We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Riga
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing city tour experience with talented Linda

I am originally from Riga but from time to time I like to learn some new facts and look at it... read more

Reviewed October 20, 2019
AlinaMalina0790
Great tour!!

Today we had a tour with Linda. We learned a lot about the country, the history and the culture. We... read more

Reviewed October 20, 2019
705sylviad
via mobile
Read all 172 reviews
  
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
153
13
4
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
153
13
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art nouveau district gave an excellent quick coffee great guide old town enthusiastic guide funny stories answered all our questions historical facts great sense of humor free walking his knowledge nice walk linda information 5hrs wry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 172 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2019

We really enjoyed this. We had debated whether to go for a pay up front tour or “free” tour where the understanding was that you’d pay tips. The latter can work out more expensive. But... geez, we would heartily recommend this. We had Rita as our tour guide and she was wonderful. Riga is a superb place and Rita’s knowledge of it is impressive. She was able to answer all our of questions, many of which were about the architecture and Riga’s political, social and economic history.

It’s nice to be able to put cash directly into the pockets of highly knowledgeable local people making a living on the basis of their rich situated knowledge and passion for Riga (rather than into tour companies bank accounts). From here on, wherever we go, this is what we will do. Huge thanks to Rita for a lovely tour!

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Nicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2019

Our guide was Linda. She knows a great deal about Riga and Latvian culture. Our walk was supposed to be 2.5 hours but it lasted for 3 because we had so many questions and she had such thorough answers. Linda herself lost track of time because she is so interested in her subject. She is at the same time courteous and attentive.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank bobwindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019 via mobile

Big thumbs up for Edvards! He was able to keep conversation flowing without being too invasive. His knowledge was impressive even when people asked very particular questions.
Extremely attentive to everyone needs and walking speed.
Great experience and, in my opinion, the best way to visit and learn about the city history!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Roberta Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019 via mobile

We went on the alternative route with our tour guide Raymonda and it was a super interesting experience. We’ve visited interesting locations, learned a lot about the city, the country and the Latvian culture. I’m definitely recommending this tour to others!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank ger_brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019

Our guide Linda gave an excellent introduction to the recent history of Riga and Latvian culture. She is a knowledgeable and skilled story teller. The history of Latvia was told in a nuanced way. I learned a lot during the 2,5 hour tour in the Art Nouveau area, strolling down toward the old town. I can recommend this tour to those who want to learn about the history of Latvia outside the old town. Donation is voluntary.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Voyagian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews