We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Riga
Post
Inbox
Search

“Affordable and finger-licking good”
Review of Sveiks, Sveik!

Sveiks, Sveik!
Ranked #186 of 1,338 Restaurants in Riga
Cuisines: Czech
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This might not be the 100% authentic Czech cuisine, but it's still delicious and a very good value. Sveiks, Sveik! is a bit off the regular tourist route around Riga, but those who dare take the detour will not be disappointed. Lots of dishes named after the characters from Hasek's classic book are mostly meat and sausages, so vegans beware. The place is cozy, the staff is friendly and speak English, Russian and Latvian.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank alexander_chyrvonyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 106 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

Very tasty food, wine and traditional Czech beer. Prices are fine. We liked that place. Atmosphere was great. Very nice stuff.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank nadvir21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2019 via mobile

We visit this place Saturday 05/01/19
Restaurant was busy but we get table very quickly. We was waiting around 10 minutes for the menu waitress walking around but not pay attention that we are seating with out menu. Finally after few minutes waitress come over to our table give us menu. We order food and drinks very quickly. Drinks arrive quiet quickly. But we wait over one hour and half for the food. I order Mushroom soup, pork knee and also my favorite Czech dish Gulas. Soup and knee was good. Knee was cold but I was hungry after waiting so long. But problem was gulas. Sauce was made definitely from some powder meat was swimming in top of the strange liquid. Knedlik also swimming in the strange looking and tasting liquid so I didn't try. Just wanted to say that Gulas is a traditional Czech pub and restaurant dish basically is signature dish. I recommend to your chefs to open cooking book and check how to cook traditional czech gulas. Is actually very easy. But what was the best of all visit is the manager. I complain to her about the problem I have with gulas and also waiting time. She apologized to us and offer us to have shot of slivovica with her. Yes with her. Anyway we never get slivovica and we even need to pay for "gulas" I think lady manager already have few slivovica with other customers. So she forgot us. This was really horrible experience. Never again

Roman

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Companion747147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2018

Went there earlyish for a work Christmas function. Very slow to deliver the drinks and food.
The Czech soup in a bread bowl was very good.
The tuna and salmon salads were quite good albeit lacking fish.
The biggest disappointment were the fillet steaks. Ordered as medium rare they were well done and dry!! Would like to have some sauce options as the jam was not a good accompaniment, nor were the picked vegetables.
The fish fillet was full of bones and the grilled vegetables rather ordinary.
The so-called apple strudel was not enjoyable.
The fruit salad and the ice-cream dessert were OK.
No rush to go back....

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank dubyadee2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2018 via mobile

Very tasty, reasonable price level, good selection of czech most popular lagers, authentic czech cousine. Five adult persons had soup, main dish and beer or two and we were slightly under 80€ in total.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ditmaars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sveiks, Sveik! also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Sveiks, Sveik!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing