We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanza Fraudulently Charged Credit Card”
Review of Hanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanza Hotel
Ranked #38 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Hanza Hotel fraudulently charged a family member's credit card for a stay when the reservation was changed weeks in advance. They refused to work with the customer to resolve the issue. The customer service was horrible.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DanCahill01970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 608 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

Hanza Hotel fraudulently charged my debit card over $700 on November 24th, 2013, and they have refused to credit my card. The assume that because they are a big hotel chain and I am just a single mom, I will drop this and they will get to keep my money.

They tried to claim that I authorized this use. I did not. I was told by booking.com that I could 'hold' a reservation with my card, while I worked out whether I would need those dates. I reserved the room on the evening of Nov 23rd and cancelled the next afternoon. Not only did they use my card without authorization, they did it after I cancelled the reservation a mere 18 hours after holding the room.

i have written several emails, and they still refuse to do the right thing. This is BAD business practice. I am a frequent traveller and I have never been so poorly treated by a hotel chain.

DO NOT make the mistake of booking with this hotel whose ethics are obviously questionable at best. If they choose to do the right thing and refund my card, I will remove this negative review.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
8  Thank Keri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

great value hotel , clean rooms , great breakfast selection , arrived early and was able to use luggage room for bags.
good central location , few minutes walk to market , central station and stockmann centre and about ten minutes to old town with plenty to see on the way
would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank damajowi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Travelmeisje
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

really nice hotel. great breakfast nice staff. nice and clean rooms with bathroom heating floor. good localisation near central stationa. i have forgotten one thing from room after check out and giveed me.back the same day.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank wojtynka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed here for two nights on my first visit to Riga.

The hotel is an older building that has a completely remodeled and renewed interior.

Check-in was quick and friendly.

My room was very nice sized and clean. The bathroom was quite large and had a great shower. The room had two big windows with a southern exposure. Great sun.

The complimentary breakfast in the morning was fantastic. Great variety with a few changes from one day to the next.

I used public transportation from the airport to the hotel and only had to walk about five minutes once I got off the bus.

This hotel is only two blocks away from the central market. I was fascinated by the variety of goods sold. Portions of the central market is housed in old dirigible hangars dating from around WWI.

I really enjoyed my visit to Riga and would like to return again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNSQ575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed October 31, 2013

nice hotel but too far out of city .and when ask taxi in town centre they say not go to there .so had to walk in rain to hotel . but is nice hotel and clean .food good .staff nice .friendly . so would stay again .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.7 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#26 of 112 in Riga
546 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#19 of 112 in Riga
612 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
2.5 mi away
Days Hotel Riga VEF
Days Hotel Riga VEF
#63 of 112 in Riga
236 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#56 of 112 in Riga
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanza Hotel

Address: Elijas iela 7, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: $33 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the city center,a short walking distance from the Old Town, Central Railway Station and International Bus Station. The hotel is also close to the main bridges of the Daugava River. The history, environment and friendly design will help you to relax after a day of business or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing