We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very enjoyable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ekes Konvents

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ekes Konvents
Ranked #2 of 63 Riga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“very enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed solo in July.
Pro: best location in Riga old cty, adequite breakfast, charming authentic feel.
Piece of advice: if you are sensitive to noise (as I am) book the rooms overlooking St John Cathedral, i.e at the side of the hotel building. If you are after the views, then book the facade rooms, overlooking St Peter Cathedral and the little square with street vendors, etc. Then you will have the good view but will be obliged to listen to amatour street musicians very late.
Special words of graditude to the receptionists - friendly, helpful, professional looking and smart. Well done! Thank you for contributing to my most enjoyable stay at your hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svetlana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    36
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
49
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Amazing location, characterful hotel. Rooms are small but very adequate. Found this little hotel very charming and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

The hotel is in a house that used to be a convent, and has been refurbished fairly recently. It is and old building, with a very medieval layout to the rooms. This makes it quaint and great to come back to at night to put your head now, but don't expect to spend any time here - it is for sleep only. The location cannot be beat - you are literally across the street from St Peters in the middle of Old city.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IgorSlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel was not ever really a convent in the sense usually used--in the 17th century, a merchant endowed a hostel for widows of the guild members. There are nine rooms in the main facility, opposite St. Peter's Church right in the center of the Old Town. The rooms are comfortable and simply but comfortably decorated with full bathrooms and reasonable closet and bathroom space.

You won't be more than a ten minute walk from any other part of Old Town and a few minutes from the park that follows the canal as it winds through town. What's called the "Quiet Centre", and which is where the City's Art Nouveau architecture and design is concentrated, is a 15 or 20 minute walk through the Esplanade. The train and bus station is a ten minute walk away.

My only real suggestion is to ask for a back room, not because there's a lot of street noise, but because, at least when I was there in early June a not-very-good accordionist set himself up every evening in the square near the hotel. I've done Vilnius, Riga and now Tallinn on the way to St. Petersburg and I've got to say that Riga, beautiful and friendly, is a noisier place than the rest of the Baltics but the hotel, flutists and accordionists aside, is a refuge.

The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The included breakfast is served at a nearby hotel is full and good (I see that another reviewer has criticized the breakfast but I found it fine--I'll venture that the Baltics are not a great place for vegetarians, in general).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harmiclir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The location is fantastic, right in the middle of the historic centre of Riga, but in a quiet street (if you disregard the man playing the flute for hours at night, right in front of the hotel). Buffet breakfast is served in a restaurant nearby and was good with enough to choose from. The rooms in the hotel are very small, but nicely decorated and clean, with a lovely bathroom. The only negative points I can think of is the fact that you have to climb lots of stairs with your suitcase, as there is no lift (not surprising of course for an old building, but still) and the staff that gave mixed signals about paying with credit card. Upon arrival, the girl checking us in insisted on cash payment, but the next day, another girl did not have a problem with credit card payment, so we settled our bill with her. The hotel has free wi fi, which did not work very well inside the rooms, but a lot better in the hallways and at reception. A nice hotel to stay at for a few days.

Room Tip: Because of the stairs you have to climb, I would recommend getting a room not too high up in the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nernier, France
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Our stay at Ekes Konvents hotel was a great experience. The hotel is well located in the very historic city center. It is the oldest hotel in Riga and the history is everywhere when you enter. Rooms are not big but spacious enough. We asked for a quiet room and we had a room with a street view on Saint John church which was very quiet as we expected.
Prices were very reasonable compared to other hotel nearby. We would warmly recommend this place for anybody who wants to visit Riga and stay in the old town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Photograph74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed there one night only and enjoyed the hotel. It is a cute little place located in the heart of old Riga.
The room is quite simple and not too large but it is clean and comfortable. The staff however do not know much about Riga and its tourist attractions which was rather disappointing.
The hotel is located in a very busy part of town but there was hardly any noise at night which was very surprising as it is a very popular tourist destination and I was there over the weekend when the weather was excellent.
The breakfast was served in a near by restaurant and it was rather disappointing - there was really little to choose from for vegetarians and if one wants a decent coffee rather than the one sitting on a table for some time, it can be requested but at extra charge.
All in all, I would come back if I am back to Riga.

Room Tip: I thought it was a quiet room but can imagine it is much noisier in the summer time so request a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zsuzsanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#8 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.0 mi away
Konventa Seta Hotel
Konventa Seta Hotel
#31 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#30 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ekes Konvents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekes Konvents

Property: Ekes Konvents
Address: Skarnu iela 22, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ekes Konvents 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ekes Konvents reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing