We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”

KOTAI Noodle Boutique
Ranked #641 of 1,006 Restaurants in Riga
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Description: The origins of Kotay are in the spring of 2000, when its founder, at that time only a graduate from high school, loaded suitcases and moved his country from Latvia's coolness to Thailand. Already on the first day after arrival, I faced the extremes of the local culinary delicacy and spell, our hero promised himself that he would never be different from them. Never, never. She spent the next 12 years crossing Asia across crosses, and greed for exotic was finally pleased. It was time to satisfy the desire of Latvia. Already on the first day after returning, faced with the persistence and inertia of the Thai cuisine of the local dining establishments, our hero decided to fight against this culinary injustice. In summer 2012, the first Latvian authentic Thai cuisine restaurant Kotai was opened. Thanks to the authenticity of the ingredients in the dishes and the professionalism of the staff trained by the Thai cooks, the specialties offered by Kota really taste exactly as they should have been painted. These are sharp. They are gentle. They are charming. At the beginning of 2014, instead of enjoying the unique taste of Asian noodles, you never sat down and read this story. Order securely and we will bring!
Riga, Latvia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have been there twice and I would not recommend it, unless you get a 50% discount and buy the food to go. The place is tiny, the service is rude and bordering horrible. The food tastes good, but it is expensive by Riga standards, especially as the portions are not exactly generous. You will find it difficult to find a single prawn or anything at all for that matter, apart from maybe a piece of an onion, in your Tom Yum.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Luka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    26
    14
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok but slow”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Tried several times for the lunch menu - waiting for the pre-cooked lunch for 10-15 min is not good. Food was ok but nothing to write home about.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hot and delicious”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This place sales really good and almoust authentic Thai food, I love it for ThumYum (always ask for original spice).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Arnis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
822 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
“Amazingly authentic”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I passed by this Thai modern restaurant today. Since I live in Bangkok, I had to give it a try. Surprisingly, it was really tasty and as spicy as back in Thailand! Service was prompt, very friendly and on top of that it was cheap. The steamed rice was not as good as in Thailand but the Tom Yai with chicken was delicious! I read the chef is Thai. Otherwise, the staff are all Latvians.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christmate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for busy day”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a great Thai restaurant, by far the best I've been to in the Riga (including other Asian restaurants). It has a superb selection of traditional Thai meals and my favourite is Tom Jam soup with chicken - it's excellent. I mean - I could eat that soup every day. Also Kotai is adding new meals every month and each one of then is from very good to excellent, so I never get bored experiencing Thailand.

Prices are quite affordable and employees are always nice and friendly. As I go there regularly, then even Chef is greeting me. You wont see that much in Riga..

Well, this may not be 5 star Michelin restaurant, but It's perfect place to have tasty Thai lunch, enjoy nice atmosphere and just relax for few minutes before getting back to busy day.

And one more thing - try bubble tea! :))

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ViestursLiepkalns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KOTAI Noodle Boutique also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to KOTAI Noodle Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing