We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Riga
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Value for Money”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My mum and I stayed at the Kolonna Hotel for a three night trip in November 2013. It was a great little hotel, really good value for money.

The staff were really helpful and quick to help if you needed assistance.

Many people have commented about the noise levels you could hear from the street, we were fortunate to have a room at the back of the hotel so this wasn't a problem, though it did mean your 'view' was of a brick wall!

Breakfast was basic, but adequate.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a cheap get away! It was the perfect location to explore the old town!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi_Gabrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    229
    82
    23
    11
See reviews for
78
155
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

When we arrived to the hotel, the room we first got smelled awful. The reception gave us a new room which also smelled bad but not as bas as the first one. There is no ventilation in the room which at least partly explains the smell. Our room was very basic. I’d say it was more of hostel standard than hotel standard. Beds are really hard and the noise from the street definitely disturbs most sleepers. Fortunately, I had ear plugs with me and I recommend them to all guests in this hotel. The location is great, though. Actually, it couldn’t be any better.

The staff in the front desk is very friendly and helpful. The definitely deserve thanks. Breakfast is poor and they ran out of food one morning. However, one can’t expect a lot from the hotel since room prices are quite low.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xaratar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had been living in this hotel for 5 nights. We had Standard room, and there was a view from the window right on the Doma cathedral. Staff was very helpfull, friendly and polite. Room was cosy and fresh. Very comfortable beds and shower is OK as well. But the main thing about this hotel is location - just a few steps from Dome square.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariia1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Kolonna Hotel has an exellent location in the middle of the old town. Prices are good, and rooms are clean. Staff is very helpful and service-minded, way beyond what you could expect from a three star hotel.

Drawbacks are very basic breakfast, and sometimes it can be noisy from people in the stairs and in the corridors.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlavR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

As all the other reviewers say the hotel is in an ideal location right in the middle of the old town.
Room was fine - comfortable bed and hot shower with plenty of room. Breakfast considerably better than expected after reading some other reviews - typically continental with selection of cold meats and cheese, hot sausage and scrambled egg,cereals and 3 types of bread.
Reception staff were all very friendly and helpful.Restaurant (Alus Seta - worth trying), bar and cafe/bakery all within 10 metres of front door.
Try the free(although they appreciate a tip) walking tour which leaves St Peter's church at noon(takes about 2.5 hours) - shows parts of Riga that you might not otherwise see.
A trip to Jurmala on the train is worth doing - takes half an hour and costs 1.75 Lat return.
Easy to reach hotel from airport - bus 22 drops a few minutes walk from hotel (0.7Lat)
No noise at this time of year (late October) - in fact incredibly quiet considering the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warffum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a good location in the centre of Riga. There is a lot of nice shops, restaurants, pubs and coffeebars in the area of the hotel. Rooms are basic, but clean. Friendly staff. The breakfast is nothing special, but it's ok. Across the street you'll find the cosy Victorypub, a nice bakery and one of the Lido restaurants where you can have a traditional Latvian meal.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank VincentKolstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
189 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel is ideally located in the Old Town. we were a group on 11 adults and found this hotel ideal for us. The rooms were OK, but a couple had the WC/Shower o/s, so you had to be a bit careful when going there in the morning. The staff were excellent and helpful. The breakfast was continental but a reasonable choice. Outside the Hotel are plenty of bars and restaurants so you could be spoilt for choice. Train station and central market is only a 10-15min easy walk. Plus the site seeing bus station is only around the corner. Overall it was an ideal budget hotel for us. I had no complaints from any of my other 10 friends.

Room Tip: If you can ask for a room with en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank porchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Konventa Seta Hotel
Konventa Seta Hotel
#33 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forums Hotel
Forums Hotel
#46 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#10 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#9 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garden Palace
Hotel Garden Palace
#61 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#29 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Domus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Domus Hotel

Property: Rixwell Domus Hotel
Address: Tirgonu iela 9, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Kolonna Hotel Riga)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rixwell Domus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Domus Hotel is Garni class hotel in Riga Old Town located between Riga Dome Cathedral and Town Hall. Rixwell Domus Hotel offers 41 comfortable and cozy rooms, with possibility to accommodate up to 108 guests. Hotel is furnished in modern style, preserving the history of the building in the facade and the ancient items exhibited in the hall having been discovered during the reconstruction of the building. The building was built in the end of 19th century as a store. In 20th century building served as optical shop, arts items and furniture shop and even as a shoe factory. Around Rixwell Domus Hotel: Riga Old Town - 0 km Airport - 10 km Central Railway Station - 0,6 km Bus (coach) terminal - 0,5 km Ferry terminal - 1 km Arena Riga - 4,5 km Latvian National Opera - 0,7 km Kipsala exhibition complex - 3 km Jurmala resort - 20 km ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixwell Domus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riga Kolonna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing