We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and beautiful hotel”
Review of Europa Royale Riga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Europa Royale Riga
Ranked #38 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights at the end of September, beginning of October. Hotel was perfectly located for seeing Riga - a 5 minute walk from the Old town, and 5 minute walk to the Skyline Bar for the views.

The hotel itself is a lovely old building with each room having high ceilings. We stayed in a twin room as requested, and the staff were always extremely helpful and courteous with any questions. This hotel is going to be more attractive for the older traveller, or possibly couples, rather than big groups of lads on stag weekends.

The room had a couple of problems, with a loose panel on the bath/shower and a small mark on the wall, but apart from this it was just what was needed - plenty of storage space, good facilities.

It also has a smoking lounge if required - we were put near there which made the corridor smell badly, but the smell didn't get into the room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrLinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 442 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2010

Really nice hotel, good location, big and comfortable room and bathroom, nice service, good breakfest, good internet, no noise. I even found lithuanian TV channel which made me feel like at home.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller131341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Me and my partner has just stayed in this 4 star hotel for 2 nights and we would not recommend it. The first room we got offered had 2 single beds although we ordered one double bed and tiny tiny windows. We then asked for a double bed and a room with a window and a double bed we got and a window looking straight into another window. The room was dark but the interiors were ok. The bulidling itself is beautiful and the location is also ok, just a short walk into old town. Breakfast is ok, nothing to brag about though.The receptionists at this hotel were also so unhelpful, everytime we asked something they would answer: I do not know, you need to look in the brochure. You could clearly see that they had no interest in helping. In general we found people very unfriendly in Riga. Would not go again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globalhelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Rooms are majestic, prices are affordable to most moderate budget travelers. Service is excellent for Latvian standards. Location is convenient, and in close proximity to most attractions. Complimentary breakfast was a pleasant surprise. What else one needs?
I would recommend this hotel to all type of travelers.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
Thank PShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Just returned from a 3 night break to Riga with two other couples. The Europa is ideally situated for the old town, a 10 minute stroll from the Opera and the Freedom Monument. The rooms were spacious with either a double or 2 twin beds, large bathroom with bath and shower, everything was spotlessly clean, and the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful, as our flight wasn't until late evening we organised a late check out for a small fee. Our room overlooked the courtyard and was quite peaceful, although 2 of our friends were nearer the fron room and were slightly troubled by noise from the trams. Breakfast had just about everything you could want and was served at a reasonable time. We all enjoyed Riga and the Europa Royale, in fact the only complaint was that the key cards needed re-coding daily.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayde a week at Europa Royale in Riga, we had a room as big as our house, realy spacius.. There was a wery good atmosfere at the hotel, And the receptionist Liga Klavina is so ekseptionel good, that se alone will make os come back to this hotel.!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larsks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Ideally located the hotel has attractive public spaces particularly the terrace on a warm sunny day. The desk staff are efficient and helpful and the rooms are of a reasonable size and clean and the beds are comfortable. Our bathroom was quite large and because of a large window nice and bright. Our teenager's bathroom was too dark. The windows effectively keep out the tram noise from the street. The rooms are decorated in dark colours which can make them seem a little gloomy and the lighting is poor. There are fixtures and lamps but the wattage on the bulbs is so low (or they are burnt out) that we resorted to a flashlight to find things in our suitcases. The reading lights are dim enough to make sure you give up that novel and go to sleep early! Breakfast was good. We did not use the dining room prefering a quick walk back in to old town. All in all a comfortable hotel that could use a just little more attention to detail.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
Thank Trippinbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.8 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#10 of 111 in Riga
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#17 of 111 in Riga
956 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#11 of 111 in Riga
601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#28 of 111 in Riga
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Royale Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Royale Riga

Address: Kri jana Barona iela 12, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Riga
#10 Family Hotel in Riga
#11 Business Hotel in Riga
#20 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#33 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: $40 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Royale Riga 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Europa Royale in Riga is not just an average 4* hotel. It is an historic and cultural monument of national importance and pride to every Riga citizen. The building dates back to 1876 and once was owned by uncrowned royal couple of Latvia, Emilija and Antons Benjamins. We offer you a unique possibility to touch and find magnificent treasures like largest Venetian chandelier in the entire Baltic region, restored fireplaces, original ceiling decor, wooden staircase, stained glass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Europa Royale Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Royale Riga Hotel Riga
Europa Royale Hotel Riga
Riga Europa Royale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing