We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable hotel with creative atmosphere”
Review of Hotel Monte Kristo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monte Kristo
Ranked #44 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Styled like a ship, the hotel would find a better fit with a name like, say, “Captain Morgan”. As we just came from another sea-themed 4* hotel Kolumbs in Liepaja, we couldn’t help comparing the two. Let’s be fair, Monte Kristo does not fully justify the number of its stars. Superior double was odd-shaped and definitely too cramped for the standard, lacking resting zone. There were some suspicious folks hanging in the lobby. The biggest issue for us was lack of air in the room. But other than that there were plenty of small details all around that made Monte Kristo feel homey: wooden steps to reach the window as it was set higher than usual, smell of home-made apple pie in the public areas, kettle and even a musical center in the room, etc. Breakfast was a good treat with unexpectedly wide range of food, including three kinds of pancakes, two different salads and the best ever omelette. Rise hands those of you who had banana pancakes or zucchini-omelette for the breakfast in any hotel, ever? Location is just unbeatable! Would definitely stay again in a bigger room.

Room Tip: Superior double is too small for comfortable stay.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lamur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monte Kristo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 464 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

Would definitely recommend this hotel, traditional, clean hotel very helpful staff and bargain price!

If you want somewhere central in the old town and a one minute walk to number 22 bus to airport this is the place!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmcmGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Really great location, easy to reach with public transportation, delicious breakfast, clean and spacefull rooms, tastefull decoration. All together really nice athmosphere. Also the food at the restaurant was good value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaSuFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Good quality service and very clean but rooms very small even cant find a place for luggage. I am always stay here because good price to good quality. I am waiting improving internet quality and designing of single rooms.

Stayed: January 2013
Thank Emre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

The location is excellent! Many good restaurants and pubs very near. Bus from the airport has a stop around corner (bus stop name Stockmann centre). Breakfast good and the hotel has a great athmosphere. Our room was tiny but I understood that other rooms are bigger. Warm water in the shower and very clean room.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank omertad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My boyfriend booked me a surprise weekend away to Riga in December 2012 and it could not have been more perfect!
The Monte Kristo hotel is in the Old Town and a very short walk from the bus stop to the airport and central station. Being so close to the Old Town the hotel is very convenient for exploring the many delights that Riga has to offer.
The hotel was warm, cosy and friendly. Our room was lovely and spacious (we were in room 116 on the ground floor) and although it was a little noisy being on street level, it didn't hamper our experience at all. The room was very clean and the shower was extremely powerful and kept a constant temperature which is important to me!
Breakfast is served until 11am which suited us and served cheese, ham, eggs, bread, pancakes (sweet and savoury), cereal, porridge, yoghurt, tea, coffee etc. A great way to start a day of sightseeing.
Overall I was thoroughly impressed with the hotel and found it much cosier and welcoming than some of the chain hotesl I've stayed in - a little gem!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vicki411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Central and well managed hotel. About 3 star standard but well priced. The service was friendly and breakfast is included. Room needed airing as it was a bit musty. Bathroom was adequate but not flash, beds comfortable. The breakfast was nothing to write home about but filled a hole and was open til 11 in morning which is good if you're a late riser. Location is excellent with quick access to bus to the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazy_Jim_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#37 of 110 in Riga
630 reviews
0.0 mi away
Forums Hotel
Forums Hotel
#43 of 110 in Riga
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Kristo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Kristo

Address: Kaleju iela 56 | Old Riga, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: $40 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monte Kristo 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and cozy boutique hotel in the unique historic part of Riga - Old Town. You will find museums, monuments of architecture, popular places of leisure and relaxation, the largest shopping centers, banks, state institutions and embassies located in immediate proximity to the hotel. Within a few minutes walk there are Bus and Railway Stations as well as the Sea Port. Hospitality, exclusive service, highly professional and friendly personnel will make your relaxation unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Monte Kristo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Kristo Hotel
Monte Kristo Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing