We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monika Centrum Hotel
Ranked #10 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for the weekend with a group. All the rooms were to be twin but in reality the twin beds are so close together they are also used as doubles. It may be uncomfortable for some people and we had to rearrange the furniture a bit. Reception were friendly and I actually had our room changed to a much larger one but many people didn't bother.
The rooms were clean with basic bathroom amentites. Breakfast had a nice selection with some local dishes.
Distance from the old town was about 20 minutes walk. To the Radission Skyline, maybe 10 minutes. The hotel is in a quiet area and walking back late at night felt very safe.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackcat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 606 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a three night stay in September and found the staff pleasant and helpful, the location excellent (15 minutes' stroll from the Old Town sights, in an area where there are various embassies and a couple of nice parks) other than the traffic noise, which may be a problem in some rooms - we did not hear the traffic, although our room overlooked the road.
The large tree outside our window blocked our view of the park, but that's life!

Room Tip: To avoid the traffic noise issue, ask for a quiet room if you are happy to forgo the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The more I think about it, I realize the hotel isn't horrible, it's just very overrated. My room looked into a light well, which isn't a bad thing, as it can mean the room is quiet, but my light well had a restaurant's exhaust at the bottom, so opening the window meant the room smelled like boiling grease. Unfortunately, the noisy and ineffective air conditioner didn't offer much relief. About 40% of rooms don't have a view, so be careful if you want a view. You may want to request the central lightwell for quiet, instead of the one with the building next door. The hotel had the worst pillows I've ever experienced - it was like trying to use a large sofa cushion for a pillow. The TV really wants you to pay for programs - it takes some doing just to watch regular TV. The best thing about the hotel was the extensive breakfast buffet, although the staff had some difficultly keeping things stocked. There's no change to the menu. The staff was almost comical in their inability to answer the most basic questions. It took two of them to determine there was a grocery store nearby, although they didn't say if it was two blocks up the street, or two miles. When I asked one how to drive to the hotel from Sigluda, he gave me directions to the hotel leading the wrong way down a one-way street, a street that was very close to the hotel! I pointed this out on the map. I don't know if staff were all just hired or had only moved to Riga yesterday, but they really weren't helpful. The hotel won't tell you this, but just up the road a few hundred feet (away from the park) is public parking. It's 4 lats during the day (one on weekends) and free overnight. Much cheaper than the hotel's 10 Euro parking, and then you don't have to deal with getting staff to open the door to their parking. Restaurant KID across the street was delicious, and a good grocery store is just up the road a few hundred feet from the park (and cheaper than Narvesen). I'm sure there are much better options in Riga.

Room Tip: Request a view if you like, or the main lightwell for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BornReisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We spent 4 nights in this hotel, and stayed in 2 different rooms (next door to each other on the 4th floor). This is hotel is the perfect example of why the hotel star rating system needs to be overhauled. This is in no way a 4-star hotel, by any standard. 3-stars at the most.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, in the art nouveau and embassies district, and just a few minutes walk from the wonderful old town.

The staff were mostly friendly, and with a few exceptions, most could communicate in English. They were also helpful and accommodating, if they properly understood the request. Saying this, just about every request was confirmed but never delivered on. There is no shampoo or conditioner in the bathrooms, in fact there is nothing other than the wall mounted soap dispenser - which required several hundred pumps to get a handfull of soap - and child sized towels. The AC didn't work, the TV was moderate size - although the only English language channels are CNN and BBC News. The room service does not operate 24 hours, and there are no menus in the room. And then there was the wifi, that just didn't work in our room...

The first room we were in included a kettle and coffee and tea, but the second room we were in, didn't and requesting this facility was not possible.

The rooms were otherwise nice and clean, restored to original condition every day by the cleaning staff. And the view from room 403 is fantastic, looking out over the park.

Breakfast in the restaurant, Sokrates, was ok. Nothing special, and at times out right unpleasant with bus loads of tourists being dropped off for breakfast demolishing the buffet. The layout of the tables and buffet are not very efficient and this caused a lot of waiting and bumping into people - not to mention the world's slowest bread toaster. The lunch/dinner menu was ok, a bit of something for everyone, although again the food was underwhelming/bland - although decent portions. I wouldn't recommend eating main meals at Sokrates, rather advise you dine at Lido which serves fantastic food at a bargain - self-service with great atmosphere.

This hotel, with the great location, has great potential to be a top hotel. It's just missing that memorable experience, with everything being ok.

Room Tip: Ask for the park view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sacha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Monika Centrum Hotel. The hotel is located in a nice and quite area in Riga on the same road of some foreign embassies, close to the Old Town yet far away from the noise.
The rooms were comfortable, spacious and very clean and the staff were friendly, and the cleaning staff cleaned the room every day and replaced towels. The breakfast was good with lots of options.
The hotel looks a bit old inside and in need of maintenance, but that is just my feeling. The only thing we didn't like is the beds. Not sure if its possible to get a proper double bed in the hotel, first room we tried just had two single beds stuck together, and then we requested to change and second room was the same so we just stayed there although that was disappointing and a bit uncomfortable.

Still, I would recommend the hotel for its location and good standard.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is very well situated in the quiet and art nouveau area of the city, separated by a park with the old city center.
Superb breakfast, friendly people.
Nice bathroom, but a bit dusty bedroom and dated bar.
We had a room in the back, meaning that it was extremely quiet, but the sight by daylight was awfull.

Room Tip: If you want a nice view on the park, specify it at reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Hotel Monika Centrum offered great service during our four days vacation in Riga. It's conveniently located about 1,5 kilometers or 10 minutes walk from the old town of Riga.

There are a few restaurants very nearby, even though this embassy area of Riga was peaceful in the evenings.

Taxi to the old town cost about 4 LVL, but you can walk there easily through the park too.

Breakfast was better than usually in 3-star city hotels; several types of cold cuts, breads, vegetables, fruits and eggs. There were also bacon, some sausage and yoghurt. I also liked their apple and orange juices and coffee, and breakfast being available until 10 AM (on weekdays) and 11 AM (on weekends). The breakfast was quite crowded, though.

Some reviews touted spacious rooms, but our standard 2-persons room on 4th floor room was very small. It was clean and had a balcony, so I was satisfied.

The staff was friendly and spoke English well enough. They offered good tips about getting a taxi and popular restaurants nearby.

The red sightseeing hop-on-hoff-of bus stops just next to the Monika Centrum hotel. It was a handy way to see the most popular places for the first time.

The hotel offers a complimentary wireless network (WiFi) for guests. It worked very well in the lobby and our 4th floor room.

It was quite quiet during our stay, so the lobby bar was mostly empty during our stay. it was interesting to note drinks were more affordable there than in our minibar.

Hint for first time visitors in Riga: If you uss a taxi; choose the green or red ones who really drive based on a meter. Otherwise remember to negotiate the price in advance. We were charged 27 LVL for taxi from the airport, when the approriate price would have been around 10 LVL.

Hint 2: Vincent's Restaurant is just a few meters walk from the Monika Centrum hotel. It offered our best fine dining dinner in Riga. It's quite expensive, but worth the money for special occasions.

Room Tip: Ask for a special room with a balcony and with more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tero Lehto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.8 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
1 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#15 of 111 in Riga
955 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 111 in Riga
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#11 of 111 in Riga
601 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.7 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 111 in Riga
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monika Centrum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monika Centrum Hotel

Address: Elizabetes iela 21, Riga 1010, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#22 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#29 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range: $54 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monika Centrum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being thousands of kilometres away from home and still feeling welcome, enjoying the homey cosiness and comfort? Monika Centrum Hotels has taken care of that by inviting you to one of its hotels. The hotel Monika Centrum Hotels in Riga is located in the cultural and historical centre of Riga, the capital of Latvia, encircled by one of Europe's most eminent block of buildings in Art Nouveau style, which gathers the most distinguished elements of this architecture and lifestyle, the splendid Kronvalda Park, erected in late 19th century, with the decoratively arranged banks of Riga Canal and the rich array of trees and shrubs, the embassies of many countries, the ever-lively Port of Riga and the sports hub - Arena Riga. The 4-star Monika Centrum Hotels in Riga is set in the Neo-Gothic building from 1883 and located 500 metres from the Old Town of Riga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monika Centrum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monika Centrum Riga
Hotel Monika Centrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing