We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanza Hotel
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
198 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Good hotel with friendly staff, clean rooms, good breakfast with good selection of foods in the basement. Location is reasonably near nice old city center and the market halls. Old Zepelin halls which are worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenromp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    274
    75
    16
    6
See reviews for
57
242
81
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

By central market, lovely building, up graded to business room, biggest bath ever!! Comfortable bed, sitting area. Breakfast plentiful, good choice food and lasts til noon at weekend!! Free Internet in rooms, great value for money

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volcanoyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesborough, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

An excellent hotel located near enough to the center to allow you to walk in but off the beaten track so you don't have to listen to the passing traffic and drunks.

Clean, modern rooms and the beds are very, very comfy.

Friendly, helpful staff who speak English so much better than I could ever speak Latvian.

From start to finish this is an excellent hotel. Breakfast has everything a hungry traveler would want to fill up before exploring this amazing city. The Breakfast room doubles as the hotels restaurant in the evening where the food is excellent. I would strongly recommend the fish and chips. Beer is good and not too expensive compared to some of the places in Riga.

My one and only criticism would be that we booked via Experian as a smoking room. Unfortunately, like the UK, there's no smoking indoors so we had to go outside. This did give us the opportunity to meet the colourful locals.

Room Tip: Request a room that look out on to the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vertman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Clean room and bathroom, new furnishing and very modern bathroom. The bathroom had plenty of space. Shower was great with roomy shower-stall.

Breakfast was good: pancakes, porridge, cereals, fruit, bread, eggs, sausage, etc. There were also many waiters so nothing was finish and tables were clean.

Service by reception was good. We needed to print out one document and did it for us free of charge. Only negative thing was that we had wall-to-wall carpet in out room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raikuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Western Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Excellent breakfast, good neighbourhood. Walking distance to old town and shopping center. Good value for money. Gym would be good addition for longer stays. Public transport isnt right around the corner but near enough.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We went to Riga for my hen do on the 15th March 3 nights.

on arrival the staff were very friendly and we were pleasently suprised by the hotel. Some of our rooms were a lot smaller than the others. But our room was huge with a nice view of the chapel.

The rooms were very clean and had all the ameneties you would want.

The wifi was a bit intermitent but this wasnt a problem !

The bar and resturaunt was very nice to the breakfast was good and the drinks were resonably priced.

The hotel was a walk out of the city centre but about 5-10 minutes to walk into the old town.

Overall would strongly reccomend this hotel especialy for the price. We had no trouble at all in Riga and found everyone to be friendly and we really enjoyed our stay !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Hi I had a great few days in Riga simply wandering around on my own and soaking up the city and the Hanza Hotel was a great place to come back to. The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful and the room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The place looks like it has just been completely refurbished and the price was very good for the quality of the room and service. The one downside is that the pub/restaurant attached could do with more than a single member of staff as things can take a while. This however is a niggle compared to a great experience. I am planning on returning to Riga with friends later this year and will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogergray1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Janne
Hotel Janne
#33 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#43 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#57 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#15 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dodo Hotel
Dodo Hotel
#49 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanza Hotel

Property: Hanza Hotel
Address: Elijas iela 7, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the city center,a short walking distance from the Old Town, Central Railway Station and International Bus Station. The hotel is also close to the main bridges of the Daugava River. The history, environment and friendly design will help you to relax after a day of business or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing