We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location BUT...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Garden Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Garden Palace
Ranked #55 of 108 Hotels in Riga
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location BUT...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

While this hotel is in a great location, just behind the Old Town Hall Square, and some charming aspects, it has many rooms that are simply not close to 4 star level - we stayed with a group in early June and while some rooms are very large, others were tiny and extremely poorly designed, created out of a large closest. Our room had twin beds in line - foot to foot with about 1 metre of walking space down a corridor to a tiny bathroom. It faced a small courtyard which is great unless other residents decide to have a late night party...
The first room that we had had a hole punched in the wall.
For some unknown reason the hotel room amenities include a box of condoms???
Most rooms were supplied with 5 tissues daily and several rooms were without glasses after 4 days and repeated requests to the front desk.
Breakfast was adequate but certainly not the best that we experienced in the Baltic region. The front desk tried to help with our rooms but was not well trained. The hotel charges for internet and for their safety boxes - not what I would expect from a First Class hotel in this region.
I would not rate this as a 4 star hotel and certainly would not recommend it to friends

Room Tip: Avoid taking rooms than end with the numbers 11 or 10. The rooms facing the street are not air cond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    193
    110
    38
    23
See reviews for
73
191
63
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We chose this hotel based on other reviews and for it's location and we weren't disappointed.
Situated just on the edge of the old town, everything is within easy walking distance, or staggering distance if you have been to sample the local hostelries.
The hotel itself is everything you would expect from a 4* hotel in a European city.
The rooms (we had a junior suite with a shared balcony) are comfortable and clean, the staff very efficient and friendly, breakfast great, although can get a bit busy when the hotel is full. (but you are warned about this)
Wi Fi is available, and although not free, the charges are very reasonable (about £4 for a week)
The restaurant, bar and tea room all offer good value.
I we have any critisms of this hotel, it would be that the beds are quite soft and the pillows are tiny, but for a short stay, they were ok.
Overall, an ideal base for exploring all of what Riga has to offer.

Room Tip: The junior suites and full suites have a balcony, in our opinion, always worth the little extra you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivanparkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

very centrally located and easy to find-one minute away from the airport bus stop..stayed here in december and was an unbeiievably low price-maybe to compensate for the seasonal chill!..room decent,very comfertable hotel decorated in an antique style that seems to struggle for an identity!..good communal areas and a very good breakfast indeed..no idea of the room charges at other times of the year,but was great value for us...pretty safe bet..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
581 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Touristic sights are in a comfortable walking distance, as well as diners and clubs. The lobby, common rooms and the corridors are decorated nicely. The room was pretty small though (the furniture taking up much space) and lacked a nightstand. Also, the door was not closing properly, as I had to pull it firmly to be locked (which I did, contrary to the cleaning ladies...) - just be aware of that. The breakfast was appropriate but average. Overall nice experience.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms face a fountain - some people might be disturbed by its sound in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BPwayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Awesome location, the staff is very frienfpdly (Karina, the girl at the reception is so nice). You can easily reach any placein Riga and the reception can call taxis to take you to Jurmala and an ethnological site close to the city. It is very close to St. Peter's Church, the House of the Blackheads, the town hall and Lido, a chain of restaurants very typical and cheap.
Breakfast is huge and there is a wide range of food, from fish to meat and then the normal "continental breakfast" as well, of course. I recommend this hotel to anyone planning to go to Riga.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chiaramapelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We wanted to spend Christmas 2012 in a hotel that would be romantic, luxurious, atmospheric but wallet-friendly, so decided to try Hotel Garden Palace. This was our second time in Riga. The hotel was very dashing (public areas) and it's staff friendly. Our room (junior suite) was very pretty and antique in a good way, but after the first night we noticed it was very cold and hard to warm up. The heating didn't work properly. Also the bathroom (ceiling) lamp was broken, but it didn't trouble us.
We spent three nights in this room, then we had to change it because something leaked from the ceiling, straight above our bed.
We got a new room few floors lower. It was exactly same looking, but even colder and smelled like cigarettes. We don't smoke ourselves.
I think the hotel was overall an okay experience. These little details didn't bother us. The only thing really bothered was that one of the reasons we chose this was the complimented breakfast and it was a big disappointment.
The location is by the way truly good. It's easy to get here from the airport and you can walk almost everywhere. And the WiFi was cheap and worked fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here in Feb 2013, we were lucky and were upgraded to a huge room with jacuzzi and sauna, and a seriously huge flatscreen TV. The bed was comfortable and great for two. The decoration and furniture was a little too rococo for my tastes but that's just a personal thing.

The room was warm and stayed that way, which was great as outside was -10 on the warmest setting. To a point, I felt that we did not stay in the room enough to really enjoy having .

The only failing was the lack of a proper shower (something that the whole of Riga seems to not have bought into, probably down to low water pressure in the city).

The breakfast was great, the food endless and widely varied.

Had little interaction with the staff but what little we did have was polite, efficient and friendly.

There is a nightclub in the basement which is open only on Fridays and Saturdays and as we were on the floor above the bar which leads to the nightclub, chucking out time was loud but it passed away quickly and without trouble.

Room Tip: Try and get the Suite upgrade, those rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chockbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#8 of 108 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#29 of 108 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#45 of 108 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#13 of 108 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden Palace

Property: Hotel Garden Palace
Address: Grecinieku iela 28, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garden Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most elegant and unique 4star hotel Garden Palace was opened in the beginning of 2007. 19th century building is superbly located in the heart of Riga, part of the city with ample opportunities for entertainment, business and acquitance with the Latvian culture. The fabulous panoramic view of the Old Riga, Town Hall Square, embankment and great river Daugava is one of the advantages of the hotel Garden Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Garden Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Palace Riga
Garden Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing