We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great location”
Review of Europa Royale Riga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Europa Royale Riga
Ranked #41 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Norway, Norway
Level Contributor
168 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great location”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Great location - walking distance to the old town, markeds and new shopping malls. Nice rooms, good breakfast and good service from the staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterflies22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    155
    49
    21
    7
See reviews for
56
170
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I spent three nights at the Europa Royale Riga in a beautiful Historic Room. My colleagues stayed in a deluxe room which was also very comfortable. The modern bathrooms are great. The hotel was warm (especially important when the outside temperature is -25 degrees Celsius), the beds comfortable and the facilities were as described. The hotel is perfectly located and it is worth a short stroll across the park to the outstanding (and beautifully decorated) Bibliotek Restaurant or around the block to the excellent Bergs Restaurant in a beautiful small charming square.
The hotel also has a Casino where the staff were quite charming when engaged and we enjoyed having a fliutter for a few hours. There is also a Karaoke Bar which can be a laugh. The Bar on the first floor is comfortable but lacks atmosphere - lighting the big open fireplace would have been a welcome touch. Overall the Europa Riga is a good option, especially for the price which was very reasonable. The free Wi-Fi was good quality and an added bonus.

Room Tip: Deluxe or Historical Room. Standard rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LWCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Hotel in a good location right across the street from a beautiful park. Close to old-town and various shops. very nice rooms, lovely decorated in a warm style. Good breakfast. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TruY_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

The hotel building is a former mansion so the rooms are very spacious with unusually high ceilings. Quite cozy although a bit chilly in the winter (but must feel good when it is hot outside). The great thing about the bathroom is the heated floor (again, we appreciated it particularly because of the cold weather). Free wi-fi is another useful thing.

Breakfast was wonderful (smoked salmon, pineapples, strawberries, pancakes, delicious pastry) and it was great to have it in a 19th-century interior.

The hotel is not exactly in the Old Town but a walk there takes a mere 7 minutes or so and generally most attractions are within walking distance

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Another great period in Hotel Europa Royale after I was there last summer. We arrived 24th of December... We had there a superb Christmasmenu for 23€! We had other rooms on 2nd floor, last summer it was on First floor. Again they were very spacious, clean and with wonderfull beds :-).

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor are more quiet then on 1st floor, and surely ask to have rooms at the side of Bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyke74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It's outside the old town but only 5 minutes walk away. It's also opposite a nice park and on the far side of the park is the city palace.
The hotel itself is very grand with high ceilings and ornate banisters and cornices etc. The beds in the rooms are large as are the bathrooms and everything is very clean.
My only complaint was the noise. Some nights you could hear people in the rooms above you walking around due to the wooden floors - but this only happened 1 night out of 3 for our stay so it was not that noticeable.
The breakfast was extremely european! By that I mean there were lots of cheeses and meats that would not be common at a UK/Ire or US hotel breakfast buffet. There was always fresh bread however and juices as well as coffee and tea and fresh fruit was also on offer.
The staff were friendly and spoke excellent english ( as did everyone in Riga ).
Also, the hotel has free wifi which is useful if you're trying to research where to go for dinner that night!
My only advise would be to request a room at the front of the building, not only for the view of the park and the main street but also to avoid any potential noise from late night visitors to the casino behind the hotel, although I don't believe it stays open very late anyway.
All in all, a nice grand hotel that met our needs at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Front of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Booked a visit to Riga for a post christmas leisure break with my husband. Booked the Europa Royale Riga hotel due to its excellent reviews. We arrived at the hotel fairly latish and were shown to a room which was a little disappointing but after a quick phonecall to reception we were moved to a deluxe room overlooking the park, which was fantastic....massive bed, beautiful decor and impeccably clean.
Breakfast was delicious with a very varied selection.
The real beauty of this hotel is the location as it is close to the bus and train stations/ the old town/Central Market and the shopping malls. It also has a park on the doorstep with lovely walks along the river.
Riga is not a huge place and a couple of days was plenty given the cold weather!..but we had a wonderful weekend, and a sauna in the hotel was just perfect for warming up after a days sightseeing!
Everyone we encountered were friendly and spoke excellent english..we did master "Paldies"...which went a long a way! We had lovely meals out including "Ribs and Rock" restaurant, and "Il Patio". We were also fortunate as we caught the last eekend of the christmas markets which were beautiful and festive...and served amazing Gluhwein!!!!!
Don't go to Riga thinking its a cheap destination, eating and drinking is pretty much on par with the majority of european Capitals.....but this beautiful little place is well worth a visit if you want a relaxed, chilled leisure break.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to say if you are unhappy with your room, the staff are very accomodating. We st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laviniajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#43 of 109 in Riga
444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#12 of 109 in Riga
494 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Garden Palace
Hotel Garden Palace
#63 of 109 in Riga
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Royale Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Royale Riga

Property: Europa Royale Riga
Address: Kri jana Barona iela 12, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Riga
#19 Family Hotel in Riga
#20 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#34 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Royale Riga 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Europa Royale in Riga is not just an average 4* hotel. It is an historic and cultural monument of national importance and pride to every Riga citizen. The building dates back to 1876 and once was owned by uncrowned royal couple of Latvia, Emilija and Antons Benjamins. We offer you a unique possibility to touch and find magnificent treasures like largest Venetian chandelier in the entire Baltic region, restored fireplaces, original ceiling decor, wooden staircase, stained glass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Europa Royale Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Royale Riga Hotel Riga
Europa Royale Hotel Riga
Riga Europa Royale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing