We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The smallest twin room ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Garden Palace
Ranked #61 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The smallest twin room ever.”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The first point to make is that Riga is a great city to visit.This hotel is situated in a good position in the old town and there is much to see. We visited in the summer when Riga was vigrant and outdoor cafes, bars and restaurants were busy but not packed. The canal area and parks are lovely and the Art Noveau area fabulous.
The hotel has many charming features, including a pretty courtyard where meals and drinks can be consumed .The interior of the building is handsome with beautiful staircases and corridors full of antique furniture and fresh flower arrangements.What a disappointment awaited us when we opened the door of our double/twin room. It was a box room with two tiny beds and one wall actually had a big hole in it. There were no tea or coffee making facilities and nowhere to have a comfortable sit down.It was like a different world inside compared to the outside. There was a shower only and no bath in the miniture bathroom.
On the positive side, the staff were very helpful and the standard of cleaning was good. On the negative side, the traffic outside was noisy and we would not recommend the restaurant in the evening . The food took ages to arrive and then was served cold so had to be returned. Breakfast however was a different matter. There was an extensive choice of: cold meats; smoked fish: cheeses; salads;pickles; fruits ;cereals and pastries. There was cooked food also .We had a busy time in Riga and in the surrounding area so we accepted our lot but would be reluctant to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room in the builing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller504175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    210
    116
    41
    27
See reviews for
75
209
66
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The hotel is in a great location. If coming into Riga from the airport on the number 22 bus, get off immediately after crossing the river, take the subway under the road and tram lines, and you have reached the corner of the street on which the hotel stands.
The hotel is opposite the Museum of the Occupation of Latvia and the back of the House of the Blackheads - it is a very pleasant stroll from the hotel around the historic old town.
The hotel is an attractive building, with a lovely courtyard garden. Inside, it is beautifully furnished and decorated, with antique pieces and artworks throughout the hotel. Our room was a junior suite, which was very spacious, in the same elegant style of decor as the rest of the hotel. It had two tall windows, and a balcony with a table and four chairs, overlooking the courtyard. The king size bed was very comfortable, and the room also had two large armchairs. The bathroom had a large, deep bath. As another review mentioned, the towels were quite worn and thin.
Breakfast was excellent, with an extensive choice, and served in an attractive dining room by the courtyard. At check-in, we received two vouchers for half price drinks in the hotel bar.
So why only a three star rating, rather than five? On our last evening, a party took place in the dining room, directly underneath our junior suite. The heavy thump of the music came up through our room, and the guests partied in the courtyard just below our windows, chanting, cheering and applauding. It was like trying to sleep in a nightclub until the party stopped. As we had an early flight to catch the next day, we needed the sleep and the loud party made this impossible. However, if you are lucky enough to stay on a night without a party taking place there, you may find the hotel nice and quiet at night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peltt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is a great find. An excellent hotel, very conveniently located in the Old City and handy for the No. 22 bus to and from the airport. We had 5 nights in a Junior Suite: large, generally comfortable, a balcony, very quiet, beautifully clean, if a little old-fashioned. Only negative: the towels are small and thin. The shower didn't work on arrival (hose too short) but it was fixed immediately - no problem! Breakfast is a large high-quality buffet and caters for most tastes. Hotel bar a bit noisy but a good selection of drinks. Watch out, though, for the Happy Hour offer on cocktails; to qualify for the offer you have to buy two of the same cocktail, not just any random two. The normally excellent barman wasn't on duty that evening. All the restaurant and reception staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Great value, too. We'd happily return and will recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Room 216 worked well for us. First floor, quiet, spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodnjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This small hotel is in a great location in the old town of Riga, just a two minute walk to th square and tourist informaiton office. The rooms are comfortable without being luxurious and the staff were very friendly. Staff at reception were very friendly. The hotel was good value for money, and if returning to Riga would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestopinions77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Because the hotel staff at the Garden Palace Hotel were soooooooo nice. They were quick to answer my emails before arrival, and they upgraded the room for free..! The hotel is not far from the market and shops.. great walking around at night, a lot of live bands playing in the streets and cafes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Lovely hotel, excellent food, had best dinner!! Breakfast great. Room large and comfortable. Easy to get to by bus from the airport. On edge of Old Town, great to walk into town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glospurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjoerring, Denmark
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The interior was beautiful. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. The ambience was so relaxing. The room was clean and the amenities were good enough. I can't forget the bartender in the bar of the hotel. He never ran out of stories - and I took it positively! :)

This hotel is near the Old Town and it was easy to navigate your way. Museums and churches are just nearby.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarloLazado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#43 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#10 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#29 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden Palace

Property: Hotel Garden Palace
Address: Grecinieku iela 28, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garden Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most elegant and unique 4star hotel Garden Palace was opened in the beginning of 2007. 19th century building is superbly located in the heart of Riga, part of the city with ample opportunities for entertainment, business and acquitance with the Latvian culture. The fabulous panoramic view of the Old Riga, Town Hall Square, embankment and great river Daugava is one of the advantages of the hotel Garden Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Garden Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Palace Riga
Garden Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing