We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, I little bit outside of the main path but worths the money”
Review of Hanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanza Hotel
Ranked #37 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, I little bit outside of the main path but worths the money”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in the last summer (2012). The hotel is kind a boutique one in a very beautiful building a mile from downtown. Rooms are large and spacious, breakfast amazing with tons of selections and the neighborhood is very quiet. To get to Riga's main attraction you need to walk for 20 minutes, best path is through the city market which is amazing because in the summer you will be able to buy delicious fruits like cherries for outrageous prices (something like 2 USD/lb). I really fantastic choice if you don't mind to walk a little bit...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e1000lewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    279
    81
    17
    6
See reviews for
61
248
85
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Padova
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I was there with my wife for one night in August 2012.
Though very close to Riga old town, you're supposed to walk through a relatively crumbling area and pass through the market area to go there. In the evening it can be a little disturbing.
That's the main downside.

For the rest the hotel is in my opnion very good. The quality/price ratio is very high and if you find an offer on this you shoud not let it go. When I booked this hotel I bought a special offer for a ridicuolus price and, before arriving there, I was really skeptic about my choice due to the fact that I thought the price was too low to offer a decent quality... Well, I had to change my mind. The room was tidy and clean, large enough. Bathroom OK. Breakfast was very good (OK, there ws no fresh fruit, but I can accept it considering the price I paid...). Staff kind and helpful.

What else should I desire from an hotel for one or two nights?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FTLPadova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The hotel is only a ten minute walk or so from the city centre and Old Town, near the Central Market and Academy of Science and next to the Lutheran Jesus Church (which we had a view of from our room). Although lots of the guidebooks had negative things to say about the area we didn't see or experience anything and felt safe walking back to the hotel at night.

We had one of the business rooms which was huge, with a large bathroom, sofa/sitting area and double bed. There were a few minor problems with the room (eg, one light didn't work) but overall it was a fantastic room, especially for the price! Very spacious and comfortable.

There was a wide selection of food at breakfast, we didn't have any problems getting a seat but the pub is quite small so I can see why it may be an issue in the Summer. Staff were polite and able to answer any questions we had.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed at the Hanza Hotel, Riga from 5th to 9th December. The hotel is great value for money and is handily situated some 10 minutes walk from the town centre. You can catch the number 22 bus from the airport for only 0.5 lats (as opposed to 15 lats by taxi). Get off at the Stockmann shopping centre and it's about 10 minutes walk from here Don't forget to vaidate your ticket as you get on the bus or like me you face a 3 lats penalty.

The Hanza is cosy and comfortable with friendly and helpful staff. I arrived 1.5 hours before the normal check in time but my room was immediately made available. Rooms have WiFi to help you keep in touch.

Breakfast offers the usual choices of hot and cold food. The restaurant is small but the food on offer is good value and of good quality. The set 4 course meal at 10 lats (£12) is particularly recommended.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WawneTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Loved our stay at Hanza hotel. It was within walking distance of the Old City. Very good rooms with luxurious bathrooms and good size beds. We booked 3 double rooms and one single room, but could easily have fitted all seven of us in one of the double rooms. Nice neighbourhood. Staff helpful and positive. We ended up staying in the Hanza pub one night and had a great time with food and drinks.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisesette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This really is a fantastic hotel, and excellent value for money. This is not a four or five star hotel - but it is much, much better than most other three star hotels. It is surprisingly bright and modern, and the staff seem keen to help. Rooms are very clean but basic (no mini fridge etc). As is standard with many similar hotels the double bed is two singles with a double mattress top, but this is hardly noticeable at all. The staff are very efficient and friendly, provided us with helpful advice and accommodated special requests without fuss. The new spa facility opened in October 2012 and is really excellent - very stylish and clean. The price is not included but is very reasonable. Breakfast buffet has plenty of variety, good quality and is available until midday. The room for breakfast could be crowded if the hotel is full, but was fine in November. The location is fine - a run-down neighbourhood with interesting buildings, but felt very safe even at night, and is only a few minutes walk to the station area (well lit all the way).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aidan2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

i am a wheelchair user and had a lovely room facing the wooden chapel on the little square. according to my colleagues, this is a special room, because their rooms were small, facing an inner court.

pros:
- my room was spacious enough and nicely furnished with a cosy athmosphere.
- good hotel restaurant
- clean
- nice and helpful staff

cons:
- the bed was way too small for two persons.
- folding shower stool is extremely small and positioned in front of wall handles and no armrests, which makes it almost impossible to sit and use the shower. it is impossible to use an extra stool, because the floor is very slippery. this situation is extremely uncomfortable.
- the usual tiny litter bin with foot pedal
- no hangers for the towels, but a shelve above the toilet unreachably high.
- no shelves on the wall for your sanitary tools.
- breakfast room unreachable for wheelchair users, so enjoy an intimate breakfast with yourself in your room
- situated in the old russian quarter, which is very run down. very limited infrastructure nearby.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the chapel in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wheelchair_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.6 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
0.7 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#26 of 109 in Riga
516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#46 of 109 in Riga
185 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#59 of 109 in Riga
180 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Rixwell Domus Hotel
#44 of 109 in Riga
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanza Hotel

Property: Hanza Hotel
Address: Elijas iela 7, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the city center,a short walking distance from the Old Town, Central Railway Station and International Bus Station. The hotel is also close to the main bridges of the Daugava River. The history, environment and friendly design will help you to relax after a day of business or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing