We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Ranked #46 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed at the Kolonna Hotel for a three nights. I can say that location is ideal, everything is right next to you. Very helpful staff. Breakfast - nothing special but basic. I always asking room with a view so this time I had a room right under the roof. You can have some problems if you are tall. The ceiling is the same in bathroom to so don't forget to look after you head while you are in bathroom:-) But you will have a fantastic view available while sitting on windowsill. And one more thing to mention - ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you will stay during some holidays. In that way you will not be bothered by noise from a street. Otherwise no matter what day is that you will hear at 8 a.m. a bell ringing at some church.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
There are newer reviews for Rixwell Domus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 514 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

Ideal location, bars and restaurants opposite, great value for money, the staff could not be more helpful ...thank you again Laura. we must have eaten 2 bowlfuls of the free sweets :D we will be back at some point.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redqueeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Arrived past midnight with empty bellies, and although the kitchen was closed the lady on reception directed us to some eateries nearby. All staff, be they reception, kitchen or cleaning staff were incredibly polite and friendly.
The breakfast was average but filled us up until lunchtime. Food included eggs, various meats and hams, cereal, toast and cheeses, along with tea and coffee. All were replenished as soon as they ran out.
All staff had vast knowledge about the surrounding area and recommended many places such as museums and restaurants.

Overall; The Kolonna ticked every box as far as customer service goes. We'll defo return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank too_many_baguleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank palolem
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My mum and I stayed at the Kolonna Hotel for a three night trip in November 2013. It was a great little hotel, really good value for money.

The staff were really helpful and quick to help if you needed assistance.

Many people have commented about the noise levels you could hear from the street, we were fortunate to have a room at the back of the hotel so this wasn't a problem, though it did mean your 'view' was of a brick wall!

Breakfast was basic, but adequate.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a cheap get away! It was the perfect location to explore the old town!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi_Gabrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

When we arrived to the hotel, the room we first got smelled awful. The reception gave us a new room which also smelled bad but not as bas as the first one. There is no ventilation in the room which at least partly explains the smell. Our room was very basic. I’d say it was more of hostel standard than hotel standard. Beds are really hard and the noise from the street definitely disturbs most sleepers. Fortunately, I had ear plugs with me and I recommend them to all guests in this hotel. The location is great, though. Actually, it couldn’t be any better.

The staff in the front desk is very friendly and helpful. The definitely deserve thanks. Breakfast is poor and they ran out of food one morning. However, one can’t expect a lot from the hotel since room prices are quite low.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xaratar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had been living in this hotel for 5 nights. We had Standard room, and there was a view from the window right on the Doma cathedral. Staff was very helpfull, friendly and polite. Room was cosy and fresh. Very comfortable beds and shower is OK as well. But the main thing about this hotel is location - just a few steps from Dome square.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariia1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Konventa Seta Hotel
Konventa Seta Hotel
#31 of 110 in Riga
806 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#37 of 110 in Riga
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 110 in Riga
654 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#26 of 110 in Riga
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Domus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Domus Hotel

Address: Tirgonu iela 9, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Kolonna Hotel Riga)
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range: $35 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rixwell Domus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Domus Hotel is Garni class hotel in Riga Old Town located between Riga Dome Cathedral and Town Hall. Rixwell Domus Hotel offers 41 comfortable and cozy rooms, with possibility to accommodate up to 108 guests. Hotel is furnished in modern style, preserving the history of the building in the facade and the ancient items exhibited in the hall having been discovered during the reconstruction of the building. The building was built in the end of 19th century as a store. In 20th century building served as optical shop, arts items and furniture shop and even as a shoe factory. Around Rixwell Domus Hotel: Riga Old Town - 0 km Airport - 10 km Central Railway Station - 0,6 km Bus (coach) terminal - 0,5 km Ferry terminal - 1 km Arena Riga - 4,5 km Latvian National Opera - 0,7 km Kipsala exhibition complex - 3 km Jurmala resort - 20 km ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixwell Domus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riga Kolonna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing