We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room, Dirty Water”
Review of PK Riga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PK Riga Hotel
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinoi
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Room, Dirty Water”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were thrilled to get a huge room, as our friends had average sized to small rooms. However, every time I turned on the water to have a bath, it came out not only orange but with actual pieces of what looked like dirt. I ran it for awhile but it still came out dirty. A few hours later it was all right, but then a few hours after THAT it was dirty again! I told the girl at the desk, who scoffed at me and said "just run it longer." Then she turned and smirked at a young man she had been flirting with. Not good. Our friends in the small rooms did not have the problem, so we had to choose: huge room or clean water.

The location wasn't that hot as it was a 20 minute walk to the Old Town. However, there was some great architecture within a 1/4 mile radius of the hotel, not to mention a Wal-Mart type place 1/2 a mile to the left!

Breakfast was fine, as was the restaurant attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharonov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0037167631801, Front Office Manager at PK Riga Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Sharonov!

First of all I would like to thank you about sharing your opinion about our hotel and giving the highest mark in sleep quality.
We are very sorry about your bad experiance in our hotel but unfortunately there is nothing we can do about water quality as it is connected with the central pipe system in the town. Although we are using our filter system local water pipes are very old and sometimes the colors are connected to the state of water pipes. You had the biggest room in our hotel which is used only for special occasions not so often, that could be the reason why there were still some residues left in the water pipes. Therefore you might have had this unpleasent experiance which we apologize for.
Thank you for your precious comment and we hope to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
Zane Jermacane
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    268
    87
    32
    13
See reviews for
86
178
66
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Hotel is fine, rooms are clean - although not that large, and despite bathrooms being quite big mine didn't have a bath, just a shower. The front desk staff are very helpful. The restaurant is also good, if expensive. Cheaper options are available nearby if you prefer. The hotel is not far from the centre(10-15mins), and close to the tram route, but it isn't Central if thats what you want. The walk is through a pleasant park, but as nights draw in and temperatures drop it might be a consideration.

Worthwhile to know that there is a supermarket about 100 yds from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0037167631801, Regional Sales Manager Riga & Tallinn at PK Riga Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear JonA3,

Thank You for your positive review. We are pleased to hear that you find our hotel nice as well as give highest estimate for cleaness. Our bathrooms are either with showertub or with bathtub, which all are with heated floors, hair dryers, towel dryers, courtesy set. If you prefer to have bathtub, rather then showertub, please, do indicate that when making a booking and we, upon availability, will note that when assigning a room for you. Thank You for highest evaluation of our staff and service, we will work on keeping the same high service also for future as well as you did like our Restaurant. It is nice to hear you did like a location, which is the most prestige in a city and as you say, within a short walking distance to the old town.

We do hope to host You in Domina Inn Riga again!

Kindest regards,
Solvita Abola
Regional Sales Manager Riga and Tallinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

When I got there, 4pm, they told they had to move to another hotel (Albert hotel) because they had some kind of problem with electricity in my room. I told them to give me another room, but they said it wasn't possible.. although I saw the list of people to check in that day, and A LOT were not there yet. In addition, a business colleague was staying and the same hotel but had not arrived yet (different flights) and they told me the he will stay there but I had to go to Albert hotel... ¿?¿?. Anyway, I went there for the first night and came back to Domina inn for 3 nights more. Albert hotel is nice, but it's a 3 stars.. and Domina inn is 4. I booked for a 4 star hotel and had to spend 1st night in a 3 one for their mistake. I didn't like that.

Well, when I came back the first gave me a small room, no air conditioning.. I had to complain and they moved be to a better (standard) room. So I had the feeling that they were trying to fool me twice during my stay. At then end, the room was ok, bathroom ok, breakfast ok and location 15-20 minute walk to old city. Staff was nice and helpful with needed (despite the checking and the first small room). I have to go back to Riga in a few weeks, and I will choose Albert hotel: cheaper and had no problems at all.

Restaurant (dinner) has very good food, but poor service (nice guys but really slow).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holdenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0037167631801, Regional Sales Manager Riga and Tallinn at PK Riga Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear Holdenn,

Thank You for your review.
We are very sorry that we were not able to offer a stay for all nights in our Hotel, as we faced technical problems and we couldn’t change a room as these were other room categories avaialble only, which were booked already.
Majority of rooms are with airconditioning and from middle of September all the rooms will be airconditioned, size of classic rooms, which is (17 up to 24 m2) differs a bit, as this is renovated architectural building, but we are happy to hear that afterwards you liked the room, bathroom and breakfast as well as location and food in Restaurant Da Antonio. Thank You for bringing to our attention about the service speed in the Restaurant, as knowing it will help us improving it in the future.
We are very sorry, if you felt bad about this situation and in hopes of hosting you again when you are back to Riga in a few weeks, I would gladly prepare a bottle of champagne to compensate for the inconveniences caused. In this case I would ask you to send your reservation to solvita@dominahotels.lv.
We really do hope to host You in Domina Inn Riga!

Sincerely Yours,
Solvita Abola
Regional Sales Manager Riga and Tallinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Based on the reviews we expected a bit more of the Domina Inn. The hotel is a bit run down with old carpets in the rooms and overused furniture. The tea and coffee in the room costs three euros (per day). There is only a sign informing you of this at the reception. The breakfast is good, but the room is too small for all the guests. The service at the reception varies. The porters provided very good service. Dinner in the restaurant was tasty and the waiters were great. The location is wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0037167631801, Regional Sales Manager Riga and Tallinn at PK Riga Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear Louise B,

Thank You for Your comments on Domina Inn Riga, which in this case confirms for us that our planned works on refreshing a Hotel already in closest future are right in place.
Tea and coffee making facilities are free of charge in certain room categories, so as you did have it in your room you could use it with no additional payment. This service can be ordered for rooms where we do not offer it included in price, then it costs 3eur / per day and it can be ordered in reception.
Good to hear that most reception staff shows good service, but as for us the most important is satisfied client, we will work on every detail, so that service wouldn’t vary, but always be high.
We are happy to hear that you find our breakfast buffet good, our porter service very good, dinner in Restaurant Da Antonio tasty, waiters service great and location wonderful.

I do hope you stay with us when visiting our city on your next trip!

Sincerely Yours,
Solvita Abola
Regional Sales Manager Riga and Tallinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ga
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

\if you are traveling with children, get the jr suite. the other rooms appear too small for restles littlel ones. the jr suite is larger. breakfasts are great--fresh fruit, good coffee, meats, cheeses, pasteries, eggs, and the list goes on..Even a finnicky eater should be able to find something that they like.

the location is an easy walk through the park to old riga--15 minutes perhaps.

atm located close by and a grocery store as well. hotel staff are very accomodating and speal great English.

this is the quietest and best sleep i have had in the 20 days i have been in latvia! beds are comfortable and rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0037167631801, Regional Sales Manager Riga and Tallinn at PK Riga Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear travelinstarr,

Thank You for your throughout wonderful comments. Satisfied Guest is our highest reward.
Thank You for suggestion to other travellers with children about room category choice – junior suite rooms are really very suitable as are very spacious with 2 seperate rooms, a good option is also superior rooms which are spacious and there we can put an ekstra bed for a children. We are happy to hear you did like a breakfast a lot - we will continue keeping the same many wide range of food and quality, of course. Nice to know you do like loaction of the Hotel, which really is easy reachable to all main landmarks of city, that you enjoyed the service and had so good sleep in our comfortable beds.

We hope to host Your family in Domina Inn Riga again!

Warm regards,
Solvita Abola
Regional Sales Manager Riga and Tallinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We only stayed for one night but really enjoyed it. The hotel was clean, well-run, and well appointed. We loved the location near the Art Nouveau district. The front desk staff was very professional and answered all of our questions. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0037167631801, Regional Sales Manager Riga and Tallinn at PK Riga Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear addie1979,

Thank you for your positive feedback! We are pleased to hear you really enjoyed your stay with us and your comments will help us ensure we keep on offering high service.
You are always warmly welcome back in Domina Inn Riga!

Warmest regards,
Solvita Abola
Regional Sales Manager Riga and Tallinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I usually don't sleep too well in beds other than my own, but this hotel was actally very ok in that regard (or maybe I was way too tired?). Nice rooms, very clean, bathroom very clean. Absolutely fine. Except we had our 5-year old son with us and the extra beds mattress he was given had basically just the covering on top of the springs. Well, obviously unusable unless you are a fakir, which my son isn't:P
Breakfast was good, the usual continental. Overall, good price, nice place, very clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pagaripiparkook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0037167631801, Regional Sales Manager Riga and Tallinn at PK Riga Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear pagaripiparkook,

Thank You for your valuable review.
We are pleased to hear that you did have a good sleep in our Hotel and a bit prising ourselves I can tell that we hear quite ofter that clients like matrasses in our Hotel.
We will see the covering of extra beds to be changed to regular blankets for future.
We are glad to see you was satisfied with a room, bathroom, breakfast and find our Hotel a value for money.

We look forward hosting You again in Domina Inn Riga!

With best regards,
Solvita Abola
Regional Sales Manager Riga and Tallinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#11 of 109 in Riga
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#23 of 109 in Riga
867 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Janne
Hotel Janne
#32 of 109 in Riga
135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
1.6 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PK Riga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK Riga Hotel

Property: PK Riga Hotel
Address: Pulkve_a Brie_a iela 11, Riga 1010, Latvia (Formerly Domina Inn Riga)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Riga
#15 Family Hotel in Riga
#19 Business Hotel in Riga
#21 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#23 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — PK Riga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PK Riga Hotel presents historical beauty through contemporary elegance. Conveniently located in the quiet centre of Riga in the Art Nouveau neighbourhood, the 88 rooms hotel is within a very short walking distance from the Old Town. Our hotel offers a wide range of services, including restaurant, SPA Center, meeting room for up to 35 people, parking, and full WiFi coverage. Our aim is to be the preferred choice for partners who require quality facilities, professional, individual and friendly service, flexibility and loyalty in cooperation. PK Riga Hotel will be everything you expect from a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your PK Riga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Inn Riga Hotel Riga
Domina Hotel Riga
Riga Domina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing