We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic loacation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Garden Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Garden Palace
Ranked #56 of 108 Hotels in Riga
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Fantastic loacation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The location is superb right across the road from the House of the Blackheads and only a couple of minutes from the buses. The reception area is well presented but we found our room to be a bit shabby with torn wallpaper, although the beds were very comfy. There was a plug in electric radiator stood in the middle of the room and no other heating, we were plenty warm enough but as we had a triple room which is designed for families I felt this was quite dangerous. There was no tea and coffee making facilities which would have been nice to have. The breakfast buffet was very good with a wide choice, most of the the staff were polite without being friendly, we found this to be generally the case in Riga.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzie_goes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    193
    110
    38
    23
See reviews for
73
191
63
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here four nights in Jan-Feb 2013. Room 412.

Pros:
* Excellent location - just round the corner from the Blackheads building.
* Breakfast. Included and its all you can eat, with cereal.
* The room was a reasonable size, tastefully decorated, clean and the bed comfortable.
* Staff were polite and helpful.
* Interesting decor, quite charming in a vaguely baroque sort of way.
* Quiet

Cons:
* The name - sounds like a Chinese restaurant and I had some misgivings when booking because of it.
* The shower cubicle didn't allow a lot of room for stretching one's elbows.
* Dinner - the restaurant is nice and the prices are reasonable. However, its the sort of place where you feel that the chef is counting the ingredients. I had prawn ravioli and there were 5 pieces of pasta, 2 prawns, 2 pieces of asparagus...you get the drift. But there are plenty of other restaurants nearby that are more generous with their portions.
* You have to pay for wireless internet, though there is a computer for guests use in the foyer.

None of these cons bothered me enough to downgrade my 5* rating, made on the basis of the very positive pros.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rabbit83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have stayed only 1 night. We booked a double room and the hotel offered us Suite without extra charges. We enjoyed the room so much! It was very clean including towels and bothrobe. The beg is extra large and extremely comfortable - the sleep was excellent! The room itself is very spacious (of course it could be warmer inside for my personal preference). We enjoyed so much sauna and jacuzzi. It was a very relaxing treat. However I would like to notice that jacuzzi was losing slightly the water. We notices that the floor was covered with a bit of water. The location is excellent - just in the heart of old Riga. Of course, as you can immagine the centeral streets of the old Riga are noisy because of parties till the morning. I will definitely come back and I do recommend this hotel! Excellent value for money!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room 201 (with sauna & Jaciuzzi) = excellent room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed 5 nights to celebrate my Birthday. Lovely hotel, good value for money, nice central location, everything within walking distance. Quite ornate in decoration but thats part of its charm. Bedroom was spacious and spotlessly clean. No complaints. Breakfast had a good choice of both hot and cold food. The coffee was delicious! If you are there on a Thursday night its well worth going to the Latvian Grill Party in the hotel courtyard. 20 euros per person for as much as you can eat and the food just keeps coming all night! If we stay in Latvia again we will definitely revisit this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bowlerwife62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location of the hotel is brilliant in the city center. The breakfast was very tasty and the variety of food was impressive. The staff was friendly and helpfull. What I didn't like too much is the bed and pillows, for me they were rather old and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and the location was perfect for exploring Riga on foot. The rooms were spacious but were very tired and the towels were small and thin. Overall it felt like it had seen better days.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaynnTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guernsey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very conveniently situated for restaurants etc. Only stayed one night as we were travelling around Latvia. Would have stayed longer if we had the time. Breakfast was amazing, huge choice food available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredW76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#8 of 108 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#30 of 108 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#44 of 108 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#13 of 108 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden Palace

Property: Hotel Garden Palace
Address: Grecinieku iela 28, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garden Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most elegant and unique 4star hotel Garden Palace was opened in the beginning of 2007. 19th century building is superbly located in the heart of Riga, part of the city with ample opportunities for entertainment, business and acquitance with the Latvian culture. The fabulous panoramic view of the Old Riga, Town Hall Square, embankment and great river Daugava is one of the advantages of the hotel Garden Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Garden Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Palace Riga
Garden Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing