We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Riga
from $18.17
More Info
from $22.71
More Info
from $34.06
More Info
from $9.08
More Info
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
21
37
22
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
21
37
22
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews takes about an hour sunny day captain cruise ride sights euros driver information
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 90 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

If you need to rest your feet, this is ideal. Take a 1 hour silent boat trip in a circle round Riga old town via canal and Daugava river. The boat is a delightful old wooden classic. The cruise starts near the Freedom/ Independance Monument. This is one of the nicest sections of the canal. Boats leave every 20 minutes. Cost €18 for an adult. You see many of the main sites and there is a section on the Daugava river giving Access to the Baltic Sea, complete with ferries to Stockholm and cruise liners. Leaving the river you pass through the marina and head back through town.
Recommended.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank rlkempharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

We decided to do the Riga Canal tour in the afternoon. It was one of the best decisions we made in Riga. The late afternoon light so pleasant for photos. We realaxed our tired feet while enjoying the scenery. The tour lasts about an hour. Definately a must.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Gul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

This is a leisurely trip through the canals and by the port. Perfect for those of us who are shutterbugs! You see everything up close to take great photos and relaxingly treasure the city. You buy the tickets along the canal, right by the boats. They leave once they get 6 or more on a boat.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

Depending on what you’re looking for, this tour can be a disappointment, or perhaps just okay. It’s a silent boat ride through the manmade canal (historically made by the Swedes for invasion reasons), out to the river and back to starting point.

The tour is 50 mins not 1 hour, but by the 30th minute, I was wishing it would end. There is no audio guide; it’s quite slow (so that’s good for relaxing if it’s your aim), and you get to just watch the beautiful greenery surrounding you. Out in the river, you cross under the long bridge.

Not much to write home about, really, except the €18 I burned for that.

Nope.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank fawwaz-ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RigaByCanal, Manager at Riga by Canal, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2018

Thank you for the review! A boat ride is slow and relaxing to see Riga from a different point of view and rest your legs after a walk around the city. The ride lasts about an hour, it depends on wind direction, during which you can hear a story about the most prominent places in the audio guide. We are sorry that you did not hear the story of the places, it might give you another view of the trip. Our audio guide is available on client smartphones. Hope you enjoyed your stay in Riga overall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

Canal and river cruise with group of friends. Unfortunately audio guide only available via boat’s WiFi which was not very reliable. Also no headphones either. Resorted to using own maps and guide books.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank mjedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RigaByCanal, Manager at Riga by Canal, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2018

Thank you for your review! We offer an audio guide via our WiFi, as we are aware, that the client's personal internet usage can be expensive. We offer listening audio guide through the client's smartphone, respectively, we do not offer headphones. We also offer the brochure, where the main sights are mentioned. But it's nice that you found out your way from this situation and used own guide book. Have a nice trips in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018

This takes about an hour through the canal, onto the river and back into the canal via the port. It's slow but informative and is a delight on a sunny day. Well worth the money

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank annieisathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews