We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astor Riga Hotel & Conference

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Astor Riga Hotel & Conference
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Very easy to get to to the sights from the hotel.

The rooms are small, but clean and nicely decorated.

The hotel did not have an iron and ironing board, nor did they have an ironing service. I found this unacceptable given I was attending a conference at the hotel and a ball elsewhere over the weekend and my shirts and dress needed ironing after travelling.

This may have been as the hotel had recently opened.

The bar is nice, but beware of the prices of the bottles of wine. We had a shock when the room bill came as we had been charged £45 for a bottle of wine which is high given the prices in Riga generally and exchange rate.

Conference facilities were good. They were able to facilitate a both for translator for speakers with headphones for delegates to hear translations.

I would consider this hotel again if I went back to Riga.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    99
    25
    7
    2
See reviews for
23
77
16
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Astor for 2 nights and loved this hotel...There was a group of us and we were split up between 2 hotels and i am happy to say that i stayed at Hotel Astor. Hotel Astor is a great hotel in Riga. Very nice and cozy rooms that fulfill everything that the traveler needs. Free Wifi Internet help too...I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is planing a trip to Riga

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a High Floor facing the Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This new fancy hotel was my home for four days when visiting Riga in may. It was clean with nice interior, though the rooms were a little small. Lovely bathroom. Perfect location. I would stay here again if I ever travel to Riga again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susannen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were here during the midsummer festival and the location was excellent for walking through the old town of Riga. Particularly enjoyable was the folk dancing and singing on the river bank opposite the hotel.

Service was unobtrusive but adequate and helpful when needed, and breakfast, although limited in range, was pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geoffrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

A friend and I stayed at this hotel for a weekend in June 2013, and I have to say, I am very happy with our choice of hotel. It was not too expensive, the rooms were very clean, the bathrooms spacious, and the staff very helpful. The hotel location is very ideal since it is located at the border of the city center (downtown) and the old town. If you take the bus (50 cents) from the airport, it is about a quick and scenic 5-10 minute walk through the old town.

I had an early flight out (6am), and I requested that I get a to go breakfast which they did with a smile.

Room Tip: They have on-check-in upgrades for about 15€ or 30€ and they are definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsinkoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I read reviews and this one came up as one of the best and it really is lovely. Rooms are new clean and modern. I am a single female 60 years old so I took the cheapest room with no view but I love it. The price was excellent. About 80 usd for the single. Cute fridge in room and a kettle but bring or buy your own tea and coffee which I do anyway because there is always a mini bar charge.
The included breakfast is the most varied I have ever seen. Delicious coffee. Eggs meats cheeses fruits fish veggies fruits muslie and desserts . I am so full it will last me till dinner.
The area is beautiful with a pretty park across the street if you are a runner. Near everything in the old town including a large rimi supermarket that takes credit cards.
Idont know what the other hotels here are like but I am a world traveller and I love this one.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariafromlongisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalunya
Level Contributor
442 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I had a booking of this hotel one month in advance (perfect location, and better price). The surprise was that I had not room: a nice girl with beautiful smile explain me about some "electrical breakdown" of the doors.. (?, I suspect was probably some overbooking...). She compensate this important inconvenient with a wine bottle, and a taxi to relax in the close Radisson hotel. Next day we had our room in the Astor Riga, because we waited also a car rented before through a recepcionist. The girl also obtained for us two tickets in the Riga Opera (excellent ballet in the evening, after a tipical hot chocolate in the centric Magic bar). Room had adjusted size, but everything inside. One thing to improve is the breakfast, in a open cold area. Sure, Astor is one of the best options to enjoy the modernist Riga

Room Tip: Looking the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank llampec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.4 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#8 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Europa Royale Riga
Europa Royale Riga
#37 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Riga Old Town
Pullman Riga Old Town
#19 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Riga Hotel & Conference? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Riga Hotel & Conference

Property: Astor Riga Hotel & Conference
Address: Zigfrida Annas Meierovica bulvaris 10, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Astor Riga Hotel & Conference 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astor Riga Hotel & Conference is a brand new 4-star hotel located in the exclusive part of the Old Town, with all the city sights located in an area up to 200 meters from the hotel. The hotel building is eclectic and stylish, a beautiful Art Nouveau - building from 1876 which has been totally restored and renovated. Every room in Astor Riga Hotel is modernly designed with neutral colors used. All the rooms feature a safe, a seating area, a minibar, a flat-screen smart TV, free Wi-Fi and an electric kettle. You will enjoy your night sleep with hand-picked down pillows and blankets on high quality beds. Bathroom features a shower or a bath, free toiletries, a makeup mirror and an exclusive hairdryer with six airflow and temperature settings, including ion generator. You can have nice lunch or dinner in "Astor" restaurant, where also the rich breakfast buffet is served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Astor Riga Hotel & Conference reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing