We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in Riga”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old City Boutique Hotel
Ranked #32 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a great hotel for exploring Riga, it is a very short walk to all the sight’s, St John’s Church, St Peters and the main squares. I arrived in Riga by coach, with the coach station by the central market and it only takes a very short walk to get to the Hotel. Another advantage about the location of the hotel is that it is near an indoor shopping centre which has places to eat, a bank for exchanging money and a very large and cheap supermarket.

Everything about the hotel was good although the room I had seemed a little tired with stains on the floor and in need of a little spruce up. The room also faced an inner courtyard, although there wasn’t any noise from the courtyard, the window could be left open, there was no natural light and this made the room dark during the day. But that should not put you off this hotel, as it is a great base for Riga.

The breakfast was very good and had a choice from cereals, fruit and hot food, there is free internet connection on a Desktop in the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rayeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 782 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

A 5 minute walk from the Bus Terminal and your are at a pleasant hotel in the old town. Very helpful staff. One of them even carried my case to my room! The room was air conditioned and spacious with a safe, an iron and ironing board. The bathroom was comfortable with a proper shower cabinet! What's more - the bathroom floor is heated! What more can you ask for? An outstanding breakfast? Well you get that too, generous and delicious - cooked with love, I say! I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akhter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

ROOM. We've tried two rooms. The first of them was more beautiful than the second one, but it was cold there. We've contacted to Reception and room was changed in 10 minutes. Both of them were clean and cosh. Unfortunately, we had the perfect opportunity to hear all our neighbors. Most of them were Russian-speaking people who were "fighting against the alcohol" all the time. Yet I'm sure it isn't Hotel's fault. There is a high probability you will met the same picture in other hotels of Riga.
HOTEL. This place gives you a pleasant feeling. May be, even homey feeling. I can't say exactly why it's so, but I think the reason is the Reception and the Restaurant.
RESTAURANT. Much, much better than many tourist oriented places outside. Ravioli with Salmon, Veal Medallions, and so on. Extremely delicious. If I visit Riga one more time I'll come to this place. Even if I stay in another hotel.
LOCATION. It was great. Yet Riga is a City-Castle and every sights are located very close to each other. That's why you can choose any hotel in the Old City and will get the same location.

Room Tip: If your trip is in a cold season it's better to chose the room in the middle part of floor (some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Father_Aleks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Riga is a wonderful city to visit and this hotel offers an excellent place to stay to explore the city. The staff is helpful the rooms comfortable and the breakfast very good. Everything was as promised.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctorj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very nice Hotel in a great location. Very easy to get around, the rooms are spacious enough with a great breakfast and very helpful staff.

The breakfast is wonderful, plenty of food and very fresh. Riga is the most expensive out of all the Baltic States, so be mindful of the exchange rates. I had to virtually double the LVL to the AUD which makes eating out expensive.

Room Tip: Most rooms look out onto an internal courtyard which can be noisy at night. Not a problem if you kee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is located in the old city which is great as we only had a short visit to Riga so was able to spend a day wandering around the old town which is very pretty. The hotel itself is quite modern but with lovely old features. Easy and cheap to get to and from the airport.

The only negative was that our taxi was late picking us up from airport and didn't have enough room for our group so we have to split up which was confusing after a long flight but apart from that we found all the staff very friendly and helpful.

One of the most comfortable beds too - had a great nice sleep here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbeansire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The best part about this hotel is its location - right in the middle of the old town, minutes away from bars, attractions, sights. Considering that it is a relatively small building, the staff have done a good job into making it comfortable and elegant - and at least our "superior" room did not feel cramped. Our windows faced a wall... not exciting at all, but probably more quiet than the windows facing the street, at least on a hot summer's night.

The hotel room had all the basic amenities - shampoos, air conditioning, even an ironing board. As it was on the 4th floor, it didn't have wifi access, which was sometimes patchy in general. We were very pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel.

The one area in which I have a bone to pick with the hotel was the breakfast room. The hotel was fully booked out and, as I've said, the guests live in a pretty small space. Therefore, we were unlucky enough to come down for breakfast during the Sunday rush-hour, to find a completely full and really very small breakfast room, in which food was disappearing faster than the staff (albeit nice and efficient) could refill it. We were offered to carry our breakfast upstairs to the hotel bar, which I was really not thrilled about (running up and down the stairs every time you forgot a fork is not my vision of a relaxed breakfast). The hotel should really think about expanding the breakfast room or, when it is really full, offer waiter service in the upstairs bar for the people who don't fit. The next day the atmosphere was more relaxed, we found plenty of tables and plenty of food.

Since this is a four star hotel, I was unpleasantly surprised that you had to pay to use the sauna (and, of course, there was no swimming pool). It should be free for hotel guests.

All in all, a recommended hotel and a nice experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anchorless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 111 in Riga
674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 111 in Riga
601 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#9 of 111 in Riga
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 111 in Riga
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.4 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#16 of 111 in Riga
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Boutique Hotel

Address: Teatra iela 10, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#17 Family Hotel in Riga
#24 Business Hotel in Riga
#30 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: $58 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old City Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old City Boutique Hotel is situated in the heart of the Riga Old city and it’s easy to feel the spirit of Riga city when you are close to cultural mainstays such as Latvian National Opera, museums, sightseeing. Restaurants and parks are with walking distance and shopping centre nearby. International Airport RIX just 15 km away. Old City Boutique Hotel can be called as a museum of the photography. In the hotel presents the collection of old photos of Riga by which you can view the history of the city until present times. There are 65 rooms in a hotel which are situated in two connected buildings. In one part hotel offers 11 rooms with spirit of history, romantic and quite atmosphere and in the other part - 54 rooms which are well furnished and designed according to modern style. Each 54 room has a bathroom, phone, TV, cable internet, minibar, and safe-box, iron with ironing board and rooms equipped by the system of the central air-conditioning and adjustable heating and floor heating. Hotel facilities and services meet the needs of today’s traveler. Warm atmosphere, harmony of interior, comfortable rooms, cozy Lobby bar – everything disposes for high-grade rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old City Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viesturs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing