We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riga Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Riga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riga Hostel
Ranked #21 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good for price”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights. Great location. Hostel is located opposite the train station. Inside the train station building there is a large Rimi supermarket - open until midnight. If you like junk food you will be happy - on the ground floor there is McDonald's. The hostel is close to the city center.
Amazing staff, friendly and very helpful.
Breakfasts are OK: cereal, jam, processed cheese. Coffee and tea are available for the whole day.
The price includes towels. You can borrow a hairdryer at the reception. Wifi is available in the rooms. The rooms are quite noisy (the hostel is located on the main street), so it is necessary to close the windows at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    24
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
18
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hostel is great. Very nice desk lady welcomed me in the hostel and advised what to see in Riga. The room was very simple, but clean and comfortable. Bathrooms were available in few places. Mine was next to my room so I felt like it was my private one. Breakfest was very nice. Choice of jams and other vegetable dishes. Coffe and tea available for the whole day for free. There was no problem with leaving the bag after check out. I recomand with all my heart.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piotrkoczara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I spent 3 nights in this hostel. It is a very valuable place to stay in the heart of Riga. You can reach the city center in around 10 minutes on foot. Oposite to the hostel there is a railway station and Rimi market, where you can buy anything you need to eat or drink.
The staff is amazing, always nice and smiling. There is a free of charge wifi connection. The rooms are simple, but very comfortable and clean. If I ever come back to Riga I will defenitely stay in Riga Hostel once again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofly84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2012

rather clean hostel with all the needed facilities available. nice location and free breakfast gives it a plus.
Staff is nothing special though. Though not unkind, they didn't seem too open for conversation either. Especially that reception guy with funny haircut turned out to be a total nutcase. Accidentally pressing the reception bell resulted in an irritated "dont do that"and any question was answered with a "why do you ask?".
Showers and toilets were nice and clean and computers slow but safe with linux.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wopreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2012

In Riga Hostel I experienced very good treatment by working staff. This obviously is hostel, not hotel, so demands or expectations should be reasonable. Hostel was clean (rooms, common area and bathrooms as well), staff was friendly both in terms of helping You in sightseeing and Riga's nightlife. In common room You can meet many socializing youths, so it's no problem if You travel alone and just want to meet some new people. I also checked-in early without any additional fee, which was very nice as I came there tired after long night in Belgium.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Przemyslaw L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

the last trip to the baltics, was riga, and the place where the hostel was, was great, near everything. the rooms were big and causy, the living room also was nice, you can meet people from all over the world, smoke water pipe and watch television and also to have a great conversation.

the only minus is, if you are living on the last floor, and there isn't elevator inside.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thanasis89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2009

The Riga hostel is in a nice location in the old town of Riga so everything is quite near.
In the downstairs of the building is a night club where you shoudn't go, but the night club otherwise does not make any problems. The staff in the hostel is nice and helpfull. The rooms are basic and there is everything you need. But you can hear quite well to the other rooms. The hostel has five floors and no elevator in use. Overall I would recommend the hostel if you are looking for inexpensive accomodation in the center of Riga and don't need anything extraspecial.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aniit_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
707 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Avalon
Hotel Avalon
#14 of 109 in Riga
880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riga Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riga Hostel

Property: Riga Hostel
Address: Marstalu iela 12, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing