We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$253
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rixwell Hotel Konventa Seta(Riga)(Great Value!)
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$102
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (568)
Filter reviews
568 results
Traveler rating
150
265
104
31
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
265
104
31
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent locationold townthe penthousetwo single bedswithin walking distancerestaurants and shopsplace to sleepnice hotelrecommend this hotelbuffet breakfastcentral locationreception stafftrain stationroom was largebeautiful cityclean roomsmin walk
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 568 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel is located pretty much in the centre of Riga, which is a lovely town, but unfortunately is is opposite a very noisy pub. We were there Fri and Sat night, and the pub with loud music blaring into the street shut down 4am Sat and 6am Sunday mornings! BRING EARPLUGS or get a room away from the street!
The staff are nice, and the breakfast is usual euro buffet which is perfectly fine by us.
In room wifi, but no a/c or fridge in room.

Room Tip: Not facing the street. Repeat not facing the street.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I booked this hotel as I got a wonderful price for 2 nights and the tripadvisor reviews.
But let me put some things straight.
1) The hotel is bang in the city center - so can spend a lot of time outside at night without any worry.
2) Got the opportunity to stay in back room. Hence, quiter and nicer.
3) Only twin beds in both the rooms. The beds are too small in width. I wonder how Europeans with their big body structure can fit in to the bed.
4) Rooms are big though and quite comfortable.
5) Toilet is nice but the shower is not satisfactory.
6) Breakfast spread is Ok but they repeat. Hence, not interesting.
7) Special mention of the reception. Fantastic people both in the morning and at night. Always smiling and willing to help.
8) Huge option for eating out.
9) TV monitor very small for viewing.
10) Though near to the bus/train station, but due to cobbled roads quite difficult to carry luggage.

Overall a good experience. But could have been better.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back. Maybe room no 42/43
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srimanta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is nice hotel in center of old Riga. Rooms are large, beds are fine, but pillows are pretty small and bathroom isn't very comfortable - huge washbasin don't let you sit straight on wc. Wifi is free for guests, and there is good level of signal. Staff is friendly and speak English, Russian and Latvian. Breakfast is poor, prepare to it. Regular prices seems high, but I took special offer on booking.com so there was big discount.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rambus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Riga was our last stop for our Russia & Baltic trip in June. We stayed in Kolonna Hotel Riga for 3 nights.

Being situated in the very heart of Riga old town, Kolonna Hotel has its pros and cons. Pros no. 1 is that it is perfectly central in terms of location. You can walk to most places you need (including train station, central bus station, airport bus stop, most sights) in the old town from the hotel in 15 minutes. Restaurants and shops are at the doorstep of the hotel. It is a mid-range hotel with clean and cosy rooms. The staff at the reception are cheerful and attentive.

Because of its central location with restaurants, pubs and bars downstairs, here comes the cons, i.e. the noise problem. We experienced this annoyance ourselves. Upon arrival, we were assigned with a room facing the main street and could not sleep until the loud music and people’s talking noise go off in the mid night even though we close all the windows. Therefore, we requested to change to a room facing the back street. The reception was helpful in accommodating our request and we finally moved to another room facing the back street from the second night. It was much better with this move. Beware that on weekends, the noise will continue until the morning like 5 am.

This hotel can be considered as a nice hotel with the exception of the noise problem.

Room Tip: Much better if you choose a room facing the back street.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forestee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The location of this hotel is just unbeatable, it can't get any better! It's right in the middle of the old city, at a walking distance to everything.

Our room was clean, but very small and the space was badly used. We had also reserved a doublebed, but got separate ones and they couldn't change it to a room with a doublebed - not a huge thing, but a bit annoying.

Staff was helpful and friendly, breakfast wasn't very good... It had the basic incredients, but they weren't too good. It kept your hunger away for couple of hours, but didn't taste too great...

It was very, very cheap and a great value to your money!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miinin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews