We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“terrible hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baltpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baltpark Hotel
Ranked #95 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Kibworth Beauchamp, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“terrible hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Mt wife and I stayed at this hotel on a tour of the Baltic capitals with Leger Holidays.The tour itself was excellent with the two drivers doing a terrific job.However when we arrived at this hotel having travelled from Vilnius at 16.50,our rooms which were on the sixth floor were not ready.There were about four other rooms that were not ready also.Dinner was scheduled for 18.00 and we were told we could wait in the dining room which was also on the top floor(sixth).
To add insult to injury the ONLY lift was out of order,and the porter refused to take any luggage up the stairs and left the hotel,leaving the drivers to struggle with 40 cases.We sat in the dining room and asked if there would be a complimentary drink whilst we waited for our rooms,but nothing was forthcoming.We started dinner at 18.00 still in our travelling attire and five minutes later were handed the keys to the room.Dinner was nothing special and the room was small and very basic.Breakfast was average and it was a pleasure to leave after breakfast.I could not recommend this hotel to anyone!We stayed here on the *th July 2012.

Room Tip: No good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    36
    23
    15
    7
See reviews for
19
25
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Pretty inexpensive hotel. A bit away from centre, but good connection with bus 3 or bus 6 to city centre. Rooms were very clean, but hot water pressure was weak. Breakfast was biggest I have even seen at hotels and everything tasted good.

Room Tip: Some noise from roof tarace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tokyocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

it is comfortable 3 star hotel and cheaper than what I expected. the only problem is a little bit far away. Take bus No. 3 from city center is the best way to go there. please do not want to walk there..... especially with luggage... Good breakfast!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TS0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

This was our fourth trip to Riga but not my favourite!

On check-in the receptionist complained about being "tired" - not very professional. The room was adequate and clean but had no wardrobe or chest of drawers. Not even a hanging rail! And we were supplied with two bathtowels - total! No hand towels or flannels. The restaurant was closed for a private party (no warning given by "tired" receptionist). This hotel claims to be in "Central" Riga but it is over 4km outside the Old Town! We had to walk in as there was nothing open on Saturday night in the local vicinity. We were informed that it would take about 20 minutes to walk in. Try 45 minutes! Room wasn't cleaned on two separate occasions. To add insult to injury, restaurant was also closed on our final night for yet another private party. Again no warning given.

Liked the 6th floor restaurant and the rooftop terrace. But the rooftop terrace wasn't cleaned regularly. A pool of vomit was left for a day. Coffee cups and overflowing ashtrays were left for two days. Such a shame as there was much room for potential here. I rate this a C minus. Could do better!

And contrary to the advert, there is no separate "bar/lounge".

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

When we came to the hotel the staff apologized and said that they have overbooking and they wanted to put us in different hotel far away. After complain, they put us in the hotel just next to it for the first night, other nights back to Baltpark.
Hotel rooms are very clean, staff is very helpful and food in the restaurant is very tasty (however a bit expensive). Terrace on the roof is so nice, cosy and covered when it's raining.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Goldy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

My sister and I stayed at the Baltpark Hotel for one week. Our flight times were changed and the hotel staff were very good at making alternative arrangements for us. Transfers from the airport were arranged by the hotel staff and it was cheap, 12 lats, (15 lats for the return journey.)
We were upgraded at no extra cost to a bigger room which had a balcony and huge bathroom.
The food at breakfast catered for every taste. The rooftop terrace was wonderful and we ate breakfast and sometimes evening meals there.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant was first class in particular the salads, fish and ice cream! It was good value for money.
Location was not central to old Riga but the availablity of trams and buses meant that it was 15mins approx from the centre. The cost of transport was only 50cents and for this you could travel from one end of Riga to the other if you wanted to! On one occassion we used a taxi to get baclk to the hotel. We knew that this would be expensive as we got it from Central Market, would not advise doing this. It cost us 10lats.
We used public transport every day to visit tourist attractions and this is easy to do because of the location of the hotel. For example it cost us 1 lat for the return journey to visit the Ethnographic Museum , the bus stop was a few minutes walk from the hotel.
We plan to visit Riga again and will stay at the Baltpark.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMMScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury
Level Contributor
112 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

We had a map of the hotel and decided to walk from Riga..... Well, after about half hour we jumped on a bus. It is a good couple of miles out of Riga. But, once you know what bus to get is really easy to get to/from.

The hotel itself is ok, its probably on par with British Travelodges, nothing really speacial about the hotel, but at the same time the only real negative is the fact that despite what the website says, it DOES NOT have internet. Not even in the lobby.

Breakfast was adequate and generally the stay was ok.

We'd stay here again, but i think next time id look for somewhere a little more central to Riga.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stu.bec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
3.1 mi away
OK Hotel
OK Hotel
#70 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.3 mi away
Conference Hotel Tomo
Conference Hotel Tomo
#91 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
3.7 mi away
Vilmaja
Vilmaja
#80 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Viktorija Hotel
Viktorija Hotel
#40 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
3.4 mi away
Primo Hotel
Primo Hotel
#51 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avitar Hotel
Avitar Hotel
#64 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baltpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltpark Hotel

Property: Baltpark Hotel
Address: Pernavas iela 36, Riga 1009, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baltpark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 3* Hotel Baltpark (built in May, 2006) located close to the centre of Riga, central railway station and bus terminal. We offer 43 rooms of various types for your comfort: elegantly arranged standard rooms; rooms for guests with special needs; romantic rooms (for unforgettable moments). At your disposal there is arranged in a style of the Caribbean Islands restaurant Paradise, a perfect place during your business trips or vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Baltpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltpark Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing