We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Good Views

You get some great views on this little boat trip. The boats are very safe, modern and clean. Audio... read more

Reviewed November 15, 2019
Bob B
,
London, United Kingdom
Relaxing

If the weather is good i recomend this cruise i had a discount so it cost me ten euros trip takes... read more

Reviewed October 3, 2019
Traveler612765
,
Marsta, Sweden
Read all 219 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Riga
from $138.25
More Info
from $31.66
More Info
from $8.64
More Info
from $92.58
More Info
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveler rating
77
76
43
14
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
77
76
43
14
9
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 219 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2017

The canal and river cruise,costing 18Euros a head could be so much better with a pre record commentary.

Our boatman had very limited language skills.

A commentary could include history politics as well as the sights but just drifting slowly along just looking for sights from the brochure was pretty boring and expensive.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RigaByCanal, Manager at Riga by Canal, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

We have pre recorded commentary on our ships. They are available through your smartphone using our Wi-Fi. The guidance is on the ticket back side. We are sorry that you did not succeed in listening to them. But thank you for the review, we will take it into consideration for next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

Navigating over the calm Canal of Riga is a good experience. Quite short but complete tour (1 hour) to see the town from a different perspective, tightly liked to Riga's being a sea city. Frequent trips, one of the boats is historical. Very relaxing and comfortable, for all ages.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank roseglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017

The small wooden boats are quaint, sturdy, and have plastic flaps that can be pulled down if it is raining. The sun came out just enough to have an enjoyable hour on the water. Tour lasts about an hour and costs 18 euros. The staff was nice and friendly. The commentary provided was a recording in English - worked just fine for me, I learned some things about Riga. You spend most of the time in the canal, and then head out to the river to make a complete circle around.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017

This boat ride was part of a cruise of the Baltic Sea with National Geographic. I would have done it on our own. the ride through the canal was lovely and then we ended by our ship. Glad we did it.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017 via mobile

We got on the canal boat early in the morning (not far from the Freedom Monument). We were the only people on the boat. It makes its way through the city and out into the main river, looping back into the city. There was no commentary but our driver/pilot (??) did point out lots of attractions. We were able to get some great photos of the city skyline from the river. Very peaceful. I think it was 15 euros each. Whilst on the canal, you see the opera house, university and a few other things. You do go under some very low tunnels/bridges which are obviously roads/buildings. We enjoyed it when we were on the river. The boat was new, comfortable and had life jackets. Took about 45 minutes. I would say go early as we had the boat privately.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Ibbz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews