene, the new Executive Chef, Jānis Zvirbulis, proudly presents a reimagined Restaurant Bergs.... Bold culinary creations inspired by Europe's classic dining traditions will delight guests in a tastefully redone setting. This season, the menu is accented with seasonal mushrooms and Jānis especially recommends the wild Latvian venison Wellington. Also enjoy wild seasonal fish and sea food- scallops, snow crab, lobsters, sea urchins- farm grown meat, locally harvested vegetables and Etienne Boissy cheese... Dinner accompanied by live piano music on Fridays and Saturdays will set you in a harmonious state of mind.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome food, good price, medium service”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We visited the restaurant 28/12 and there was only a few tables in addition to our. The food was a big surprise, clearly there is an inventive and highly skilled cook in the kitchen, although there is still some to learn in relation to gelatine.

The starters consisted of scallops and a fried st. Marcellin cheese, excellently prepared and was followed by monkfish and deer, equally cooked perfect. The panacotta and hazelnut mousse cake that followed still needed some work, the panacotta had way to much gelatine in it and tasted like the based it too much on milk and reduced cream content. The hazelnut mousse cake was lovely, but the jelly on top also had to much gelatine in it and was not very nice.

We had a glass of champagne, 2 glasses of wine and soft drinks in addition to 2 three course meals and the total was 103 lats, which given the overall quality of the food is a good price in my opinion.

Helpful?
Thank Nordic_travs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    58
    17
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Quite nice”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

It was a very quiet evening there and the servers I found to be pleasant and attentive. The food was quite good. A little more expensive than I think it should have been but c'est la vie. Was pleased that they also had Californian wines on the menu!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matthewindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The cook is definitively gifted but waiters are not friendly”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Nouvelle cuisine with a local inspiration. Fresh and fine products. A lot of sophistication in the preparation. A very good surprise as we did not expect so much sophistication in a hotel restaurant out-side the city center.

We ate three times there and the food was perfect every single time.

They could easily improve the atmosphere by asking a couple of waiters to switch to security jobs in night clubs.

But in a nutshell, the chef is gifted.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mobida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The restaurant seems not to like children”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Today, we asked for getting a table for lunch with our two children. They asked if we
had ordered in advance what we did not have done. Then the guy told us that the restaurant is
fully booked. We could clearly see that the restaurant was almost empty and as we were
already quite late we assume that there is a high probablility that they did not want to let us in because of the kids. The restaurant should be excluded from the DINE RIGA map
which served us overall well during our stay in Riga. We decided to go to the restaurant "Elements" a few meters away that gave us a table although and had an excellent lunch there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kai_Leiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Manager at Bergs, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Kai_Leiser,

Thank you for the feedback given regarding the situation that you’ve experienced last week in our restaurant. Hereby we would like to reconfirm that due to the Riga Autumn Restaurant Week (as you probably were aware of it) our restaurant experienced a very high demand for lunch and dinner bookings and therefore we had to decline several booking requests including walk-in guests.
Although guests with children are not our average clients we have welcomed them quite often during all ten years since our opening day in 2003.
We are sorry that you got an unwelcomed feeling and we definitely look forward to welcome you in our restaurant next time you'll visit our city!

Best regards,

Janis Klavins
Marketing Department of Hotel Bergs & Restaurant Bergs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Inventive Food - Incredible Sorbets”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Excellent meal all around, the food was perfectly prepared in inventive, contemporary ways. The between courses pallet cleansing sorbets (and the ones for dessert) were incredible. The frozen mint parfait as part of one course was also amazing.

I got the new guy waiter so, he wasn't quite as good as the other wait staff I interacted with though it's hard to fault them much for that.

I felt I got what I paid for, I would go back to try other dishes on the menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobTravelSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bergs also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Bergs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing