We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy, equiped, quite central”
Review of Central Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Central Hostel
Ranked #4 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cosy, equiped, quite central”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed in this hostel whilst attending a training course and it was pretty comfortable as rooms are divded into apartments so all the people in our apartment were people attending the same training. Although bathrooms are shared, one will only need to share with 5-6 other people as each apartment has 2 bathrooms which were cleaned daily. Rooms are big enough and one could have their own key to lock their bedroom + apartment. Although this hostel is not ultra modern, it is not too shabby either. Some apartments even have a common area and the hostel comes with a small kitchen which is equiped enough to prepare any meal (even freshly cooked pasta made from scratch by our Italian delegates). People at reception were nice and helpful offering to print iteraries and free shisha was available. The hostel has two living areas one next to reception and one downstairs next to the backyard. Hostel is quite central with a 10-15 minute walk to/from Riga centre.

Room Tip: Room on the top (3rd) floor have a common area but lots of stairs. Rooms on the reception floor are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexiaB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    91
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
66
66
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I am Latvian myself but moved abroad, when I go to Riga for visits I always but always choose Central Hostel in the capital of Latvia.
I have stayed in Central Hostel 2 years ago and next time will stay in October 2012- will write another review about new experience in a different room, but I am confident this is gonna be as good as previous ones! 

This is a perfect location place in the very heart of Riga, on Birznieka- Upisha Street. If you check their website, all information and photos presented are true picture of how it looks like – neat, comfortable, cheap and tidy with very good morning breakfasts which last until 11:00 if not later! On our arrival we got nicely tied towels with typical Latvian sweets on the pillows, what a welcoming isn’t?! 

There is good WI FI connection as I used it every day for my studies.
Bathroom and shower facilities are located outside the room; luckily we had them next doors!
The rooms are cleaned and bed linen changed every day!
I remember we left 5 lats deposit for the key, make sure you ask for the deposit money back on your departure day.
There is a nice kitchen and all oven/ microwave facilities so you can even cook yourself in case of weather is not great. The supermarket RIMI is located 2 min walk from the hostel so you can always pop in get what like the most, many salads, sweets, pastry etc.

The ORIGO shopping centre is 5 min walk, the same train station which is located inside the shopping centre on the ground floor. The Old Riga (Vecriga) is 10-15 min walk which is a great distance to medieval spirit of the capital. GALERIJA CENTRS with nice shopping areas is 10 min walk.

Room Tip: any room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Polska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Good Hostel in Riga, which is about 20 minutes walk from Old Town, with free parking for guests and simple breakfast, very helpful stuff, in a pretty quiet area, and not too far from main roads in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
277 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed here for one night in July. Excellent location, just a short walk from the central station / bus station. Super friendly staff and the room was large and clean. The bathrooms was also clean. All in all good value for money

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Christin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very nice and cozy hostel. Enough space in double-bed room, great style and nice price. Plus, you get breakfast for free there ;) This hostel is a bit further from Old Town but it is still 10 min walk. By the way, way have yard and barbeque place - suits for those who love outdoor parties;) nice price and quality ratio.Thanks!

Room Tip: double bed room is much better than twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabija V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

It's a problem that the kitchen is to small for all the guests and it would have been nice if there were som brown bread in stead of all the white bread in the morning. But all in all a nice place to stay for resonable money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank jeanne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.9 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#58 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#3 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Naughty Squirrel Backpackers
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel
0.6 mi away
Seagulls Garret Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hostel

Property: Central Hostel
Address: Ernesta Birznieka-Upisha iela 20, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Central Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing