We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, welcoming hostel, couldn't ask for more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Naughty Squirrel Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 151 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Naughty Squirrel for 4 nights, and I wish we could have stayed longer! Everything about this hostel is fantastic, we honestly couldn't ask for more. The staff are all incredibly accommodating, friendly and helpful who go above and beyond to help you out and make sure you enjoy all your time here in Riga. The rooms are all clean, spacious and comfortable. The bunk beds are larger than any others we've slept in and are SO comfy! Also, on the bottom bunk you have enough room to sit up in the mornings without bumping your head (not a huge deal I know, but an added extra when you're already out of your comfort zone!) Free towels are also a great bonus (it's a pain when you have to pack your wet one on 'moving day') Plenty of WCs, showers and basins, windows that open and let cool air in on the hot days (we've experienced many) A cozy common room with free WIFI, a huge DVD collection if you desire a quiet night in, a kitchen with everything you need, a little bar (MUST TRY THE APPLE PIE SHOOTERS!!!! MMMMM!) Great location to the city, close to the bus/train station... what more can I say?! This place really, honestly rocks! Do yourself a favour and stay a few nights here, you will NOT regret it!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiem24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 517 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2009

Dear backpacker, after experiences in more than a hundred hostels all over the world I have to evaluate this one as the "worst case" to choose. If you cancel your booking at this hostel right in time, even so do not be surprised finding a debit of a one night´s stay (without having a bed!) on your credit card account. Well, and when you think it might be an easy procedure to get back the refund, then the staff of the new "Naughty Squirrel Backpackers" (formerly Argonaut´s) will teach you a lesson how rude, provocative and insulting a staff only can be. Only a few months ago this was one of the good hostels in Riga but with the new "Naughty Squirrel"-management you might be confronted with its new "manners". So before booking this hostel, do not hesitate to ask me for my e-mail-conversation with the hostel to update your expectations. Have a good time in Riga and choose your hostel with care!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank nevermainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naughtysquirrel, Owner at Naughty Squirrel Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2009

Hello,

My name is Jarrod, the owner and manager of the naughty squirrel backpackers in Riga, latvia...

This is the one and only case where we have had any problems with over 1000+ bookings this year already. We accepted we made a mistake with charging his card when he had already cancelled. He wasnt taken out of our system and was charged the first night stay, which is standard no-show procedure.

When he contacted us we admitted we made a mistake and told him he will get his money back, which he did. I also admit it took sometime as we had troubles refunding the money to his credit card, even though the total was minor (4.90) I still understand why he was upset, we made a mistake and we admit that.

Since we took over in Feb 2009 we have taken the hostel from 8th in the latvian listings to 4TH BEST IN THE WORLD voted from hostelworld customers for May 2009!

We are now the top rated hostel in latvia and when you stay with us you will find out why!

life is a smile and travelling is the dream!!

Safe travels

Jarrod
owner and manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

We (boyfriend and I) stayed at the Naughty Squirrel for a couple of nights mid-week. We were initially disappointed to learn that although they advised us there was parking available, this meant that we could pay 9 Lats a day to park in a public car park about a kilometre from the hostel. (We later learnt that this was standard in Riga, however it would have been helpful for the person we spoke to before booking to explain this better). We booked a double room and it was fine, though we couldn't get wifi in our room which was a bit annoying. The hostel staff are very attentive and organise outings each day for people who want to sign on. The kitchen facilities were fantastic; I didn't feel there were enough toilets/showers for the number of beds, but the staff do clean them almost constantly during the morning rush, which was good. I would stay there again but it's probably more aimed at singles travelling and looking for other people to do stuff with.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

On arrival we were succombed by the friendliness and smiles by the staff. In the adjacent meeting room were other travellers, greeting anyone who entered with a smile. The staff ensured we knew where the best locations were, whether we wanted to enjoy the culture or the nightlife. The rooms were far beyond our expectations for the price. The pictures from the hostels website are exactly what you get!! I have done a fair bit of traveling and this is by far the best hostel I have come accross.

Also, the restaurant just over the road has a cheaper pre-arranged menu for guests at the hostel.

It's a Backpackers joy whether traveling alone or in a group!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTP12397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

This place is well worth a mention. In all my travels i have never found nicer staff, cleaner rooms or cheaper beer. It was worth going to Latvia just to stay there. The best hostel ive ever been to. Plus LOCATION,LOCATION, LOCATION cheers everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shanoinsano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

The Naughty Squirrel is a typical backpacker hostel, but none the worse for that. Its location can't be beaten, on a cobbled street in the heart of the Old Town, a few minutes walk from one of the main tram and bus stops (which serves the bus to the airport among many others), and only a few minutes more from both the bus and railway stations. The reception staff are exceptionally friendly and efficient. We had a twin room, which had bunks. It was basic, but clean and comfortable. Immediately outside were a shower room/toilet, two more shower rooms and two more toilets. These were all clean and in good working order and it was never a problem finding an empty one to use. We didn't use the bar/common rooms (except to store food in the fridges), but they seemed popular. Although there were quite a few people staying there, the hostel was not generally particularly noisy or rowdy, with the exception of one group who seemed to decide that because they had to get up at 6am one morning it wouldn't be fair to leave without waking everybody else up by walking around the hostel shouting at each other! But that wasn't the hostel's fault. Perfect location and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Necrothesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

stayed for a night ended up booking a week... the staff were great!!
The hostel was very clean and secure. Hopefully i will get some more time of work to go back in summer!! I would recommend this place to anyone, thanks again to all the staff for showing me a great time in riga!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtaggart080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 112 in Riga
819 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#58 of 112 in Riga
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tree House
Tree House
#5 of 151 in Riga
65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Hostel
Central Hostel
#6 of 151 in Riga
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Nose
Red Nose
#16 of 151 in Riga
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naughty Squirrel Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naughty Squirrel Backpackers

Address: Kaleju iela 50 | Old Town, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Price Range: $19 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aussie owned Backpackers in the Heart of the Old Town. Only 300m to Main Square, Airport Bus, Central Markets, Bus Station, Supermarkets and many Bars/Restaurants. AK47 Shooting, Bobsled, Free Walking Tours, Pub Crawls, Latvian Food Nights, Karaoke, Husky Dog Sledding, Daily Happy Hours, Latvian Beer Tastings and much more! Voted No.1 Hostel in Latvia 2009 and 2010.A Genuine Backpackers for Real Travellers !!!!!** NO STAG PARTIES ALLOWED **Clean, Secure and Fun backpackers hostel in Old Riga for small groups and solo travellers. We are a true backpackers with friendly local staff that will help you 24hrs.** Female Only Dorms Available!! Our prices include all taxes, all linens and your bed already made for you... PLUS a FRESH TOWEL!!- FREE internet and WIFI- FREE lockers and locks- FREE Foosball Table- FREE shower and hand soap- FREE tea all day- FREE guide map- FREE popcorn & gumibears (Movie Nights)- FREE good times and awesome memories. We offer you TWO common rooms to meet other backpackers and a fully equipped KITCHEN for cooking 24 hours. All dorm rooms have large security lockers under each bed that can fit your whole backpack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Naughty Squirrel Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing