We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredib;e stay in Riga in Winter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanza Hotel
Ranked #35 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Incredib;e stay in Riga in Winter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

We stayed for two nights at this hotel and can't praise it highly enough. The staff are very professional yet also warm and welcoming. Breakfast and food in the Hanza Pub downstairs is highly recommended. The hotel is situated a short walk from the market, town centre and magnificent Old Town of Riga. Stalin's birthday cake is a short walk around the corner.
Riga in the snow is incredibly beautiful. Be sure to go to the top of the spire in St Peter's Church for an unforgettaable view. Try the Opera, even if this is not normally your thing: it's quite an experience and tickets are very reasonable.
We coudn't have asked for a better place to stay and will certainly return to the Hanza and Riga.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lazydays3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    272
    75
    16
    6
See reviews for
57
241
80
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larissa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

Stayed for a week (17-23 January) after Trip's Advisor recommendation... The Hotel was very good, not exactly central (but this is clearly stated), about 10 mins walk from the Old Riga and the Train/Bus station. At night it's a little dark to get trhough the old market but wasn't a real problem, I never encountered any situation for 6 nights (returned on foot, from 22.00 up to 01.30). WiFi was always working (password given at the reception) at a decent speed. Only flaw at my opinion: The breakfast - not as expected from such a hotel (for example no Honey, no Nutella, nothing sweet in general). Also, it was crowded after 09.00.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ASOT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cazcoffee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2010

stayed for a weekend from friday to monday in January. easy to find from getting the 22 bus from the airport. The reception staff were really helpful and spoke excellent english. They gave us a map with all the sites marked on it and marked down the clubs we wanted to visit and where was best to find a red taxi to come back to the hotel. Breakfast was not to my taste but i'm fussy but i would say it was an good selection that differed everyday. had a meal in the evening there which was presented beautifully, tasted great and was at a very good price for in a hotel. Our room was lovely and warm considering the -18 chill outside and the bathrooom was very nice with a great shower. the market is a 5-10 min walk away and you have to go through a long and dark underpass to get into the main town, this is ok in the day but i wouldn't do it at night but the taxi only cost 4lats to get from the hotel into the busy parts of the centre. altho the hotel wasn't right in the centre, it was only a 10 min walk away and for the price we paid and the service we got i would be happy to go again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

No WI-FI and the breakfast not as good as a German hotel with the same number of stars. Good room however.

Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Villius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanzaGM, General Manager at Hanza Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2010
Dear Hanza Hotel guest,

Thank you, first of all for choosing Hanza Hotel for your stay in Riga!

As we value every our guest and take seriously every complaint or unsatisfaction with our service, we were very upset to read your review of Hanza Hotel services and that they did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately, now it is too late to ask, whether you informed the reception about the problems with wi-fi and whether they provided you an alternative cable, and it’s a pity I was not informed about the problem personally.

Anyway, we would like to thank you for pointing to our drawbacks which will help to improve our service. In the future feel free to contact me directly!

Kind regards,

Aigars Gerhards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2009

We recently stayed at the Hanza hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. Initially we got off at the wrong stop for bus 22 (should have been Stockmann centre) but found the hotel eventually. Yes, it is in a bit of a run down area, but, its only a 10 minute walk into the centre and the old town, and the hotel more than makes up for this.

Our room (608) was huge, with a double and single bed, overlooking the old church, and with a bathroom with a bath (nice for a soak after walking round). The reception staff were very helpful, and we ate each evening in the Hanza Pub, as the food was reasonably priced, and extremely well presented.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Riga.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
3 Thank ElspethYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

Service was excellent and staff speak good English and were very helpful. Our room was on the 5th floor and although it was a non-smoking room we could get the occasional smell of cigarette smoke from the vent in the bathroom! Other than that the room was clean and comfortable and great value for money! The Hanza Pub has a fairly chilled out music vibe going on and is a cool place to hang out although it can get a wee bit chaotic at breakfast time duing the weekends as space is a bit limited! Breakfast was fine and has all the usual things you would expect from a european perspective. The bar menu food is fantastic and very well presented and again very good value. Location is very quiet and only 10mins walk from the station and the 22 airport bus!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clyde25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

I strongly recommend this hotel to everyone. Rooms are clean and spacious and service is outstanding! We travelled with two little children age 2 and 4 and stayed in business room where we had two large beds. One minus in our room was that the bathroom smelled a little funny. Its the plumming I guess. Restaurant in the hotel is excellent and cheap! They good winelist and couple of delicious foods in the list. (beef carpaccio etc.) Breakfast was nice and healty.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junior_Coconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Janne
Hotel Janne
#34 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
2.2 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#57 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#45 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dodo Hotel
Dodo Hotel
#50 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#15 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanza Hotel

Property: Hanza Hotel
Address: Elijas iela 7, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the city center, this is one of the newest hotels in Riga, a short walking distance from the Old Town, Central Railway Station and International Bus Station. The hotel is also close to the main bridges of the Daugava River. The history, environment and friendly design will help you to relax after a day of business or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing