We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay in the old town for a low price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Tartu
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay in the old town for a low price”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

As the others have mentioned before, the hotel is located smack dab in the middle of the old town. Right opposite you will find a pub and a local restaurant chain. The place can get a bit noisy during the weekend, but for those who have lived in big cities, this should not too pose too much of a problem. The room we were allocated was huge, about twice the size of a normal hotel room. It was nice and clean as well, however I think there were no facilities for making tea or coffee in the room. Breakfast was pretty ordinary, nothing special.

Overall I would recommend this place for its excellent value for money and good location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Das_Lich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Shtale, Manager at Rixwell Domus Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Das-Lich,
thank you so much for your very valuable and much appreciated feedback following your recent stay with us!
I am happy to read that you enjoyed our location and as your wrote that the city noise should not be a disturb for those who used to live in big cities.
I am extremely pleased to hear that you found our rooms two times bigger than expected. We are proud that we met your expectations and I strongly believe that the size of a room is an important issue for those who travel a lot. Yes, you are right, we offer tea, coffee and other drinks only in reception bar.
I appreciate that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and I am sad to hear that you found our breakfast pretty ordinary.
Thank you very much for recommending our hotel for our excellent value for money and good location!

Looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future!

Best Regards,
Linda Stale
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    234
    86
    25
    16
See reviews for
82
161
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north west
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

stopped in the Kolonna nov 2012 was on the front 1st floor we did not experience any noise but it was end of the season but do like hearding the hussle and bussle of the city the location was band in the middle of the city it was spotless clean and the staff were great but most important to our group the wifi was very strong

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dent399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Shtale, Manager at Rixwell Domus Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Dent399,
thank you very much for sharing your experience with us!

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our location as well as our service!

Looking forward to welcome you next time you travel to Riga!

Best Regards,
Linda Stale
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Right in the centre of the old town, bars & shops just across the road. very clean, good breakfasts, staff were great.... thank you Laura for all your help. yea i suppose in mid season it could get very noisy but in winter we didnt have much problems. we will definatly look again and if the price was right would book again when we go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank redqueeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Shtale, Manager at Rixwell Domus Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Redqueeg,
thank you very much for your feedback and wonderful comments about experience during your stay with us! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and service we provide to our guests!

It is the wonderful team that I am lucky to have here, including Receptionist you mentioned, that make KOLONNA Hotel Riga a very special place to work and for our guests to stay in. I have already passed on your very kind words to my team this morning and I hope that we will have the chance to meet your expectations again in the very near future.

To receive best available offer for your next stay with us, kindly ask you to contact us direct by writing an e-mail to reservationriga@kolonna.com

Looking forward to welcome you in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Linda Stale
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'll be honest, we booked the Kolonna on cost. However, with its helpful staff, spotlessly clean rooms, healthy breakfast and superb location, this hotel would still be a bargain in a much higher price bracket.

Situated in the heart of Riga's old town, there's a massive choice of restaurants, confectioners and bars on your doorstep and all the major sights are within walking distance.

Riga is a really friendly city with lots going on. If you haven't been to this part of the world, I'd thoroughly recommend that you give it a try.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mennell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Shtale, Manager at Rixwell Domus Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mennell,

thank you very much for staying with us and taking a time to post your lovely comments about your experience during your stay!

As you mentioned our location direct in the middle of Old Riga is just perfect! All main tourist attractions, bars, restaurants are within few minutes walking distance. I hope you had a chance to enjoy dinner at restaurant Ambiente that offers the diversity of Latvian cuisine supplemented by the pretentious luxury and solidity characteristic to the Art Nouveau era as well as the perfect interplay between the food preparation and gourmet tastes.

We do take great pride in looking after our guests and are a very dedicated team so I am delighted that you found us accommodating and helpful.

I am pleased to hear that we met your expecations and are recommending others to stay with us!

Best Regards,

Linda Stale
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Good location next to old town area. Could be hard to find at certain times of year (road closures, festivals etc).
Upgraded to a premium room for free.
Aircon in lounge area only and not in bedroom which was upstairs.
Window coverings totally insufficient.
Breakfast simple and basic.
Very helpful staff – ask for whatever you want but no guarantees of success.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Shtale, Manager at Rixwell Domus Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Dgs99,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback with regards to your stay at our hotel in August, I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable time with us.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our free upgrade to two-storey Penthouse that is the best room of our hotel. There are two air-conditioners- one in the lounge as you mentioned and an other in the bedroom on the second floor, both of them should be turned on seperately.

I am sorry to hear that the breakfast did not met your expectations. I would like to point that we are improving our services all the time and I am looking forward to ensure wider choice of meals during your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact me by writing an e-mail to linda.stale@kolonna.com to share your experience and expecations for breakfast at our lovely three star hotel.

Thank you very much for your comment regarding to window coverings. I am happy to inform you that we are redecorating coverings of some rooms and this should be finished within a month!

Looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again!

Kind Regards,

Linda Stale
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Upon arrival we were given the keys to our room on the 2nd Floor. I had ask for a non-smoking room away from the lift. The room was next to the lift. When we opened the door there were 2 doors inside. We looked at both rooms but they were small with twin beds. the bathroom was behind the door. I complained to the man on duty and he told me it was an upgrade with more space but it was obviously a family room. We did not want the room so he showed us to a very large room at the front on the first floor. This had a double bed and sofa and was much brighter. This room is opposite the pub which has loud music weekends. However, once the windows were closed it was quiet enough for us - but we both have hearing problems! Breakfast was good and there was plenty of choice for us. The best thing about the Hotel was the location. There were plenty of restaurants nearby and a big square with a restaurant, bar and stalls selling local crafts. Next door is a really nice coffee shop which is open until quite late. Riga is a nice city and this Old Town area has everything you need. The hotel was obviously an old Soviet one but good enough for the price.

Room Tip: The front rooms can be noisy so ask for a rear one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Konventa Seta Hotel
Konventa Seta Hotel
#29 of 109 in Riga
787 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#36 of 109 in Riga
624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Domus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Domus Hotel

Property: Rixwell Domus Hotel
Address: Tirgonu iela 9, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Kolonna Hotel Riga)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rixwell Domus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Domus Hotel is Garni class hotel in Riga Old Town located between Riga Dome Cathedral and Town Hall. Rixwell Domus Hotel offers 41 comfortable and cozy rooms, with possibility to accommodate up to 108 guests. Hotel is furnished in modern style, preserving the history of the building in the facade and the ancient items exhibited in the hall having been discovered during the reconstruction of the building. The building was built in the end of 19th century as a store. In 20th century building served as optical shop, arts items and furniture shop and even as a shoe factory. Around Rixwell Domus Hotel: Riga Old Town - 0 km Airport - 10 km Central Railway Station - 0,6 km Bus (coach) terminal - 0,5 km Ferry terminal - 1 km Arena Riga - 4,5 km Latvian National Opera - 0,7 km Kipsala exhibition complex - 3 km Jurmala resort - 20 km ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixwell Domus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riga Kolonna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing