We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royale? hotel?”
Review of Europa Royale Riga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Europa Royale Riga
Ranked #39 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Central location, this may be the only positive thing with this Hotel. rooms can be also considered as abig one. Be ready for breakfast experience, as place arranged for that is not well prepared to handel the quests. So, be ready for a queue for tea or coffee. It happened that even tabels were not enough for all the quests coming in the morning. So, average Hotel, for one night stay, not more.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zaza64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for Europa Royale Riga
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 428 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

Our review is similar to chopsgma's. The room was huge, even had a small sitting room attached, with many windows overlooking the park.Big terrycloth robes and slippers were provided and the hot water was plentiful. We were on a 2 week tour of the Baltics and the Europa was hands down the best hotel with the best breakfast buffet. And, it's close to Old Town in one direction and the best of Art Nouveau buildings in another. Wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gjear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I had read some poor reviews on tripadvisor about this hotel, but it had parking, which was one of our main concerns, so that's where we went, a bit apprehensively. Much to my surprise, it was quite fine. The room was spacious and comfortable, it had both hot and cold water (which somebody had complained about) and overlooked a beautiful park. Service was fine and the restaurant excellent. My only complaint was that the key cards didn't always work, especially in the elevator, but other than that, I would have no qualms about staying here on our next trip to Riga. Location was a bit far from the old town, but certainly walkable.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and room was perfect.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The hotel may boast 4 stars, but I wouldn't give our room even one star. It is dark and depressing with a tiny window. To see the sky you have to lean out of the window. The colours are dark and dingy. But worst of all, the water pressure is so poor we cannot take a proper shower. We are currently on a tour of the baltics and this is our fourth hotel on the trip. It is by far the most disappointing. All the negative comments contained in other reviews we would agree with. Even the breakfast buffet, which is extensive, contains much which is inedible. Furthermore, we have to wait for clean dishes. They don't seem to have enough chinaware and cutlery. There is never a greeting from the surly staff when entering reception. Our room is in the "new wing". There are wooden rafters bursting through the room from floor to ceiling. I am given to understand that the best rooms are in the older part of the building. Therefore, this hotel is essentially both four star and one star - it depends which room you have. This explains why the reviews are so mixed. We cannot wait to leave this place.

Room Tip: Insist on being accommodated in the old part of the hotel. Look at the room before you agree to take...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UkWorldtraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This former mansion has been beautifully restored; the staircases are stunning. My room was booked through a tour, overlooked the city garden, was enormous and beautifully furnished. For a single traveler, that's a rarity in Europe. It's close enough to the old town to be convenient. Breakfast was good, in lovely rooms. I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chopsgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed 3 nights in Room 202 at the Europa Royale Hotel. My room was nicely furnished and very large with high ceilings, a big bathroom and 2 twin beds. Check-in was lightning fast, and the breakfast buffet in the very grand Benjamin Restaurant was quite good. This hotel is across the street from a beautiful park, and well-located for visiting Riga's charming Old Town. I'd love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had a great stay here on a great location in a beautiful hotel nearby the old city. Lot to do nearby. Hotel and rooms are good. breakfast nice. Price/quality is super!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elkemartijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.5 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#12 of 110 in Riga
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Opera Hotel & Spa
Opera Hotel & Spa
#35 of 110 in Riga
778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Riga Centre
Ibis Riga Centre
#36 of 110 in Riga
199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#44 of 110 in Riga
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Royale Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Royale Riga

Address: Kri jana Barona iela 12, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Riga
#11 Business Hotel in Riga
#19 Family Hotel in Riga
#20 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#34 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: $49 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Royale Riga 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Europa Royale in Riga is not just an average 4* hotel. It is an historic and cultural monument of national importance and pride to every Riga citizen. The building dates back to 1876 and once was owned by uncrowned royal couple of Latvia, Emilija and Antons Benjamins. We offer you a unique possibility to touch and find magnificent treasures like largest Venetian chandelier in the entire Baltic region, restored fireplaces, original ceiling decor, wooden staircase, stained glass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Royale Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Royale Riga Hotel Riga
Europa Royale Hotel Riga
Riga Europa Royale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing