We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy atmosphere and delicious food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cemodans

Cemodans
Ranked #9 of 935 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $43
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Petersburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy atmosphere and delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

As you walk in you see round tables adorned with table clothes, a single candle and a flower. There is music in the background that adds to the ambience but does not take away from the dinning experience. After ordering, the waiter brought out the table setting and placed the cloth napkin, silverware and bread plate down. I never felt rushed and just the right amount of attention so I could enjoy my meal without to many interruptions. I had the chicken fillet stuffed with sundried tomatoes with cauliflower and pumpkin seed puree with a cheesy cream sauce which was delicious! The prices are very reasonable considering food quality and presentation. I paid less than 24 euro for soup, main course and two glasses of wine. The service was excellent and to top it off the waiter brought the check in a "treasure" box. The only down side is the restaurant is in the basement and does not have view. I would still recommend this restaurant to anyone who would like good food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RB0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    118
    33
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Food in Riga”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Loved this restaurant, food was faultless and reasonably priced. A little out the way if staying near the old town but is has a really nice vibe. I had the squid and it was divine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JenWrenPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent meal in Riga”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Fabulous decor,only 16 covers,need to book Fri ,Sat Sunday and popular times. Wonderful cuisine ,would not be out of place in West End London and other major cities.Courteous and helpful waiter.Had full meal with drinks only 55euros,which is very reasonable for a meal of this standard.A little walk from the old town but well worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ffreuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place & fab food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed in Riga Feb 2014 for 4 nights, and have to say this was the best meal we had during our stay, unfortunately on the last night. The restaurant was very cosy and had a French feel to it. The dishes we chose were steak and salmon which came beautifully presented and tasted exceptional. The staff were very friendly and we spoke to the owner who couldnt do enough for us. Should we stay in Riga again this would be our first choice of restaurant. Highly recommended!!
Thank you and good luck for the future. Angie Steve Sue & Tony

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank angela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic Food & Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Called in as it was close to our hotel. Amazing food - the best soups we've ever had (chicken & peanut plus porcini clear soup), a fabulously tasty smoked salmon & mango salad and heavenly salmon stuffed with spinach and prawns. All washed down with some great local beer. It's a pity we were too full to try the desserts. Definitely recommended and fantastic value for money. With a bottle of sparkling water too the bill came to just €20 each.

Helpful?
Thank Owensc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cemodans also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Cemodans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing