We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent walk through Riga city”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pilsetas kanals

Pilsetas kanals
Ranked #13 of 223 things to do in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
253 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellent walk through Riga city”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The city channel goes through a whole Riga, surrounded by parks and trees, so you could walk 5-6 km in very green area, or take a
small boat. Strongly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank StuttgartAbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    119
    30
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkkonummi, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Canal boat cruise”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went for a boat tour in the channel & Daugava. The boat was pretty and cosy, the master shipper nice and the tour was beautiful.
Some additional value because of the Tall Ships Race, we could see many of the nice sailing boats while we passed the port.
It's interesting to view the city from this angle and relaxing to move in the slow pace of the river boat. Old Town, Kronvalda Parks, Zeppelin Halls... new National Library building...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanna Viveka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice relaxation”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It is nice to walk or along the canal in Bastejkalns or sit in the Tea House and look on bypassing people. But I can also recommend to take a 1-hour boat tour along the canal and look on this part of Riga from a different point of view.
I liked this tour much more than 1-hour Daugava tour. My friends have told us this tour is more spectacular in the evening when you can enjoy illumination under the canal bridges. But we went daytime. It is cheaper for families and much cheaper on Mondays.

Just one negative thing - no information provided about sights and objects we were passing. But there were some local people in our boat who told quite a lot about architecture, history and art...
Bring a guide-book with you if you have one.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zincis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pretty place to walk and meet”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Right in the centre of the city is a canal, surrounded by a park with flower beds and large old trees. Because it is so central, there are always lots of people.walking on the paths, sitting or even playing chess. You can rent boats.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ZaneSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,564 reviews
684 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 955 helpful votes
“Beautiful oasis steps from Old Town”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The canal and park that wraps around Old Town is a beautiful spot to relax after a long day of walking. The are large trees providing shade, a peaceful waterway where you can take a boat tour, bridges to take great photos from and some quiet spots to reflect on your visit to Riga. The canal used to be the moat surrounding the Old Town fortifications and before that was part of the Riga River which is now long gone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilsetas kanals also viewed

 

Been to Pilsetas kanals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing