We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Hanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanza Hotel
Ranked #38 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Nice location - not the very center, but close to the main attractions, and both the bus and the railway stations are very close too. The square in from of the hotel is quiet, so there shouldn't be any car noises during night.
The staff is very hospitable and helpful, the room is clean (daily cleaning) and the breakfast is varied (buffet breakfast). The hotel's restaurant is nice too.
All in all I really enjoyed my stay there and will definitly consider this hotel during my future visits to Riga.

P.S.
By the way, the staff is at least three-lingual (Latvian, English, Russian, maybe German too).

Room Tip: There's a wooden church in the square in front of the hotel, you can have a view of it from the...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
There are newer reviews for Hanza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 598 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

Walk-able distance from the bus station, allthough finding this hotel may be tough if you dont have your GPS coz the board on the side which faces the main road camouflages with the paint.

Had a pleasant experience staying at the Hanza over a weekend. Courteous and helpful staff,(English speaking too). We had an economy reservation but where being upgraded to the next best thing (standard or something like that) since there was an availability and that's excellent customer service. The hotel n the room was clean and pleasant. The only annoying thing was the creaking of the floor board every time the occupant above us walked and infact from our room too which am sure wouldve sent the occupant of the room below ours, nuts. Carpeted obviously but doesnt shush the creaking while walking. Unfortunately looks like we had a late sleeper above us and a family of many kids next to us so we had a disturbed sleep...
The breakfast couldve been better with more options but not really complaining.
Overall, a 3 on 5.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilwitchfdeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed four nights in March. Good staff. Comfortable room (solo in a double). Above average breakfast. Helpful police in Riga - patrol car led me to the hotel which can be awkward to find the first time and not having my GPS.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAFpolizei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We were a quiet and polite stag party from England, we weren't expecting much but this hotel is fantastic. Very modern and clean everything you would need for a few days away. If you are a stag party looking for something a bit more upmarket than a hostel book here. Lovely staff always willing to help out. Simone in the bar was lovely and made us feel very welcome, nice pint also :-) could not fault anything. Well worth the money and only 10min walk from the old town. If I'm ever in Riga again I would definately book the Hanza hotel. Thank you
P.S take a trip to Sigulda, the bobsleigh track is awesome

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel is situated about a mile from Riga old town in a fairly run down area of the city .Nevertheless the hotel is quite modern and furniished to a good standard .Amazing value for the money. My only gripe was that there was no kettle in the rooms .
Breakfast consisted of a good choice with anything from porridge to salad. Although the bacon and sausages were not to Uk standards ,the bacon being streaky and underdone for my taste .The sausages were of the mini `hotdog ` variety quite acceptable to me . One morning I even had pickled herrings with the local black bread which I enjoyed. There was choices of cheeses , hams ,various breads and drinks including strawberry yoghurt which was very tasty..
I would definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

A well located hotel just a 10 minute walk from the city centre, yet in a very quiet area.
The standard rooms are basic but very comfortable and pleasant on the eye.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good base for a city break.

Nice breakfast too!

If you book early through the hotels website or expedia you can get exceptional rates. We paid 150euro for a family of 3 for 3 nights.

Room Tip: The sixth floor (top) has better views.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpw1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We spent in Hanza Hotel 3 nights. It's very clean and quiet. The staff is very nice and helpful. We liked breakfasts very much. The hotel is located just a few minutes walk from the old town, railway station and central market. There was only one thing we didn't like: from our room on 5th floor we could easily observe other guests in different rooms because the hotel has U shape. Luckily we stayed on 5th floor so not so many people could see us but still, it wasn't very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on higher floors. Rooms on first or second floor may be dark.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ethlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.7 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#25 of 110 in Riga
530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
1.6 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#19 of 110 in Riga
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#47 of 110 in Riga
188 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Janne
Hotel Janne
#28 of 110 in Riga
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanza Hotel

Address: Elijas iela 7, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: $38 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the city center,a short walking distance from the Old Town, Central Railway Station and International Bus Station. The hotel is also close to the main bridges of the Daugava River. The history, environment and friendly design will help you to relax after a day of business or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing