We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location, outdated rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garden Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Garden Palace
Ranked #55 of 108 Hotels in Riga
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, outdated rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I booked this hotel largely due to the positive reviews this hotel received on TA. The hotel has an excellent location and the staff are friendly,however, the decoration is terribly outdated and the wall to wall carpeting has seen better days.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Badabinghotspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    182
    96
    35
    22
See reviews for
68
177
61
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
502 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 970 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My room (reserved through Booking.com) was very small, and so the bathroom (washbasin microscopic, wc not easily reachable, shower box only for thin people), and had a shared balcony (so not privacy at all). Wifi for money (all bars in Riga have free wifi!). No sweets at breakfast (luckily I usually eat cheese, and there was a fairly good choice). Sulky, not friendly waitresses (not all of them, thank heaven). OK the reception, and the location of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maurizio43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

While this hotel is in a great location, just behind the Old Town Hall Square, and some charming aspects, it has many rooms that are simply not close to 4 star level - we stayed with a group in early June and while some rooms are very large, others were tiny and extremely poorly designed, created out of a large closest. Our room had twin beds in line - foot to foot with about 1 metre of walking space down a corridor to a tiny bathroom. It faced a small courtyard which is great unless other residents decide to have a late night party...
The first room that we had had a hole punched in the wall.
For some unknown reason the hotel room amenities include a box of condoms???
Most rooms were supplied with 5 tissues daily and several rooms were without glasses after 4 days and repeated requests to the front desk.
Breakfast was adequate but certainly not the best that we experienced in the Baltic region. The front desk tried to help with our rooms but was not well trained. The hotel charges for internet and for their safety boxes - not what I would expect from a First Class hotel in this region.
I would not rate this as a 4 star hotel and certainly would not recommend it to friends

Room Tip: Avoid taking rooms than end with the numbers 11 or 10. The rooms facing the street are not air cond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We chose this hotel based on other reviews and for it's location and we weren't disappointed.
Situated just on the edge of the old town, everything is within easy walking distance, or staggering distance if you have been to sample the local hostelries.
The hotel itself is everything you would expect from a 4* hotel in a European city.
The rooms (we had a junior suite with a shared balcony) are comfortable and clean, the staff very efficient and friendly, breakfast great, although can get a bit busy when the hotel is full. (but you are warned about this)
Wi Fi is available, and although not free, the charges are very reasonable (about £4 for a week)
The restaurant, bar and tea room all offer good value.
I we have any critisms of this hotel, it would be that the beds are quite soft and the pillows are tiny, but for a short stay, they were ok.
Overall, an ideal base for exploring all of what Riga has to offer.

Room Tip: The junior suites and full suites have a balcony, in our opinion, always worth the little extra you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivanparkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

very centrally located and easy to find-one minute away from the airport bus stop..stayed here in december and was an unbeiievably low price-maybe to compensate for the seasonal chill!..room decent,very comfertable hotel decorated in an antique style that seems to struggle for an identity!..good communal areas and a very good breakfast indeed..no idea of the room charges at other times of the year,but was great value for us...pretty safe bet..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
580 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Touristic sights are in a comfortable walking distance, as well as diners and clubs. The lobby, common rooms and the corridors are decorated nicely. The room was pretty small though (the furniture taking up much space) and lacked a nightstand. Also, the door was not closing properly, as I had to pull it firmly to be locked (which I did, contrary to the cleaning ladies...) - just be aware of that. The breakfast was appropriate but average. Overall nice experience.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms face a fountain - some people might be disturbed by its sound in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BPwayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Awesome location, the staff is very frienfpdly (Karina, the girl at the reception is so nice). You can easily reach any placein Riga and the reception can call taxis to take you to Jurmala and an ethnological site close to the city. It is very close to St. Peter's Church, the House of the Blackheads, the town hall and Lido, a chain of restaurants very typical and cheap.
Breakfast is huge and there is a wide range of food, from fish to meat and then the normal "continental breakfast" as well, of course. I recommend this hotel to anyone planning to go to Riga.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chiaramapelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#6 of 108 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#25 of 108 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden Palace

Property: Hotel Garden Palace
Address: Grecinieku iela 28, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garden Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most elegant and unique 4star hotel Garden Palace was opened in the beginning of 2007. 19th century building is superbly located in the heart of Riga, part of the city with ample opportunities for entertainment, business and acquitance with the Latvian culture. The fabulous panoramic view of the Old Riga, Town Hall Square, embankment and great river Daugava is one of the advantages of the hotel Garden Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Garden Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Palace Riga
Garden Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing