We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Naughty Squirrel Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 for three nights. We stayed in a private room with an ensuite which was hotel quality. The staff at the hostel were very friendly and we were given lots of recommendations by the reception staff - they know the city best and the recommendations were fantastic. The location couldn't have been better, near the coach station and very central to most sights.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 501 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

When I was there in peak season, the hostel was always clean and the atmosphere was always lively. The staff were friendly and informative. Free welcome shots and pub crawls can only go down well with solo travellers. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becdegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

very friendly staff. the ladies were so helpful. bathroom is clean and frequently cleaned. i love the location as it is very centrally located. close to a large modern grocery store and a gigantic farmer's market kind of place. this place also goes out of the way to organize social events to allow people to hang out together. this was my first hostel experience but not my last.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The place has two common rooms including one wth a foosball table plus a small breakfast/dining area...A very social place plus cheap beer. Had a very good time. Most of the staff is local and their awesome attitude gives you a great impression of the city and its people even before you come across it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsimAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Frindly staff, good bar, nice people, clean rooms, perfect location and probably the best party hostel in Riga.

I met a lot of friends in this place and I do recommend a visit for those who like a real hostel experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdsonABL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I often treat my hostels and hotels as a means to an end when visiting a particular city. The Naughty Squirrel, however, is the kind of place that is worthy of being a destination in and of itself. Located on a quiet side street, the hostel is warm, friendly, inviting and lively. I was shocked at how much personal attention I was given by the staff who let me know all the services available to me even though I was only there for a night. They helped me find the kind of sites I was looking to see and even (as a pure kindness) folded my laundry for me when it finished drying. Truly excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewJamesFerris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Met a number of good people in this hostel and had a good time on their weekend Pub crawl. A group of us also went to the hockey and had a great time. Sabina one of the staff was great very friendly and provided lots of good info as well as coming drinking with us.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Karl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 110 in Riga
665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 110 in Riga
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 110 in Riga
585 reviews
0.1 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naughty Squirrel Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naughty Squirrel Backpackers

Address: Kaleju iela 50 | Old Town, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Price Range: $13 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aussie owned Backpackers in the Heart of the Old Town. Only 300m to Main Square, Airport Bus, Central Markets, Bus Station, Supermarkets and many Bars/Restaurants. AK47 Shooting, Bobsled, Free Walking Tours, Pub Crawls, Latvian Food Nights, Karaoke, Husky Dog Sledding, Daily Happy Hours, Latvian Beer Tastings and much more! Voted No.1 Hostel in Latvia 2009 and 2010.A Genuine Backpackers for Real Travellers !!!!!** NO STAG PARTIES ALLOWED **Clean, Secure and Fun backpackers hostel in Old Riga for small groups and solo travellers. We are a true backpackers with friendly local staff that will help you 24hrs.** Female Only Dorms Available!! Our prices include all taxes, all linens and your bed already made for you... PLUS a FRESH TOWEL!!- FREE internet and WIFI- FREE lockers and locks- FREE Foosball Table- FREE shower and hand soap- FREE tea all day- FREE guide map- FREE popcorn & gumibears (Movie Nights)- FREE good times and awesome memories. We offer you TWO common rooms to meet other backpackers and a fully equipped KITCHEN for cooking 24 hours. All dorm rooms have large security lockers under each bed that can fit your whole backpack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Naughty Squirrel Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing