We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a good location.”
Review of Hotel Avalon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Avalon
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a good location.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights. We had an upgraded room with 2 single beds and a bath/shower room. There is aircon and a tv with basic channels. The hotel is located opposite the bus station and market place but there is no/little noise at night thanks to triple glazing. The train station is not far up the road, so the hotel is easy to get to.

I had a nice view of the old Zeppelin hangars which are now used for the market.

The hotel is very nice and clean and the staff were very polite and attentive. The breakfast was very good and I had lots to choose from. The bar area was also good and the whole place had a relaxed atmosphere. I am happy that I stayed at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bl4desman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    372
    100
    20
    9
See reviews for
120
341
97
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Reception staff was friendly ,food was great and good choice of it ,bar staff was friendly too,but room is really small,we expected bigger area ,bathroom is tiny ...nevertheless ..for a quick stay is good choice because of it 's location -it is perfect ,a few steps from all the centre spots.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeraPachkoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our drive back through via Baltica. The hotel is quite nice, though whether the correct ranking should be three or four stars, couldn't tell - this was not expensive but not very cheap either. The rooms were nice and clean, air conditioning working, quite OK breakfast. On the plus side the hotel is really next to the old town (and if that's one of the attractions you want to see in Riga, I would highly recommend this or any other hotel which is quite next to it). Another plus is that they have a garage parking so your car is safe (though there are not too many places, you need to book in advance, and driving there might be a challenge with a bigger car).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford,
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our first visit to Riga and booked the Hotel Avalon on Booking.com for five nights, what a surprise when we arrived, the hotel is perfectly located the staff could not be kinder to us and the hotel was very clean, the breakfast is was perfect and dinner in the evening was great too.
The hotel arranged transport from the airport and we paid in reception.
Will stay again.

Room Tip: if you like acup of tea in your room bring your own tea bags as you will have to pay for the tea bag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bullawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here in the begining of June.
We took the bus from the airport which stopped just in front of the hotel.
Cheap and good transport.
The room was nice with a fast WIFI.
The buffet breakfast was good.
We did not have dinner at the hotel so we can not comment on the
restaurant.
The location was great next to Old Town, old market and the railway
station.
Good value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arild54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel Avalon at first look appeared as a typical business hotel to me: nice, conveniently located next to the Old town and the railway station, but a little bit lacking the character, especially as opposed to the historical feel and ‘cuteness’ of the small Old town hotels nearby.

However as we chose to stay there I discovered it’s :
-very conveniently located easy to get anywhere whether it was a local train to Jurmala or Old town, or historical market or pubs and bars.
- easy-feel, yet with thoughtful hospitality and great service.
-nice small terrace overlooking Old town roofs on the 6 th floor ( perfect place for a quiet evening drink and chat)
- upon arrival we were surprisingly offered a 3 course dinner for every day of the stay, for free. I never saw this generousness anywhere apart from all-inclusive types of hotel and was expecting some simple buffet-style food choice. However, the food turned out to be amazing, as well as service and we gladly had the dinner at the hotel when we could. Another point to service: even if we came 15 min to the end of the dinner, we were served it, whilst in other hotels ( for instance, Radisson) you couldn’t be that late. I noticed the cuisine in Riga is overall a bit hearty and heavy, however Avalon’s dinner was sophisticated and nowhere near peasant type of food.

Along with common commodities such as big comfortable rooms and bathrooms, nicely designed lobby, SPA , and very good breakfast, I would recommend Avalon as a perfect business hotel option in Riga, however would return for leisure (and dinner! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnjaBukina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
503 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 984 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have been in this hotel many times, and obviously I am at my ease here. The location is excellent, close to the old town and the main bus station. The service is good (they make up the rooms late in the morning), the breakfast is good too, and reception's girls are nice. The soundproofing is very good. The price is usually very good (but sometimes, when the hotel is nearly full up, it's foolish: 10 times the usual one; of course, I choose another hotel).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maurizio43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#3 of 109 in Riga
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avalon

Property: Hotel Avalon
Address: 13. janvara iela 19, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#10 Business Hotel in Riga
#10 Family Hotel in Riga
#16 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Avalon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical part of the Riga – Old Town – the Avalon hotel offers the unique opportunity to enjoy the Middle Ages charm and elegance of the city combined with modernism and comfort. The new four-star Avalon represents the combination of modernity and antiqueness with the full reflect of the New life in the Old Town. The panorama elevator will let you feel this special atmosphere in the Atrium of the hotel. With a view of commercial and shopping center, Daugava River, the old town churches and towers the Avalon hotel is ideal place for tourists and business persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing