We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Good Views

You get some great views on this little boat trip. The boats are very safe, modern and clean. Audio... read more

Reviewed November 15, 2019
Bob B
,
London, United Kingdom
Relaxing

If the weather is good i recomend this cruise i had a discount so it cost me ten euros trip takes... read more

Reviewed October 3, 2019
Traveler612765
,
Marsta, Sweden
Read all 219 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Riga
from $138.25
More Info
from $31.66
More Info
from $8.64
More Info
from $92.58
More Info
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveler rating
77
76
43
14
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
77
76
43
14
9
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 219 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2017

This boat ride was part of a cruise of the Baltic Sea with National Geographic. I would have done it on our own. the ride through the canal was lovely and then we ended by our ship. Glad we did it.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017 via mobile

We got on the canal boat early in the morning (not far from the Freedom Monument). We were the only people on the boat. It makes its way through the city and out into the main river, looping back into the city. There was no commentary but our driver/pilot (??) did point out lots of attractions. We were able to get some great photos of the city skyline from the river. Very peaceful. I think it was 15 euros each. Whilst on the canal, you see the opera house, university and a few other things. You do go under some very low tunnels/bridges which are obviously roads/buildings. We enjoyed it when we were on the river. The boat was new, comfortable and had life jackets. Took about 45 minutes. I would say go early as we had the boat privately.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Ibbz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017

I wasn't offered any access to a commentary online, but the booklet was fine as I'd already explored on foot. It's a nice way to while away an hour on a hot day and to see the old town from the river. A bit on the expensive side
though.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Liza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RigaByCanal, Manager at Riga by Canal, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2017

We are always glad to have Your review, thank You! We are sorry that you didn't succeed in listening to the commentary, they describe interesting facts about the surroundings, but the most important we have included in the booklet. We hope You enjoyed the trip to Latvia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2017 via mobile

We usually would wander around town freely but i am currently injured so we opted for the canal trip this afternoon as the weather was lovely!
Would recommend to anyone though, such a pretty canal and you get to see some of the main sights by boat, and also go onto the Daugava River and pass Riga Castle. There is recorded commentary, with detailed info about the buildings and bridges! We sat at the back on the outside seats (room for three) but also still shaded.
Really enjoyable hour, definitely worth adding into your itinerary. Seats and tables and life jackets etc..

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank spannerwingnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017 via mobile

The boat ride is a nice relaxed way of seeing the city. I love the water aswell and the cd that is played along with the ride is both informative and relaxing. Takes about an hour and is 18 euros each. Bring a jacket. Can get chill when you get out to the main river 'the mother'.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank lee1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RigaByCanal, Manager at Riga by Canal, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Thank You for Your review! We are glad, that You enjoyed the trip with one of our boats.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews