We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central and good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Europa Royale Riga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Europa Royale Riga
Ranked #37 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Central and good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

A very nice hotel experience close to Riga Center.
Plus for nice decor and atmosphere, nice rooms and friendly staff.
I'd definitively come here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cieon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    145
    49
    20
    5
See reviews for
51
161
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Central location, this may be the only positive thing with this Hotel. rooms can be also considered as abig one. Be ready for breakfast experience, as place arranged for that is not well prepared to handel the quests. So, be ready for a queue for tea or coffee. It happened that even tabels were not enough for all the quests coming in the morning. So, average Hotel, for one night stay, not more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaza64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Our review is similar to chopsgma's. The room was huge, even had a small sitting room attached, with many windows overlooking the park.Big terrycloth robes and slippers were provided and the hot water was plentiful. We were on a 2 week tour of the Baltics and the Europa was hands down the best hotel with the best breakfast buffet. And, it's close to Old Town in one direction and the best of Art Nouveau buildings in another. Wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gjear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

I had read some poor reviews on tripadvisor about this hotel, but it had parking, which was one of our main concerns, so that's where we went, a bit apprehensively. Much to my surprise, it was quite fine. The room was spacious and comfortable, it had both hot and cold water (which somebody had complained about) and overlooked a beautiful park. Service was fine and the restaurant excellent. My only complaint was that the key cards didn't always work, especially in the elevator, but other than that, I would have no qualms about staying here on our next trip to Riga. Location was a bit far from the old town, but certainly walkable.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and room was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

The hotel may boast 4 stars, but I wouldn't give our room even one star. It is dark and depressing with a tiny window. To see the sky you have to lean out of the window. The colours are dark and dingy. But worst of all, the water pressure is so poor we cannot take a proper shower. We are currently on a tour of the baltics and this is our fourth hotel on the trip. It is by far the most disappointing. All the negative comments contained in other reviews we would agree with. Even the breakfast buffet, which is extensive, contains much which is inedible. Furthermore, we have to wait for clean dishes. They don't seem to have enough chinaware and cutlery. There is never a greeting from the surly staff when entering reception. Our room is in the "new wing". There are wooden rafters bursting through the room from floor to ceiling. I am given to understand that the best rooms are in the older part of the building. Therefore, this hotel is essentially both four star and one star - it depends which room you have. This explains why the reviews are so mixed. We cannot wait to leave this place.

Room Tip: Insist on being accommodated in the old part of the hotel. Look at the room before you agree to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkWorldtraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

This former mansion has been beautifully restored; the staircases are stunning. My room was booked through a tour, overlooked the city garden, was enormous and beautifully furnished. For a single traveler, that's a rarity in Europe. It's close enough to the old town to be convenient. Breakfast was good, in lovely rooms. I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chopsgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
495 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed 3 nights in Room 202 at the Europa Royale Hotel. My room was nicely furnished and very large with high ceilings, a big bathroom and 2 twin beds. Check-in was lightning fast, and the breakfast buffet in the very grand Benjamin Restaurant was quite good. This hotel is across the street from a beautiful park, and well-located for visiting Riga's charming Old Town. I'd love to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Astor Riga Hotel & Conference
0.8 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#18 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Royale Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Royale Riga

Property: Europa Royale Riga
Address: Krishjana Barona iela 12, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Riga
#19 Family Hotel in Riga
#20 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#32 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Royale Riga 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Europa Royale in Riga is not just an average 4* hotel. It is an historic and cultural monument of national importance and pride to every Riga citizen. The building dates back to 1876 and once was owned by uncrowned royal couple of Latvia, Emilija and Antons Benjamins. We offer you a unique possibility to touch and find magnificent treasures like largest Venetian chandelier in the entire Baltic region, restored fireplaces, original ceiling decor, wooden staircase, stained glass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Europa Royale Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Royale Riga Hotel Riga
Europa Royale Hotel Riga
Riga Europa Royale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing