We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Dome Pearl Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dome Pearl Hostel
Ranked #68 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Very basic hostel with excellent location in the centre of the Old Town. Staff was friendly and helpful. I was disappointed because they never mentioned that payment with credit cards wasn't accepted. Also free WiFi wasn't available as they had promised.
Be aware that there isn't a lift at the hostel. However, location and price for this hostel are unbeatable!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittynam76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    30
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
10
18
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

I am basically in agreement with other reviewers. For what you pay (we paid about 10 lats - £15 - per night), you get a place to stay in the heart of Riga with great staff who advised us to visit places such as Mezaparks (which was great) and Jurmala (which we never got round to), as well as being able to dispense info about bus times etc.

The building itself is a beautiful architectural example of Latvian skill which you can see throughout Riga - although the facade was under renovation when we visited and so there was a lot of scaffolding but that's hardly the hotel's fault.

The rooms have everything you need (kitchen facilities are non-present, but there are so many restaurants nearby you don't need them) and for a great price, you can't complain.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twelvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

Really well located and quite easy to access even during the snowy winters. But, inside the hostel, quite a lot of stairs so be warned... people with leg cast and so on might have troubles.
The staff is helpful and accomodating with great advices about how to go around the city, what train/bus/tram to take what to see or not, where to eat,....
You can pay in either euros or lats and even on the second day if you haven't had any chance to change your money.
You have access to a microwave and a fridge (shared with the others) and free coffee and tea outside and inside the room. A computer with an access to internet is available in the manager office as well for free. But there is no real kitchen as far as I know.
Room and bed sheets are clean.

In the winter, use a sleeping bag and take your shower in the evening because with an outside temperature (in the sun!) of -25°C... the insulation might be too light at night unless you're used to coldness. You can ask for a radiator if available.

There is a LOT of restaurants, bakery, bars whithin 100m around the hostel and many really original places to have a drink or eat. For example, on the 1st floor of the hotel, there is a restaurant decorated only with old medical stuffs (seats are old new-born beds, ceiling lamp is an operation lamp,...).

There's a mall (@central station) and a cinema at about 10min walking.
A lot of nice churches, monuments and museums are in walking distance and when needed, public trasports are available all around the town center and could take you to the beach, zoo, etc.
Almost everyone speaks english and russian so you can't get lost!

One last useful tip : Bus 22 from/to airport is 0.7lat/ride/pers.
The stop from the airport is after the stone bridge ("11th of november") but the closest stop TO the airport is in front of the "cinemas"... and not near the bridge! So don't waste your time waiting at the tram stop even if there is a bus sign! ^^

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrusselsCha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

As the name implies it is located right next to the Dome Cathedral, in the centre of Riga old town, brilliant location. There is a "Double Coffee" café just around the corner and numerous other bars and restaurants within a few minutes walk. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The only problem we had, which many others have listed also, is that there is a slight smell coming from the toilet, if you shut the bathroom door though you can't tell but still it is worth noting. The rooms were very big and spacious, although our double bed had two single sheets and 2 single duvets which was a bit of a pain.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alifefulloftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We booked a room with 4 beds and a private bathroom and since we were only 2 people, we had plenty of space to move around and stack our clothes. The bathroom was very basic, could do with a bit of updating. The room, although basic was decent and clean. There was a double bed and 2 bunks, a couple of chairs and a table. We had no view, but the hostel is perfectly located right in the centre of town.

This is a good hostel if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katerinask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouen, France
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2009

A very friendly staff, definitely the place to stay for a bunch of nice young people! :) Really close of all the "must to see" of the city and not so far of the international bus station as well. A cheap urban bus connects the city center to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VincentJRouen_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trondheim
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

After some days in Jurmala in a "hotel" this was an upgrade for me and my friend.
When we found the correct street it was easy to find the hostel.
It`s located in the middle of the old town with the Dome`s square and all the restaurants and nightlife. The room was big and nice with a bunk-bed,a table,two chairs and a great view:) There were 2 toilets and 2 showers on each floor,cleaned several times every day.Internet for free and a fridge with beer and water if we`d like to buy. They did also offer a 4 hour citywalk for free if we wanted:)
I`d definitely go back to this hostel:) I give it a top score! It`s of course not to compare with a good hotel,but for a hostel it`s great!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solsol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
Doma Hostel
Doma Hostel
#25 of 144 in Riga
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ars Vivendi Rezidence
Ars Vivendi Rezidence
#27 of 144 in Riga
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riga Downtown Apartments
Riga Downtown Apartments
#31 of 144 in Riga
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Nose
Red Nose
#14 of 144 in Riga
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tree House
Tree House
#6 of 144 in Riga
49 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gogol Park Hostel
Gogol Park Hostel
#20 of 144 in Riga
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dome Pearl Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dome Pearl Hostel

Property: Dome Pearl Hostel
Address: Tirgonu iela 4, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dome Pearl Hostel is located in the historical part of Riga in the Old Riga. The heart of Old Riga is the Dome Square, where the Dome Cathedral is located.Our hostel is just near the Dome Cathedral. It may be seen almost from everywhere. The Dome Pearl Hostel building is the pearl of Old City. The hostel is clean, secure and friendly. We have a variety of warm function rooms cleaned daily. Accommodation includes different dorms, doubles, quads. The biggest information agency is near by. If you are looking for location you won’t get better than this. So if you are looking for a place to have a great time in Riga and to meet new people in friendly environment you are welcome to come and stay with us! We look forward to see you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Dome Pearl Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing