We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel with about 20 min. walking distance from Old Town”
Review of Islande Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Islande Hotel
Ranked #33 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Okay hotel with spacious rooms with comfortable beds, but the rooms showed signs of being well used, and not everything worked as it should. The breakfast did not respond completely to the expectations, but nice rooftop restaurant with views over the city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Read60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 668 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

Only positive things to say about this hotel: location close to airport, large rooms, large bathroom, good breakfast and extremely cheap (cheaper than a Etap Hotel in Paris). There is a shuttle bus running every 20-30 minutes from/to airport for just 5 euros.
Carpet was a bit dirty next to the desk, apart of that, nothing objectively wrong with this 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Air_Palma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have spent 3 nights with my hubby and little child (2 y.) in JULY 2012. Actually, everything was ok. The rooms are clean,but not renovated: the beige carpet was full of plains and the TV set was actually from the last century=). Reception nd personelle were very pleasant and always ready to help: asked to make food for my baby hotter and asked for some dishes(cups, spoons etc). Girls at the reception explained everything: how to go to the airport or to LIDO, which shopping center is better and so on=). BREAKFAST was very various however it was the same every day: eggs, omlet, sausages,bacon, fruits, ham,cheese,toast, bakery, tea-coffee-juices, porrige...
INTENET is free WI-Fi in every room.
The hotel is not in the old Riga, it will take you about 15 min to cross the bridge and you are in the old town...

It was very pity to know that there is no KIDS playroom in the hotel((((

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kissssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Staff here is a joke. If you dont want to serve people dont work in as a servicepersonal. 15 min to get contact with someone in the bar. And then they tell you they dont respect you kind. My response to that, the kind that only comes to have a nice drink? Rude, unexperienced and unserviceminded people who dont know how to run a hotel. If I owned it i would fire all of them and find people with joy in their life. Maybe the switch staff every second week or so but be sure to check that you dont get the same as we did. Rooms, town and al else is Nice and one the border to fantastic, to bad the Staff bring the experiance down so much.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripmastern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

this hotel lies near a bridge over the river daugava, good location to reach old town riga with many art nouveau buildings, the hotel itself gives good services, clean rooms , good breakfast .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gooreind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Nice service! Wonderful roofterasse with amazing food. Free wifi and spa-department. We had a great stay and it's cheap and easy to get around by bus. Definitely worth the money. We also took a massage which was great. The standard is really good and the breakfast was good. You an walk downtown which we did the first couple of days but then we found out about the bus which only took 7 min. And the supermarket Rimi is very close located to the hotel. All and all a really nice stay! We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S189871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Had stayed here before---most significant change was internet access was now free, instead of $8.00 per day--and wireless actually worked. Location for my purpose was excellent. Breakfast buffet passable, but no change in day to day content--boring. Onsite restaurant for dinner extremely pricey for Riga. Mall with Rimi hypermarket (with extensive, cheap and extensive Latvian/ international food) take away deli and cheap food court just 200 meters to the South. Non winter months access easy. December-January quite a trek.
Prepaid voucher at reasonable rate $68.00 versus $56.00 at Maritim Park. But this is for a "single room, with single bed sort of like a cruise ship lower class cabin, both in size and view (virtually none). Better location than Maritime Park, except for Trolley access. Strange but not unacceptable feature is that door to room opens out into corridor instead of in to room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelreview15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.9 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#11 of 112 in Riga
586 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#19 of 112 in Riga
613 reviews
1.3 mi away
Opera Hotel & Spa
Opera Hotel & Spa
#28 of 112 in Riga
832 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islande Hotel

Address: Kipsalas iela 20, Riga 1048, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Riga
#25 Business Hotel in Riga
#30 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: $47 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Islande Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islande Hotel was opened on March 2006.The hotel is located in Kipsala, in the center of Riga - a 10 minutes walk from the Old Town. For guests’ comfort we offer 205 well equipped rooms for non smokers and smokers, 29 non- allergic rooms and 7 rooms for guests with special needs. All rooms arranged in a modern reserved Scandinavian style. 5 conference rooms, business centre, spa, gym, souvenir shop, closed parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Islande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islande Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing