We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Naughty Squirrel Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
LONDON
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a gem of a hostel. From the moment you enter the place you are made to feel welcome. Whether it's the welcome shot or the friendly guys on reception or the clearly happy guests, it immediately feels like home. The place has great facilities, including a free fussball table and 24 hour bar with beer on tap.

It's also very clean and well kept and has a great atmosphere throughout. They also organise lots of activities, which seem very popular.

I couldn't recommend it more!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STUART R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    71
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
60
165
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is amazing! The staff go out of their way to help with a welcome shot and friendly smiles always. Mia was great and Lina was awesome in the pub crawl. The rooms are spacious and under bed lockers are big enough for large backpacks. It's very clean and 2 common rooms are great. The location is perfect for exploring the old town. The best was the awesome shower pressure. So good! The allow you to use facilities after checkout too which is a relief. I can't fault this hostel. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sterling2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a fab time at the Naughty Squirrel! It's well located, very clean, has a great atmosphere, there are numerous day-trips on offer (the shooting range was ace!) and - best of all - the staff are fantastic! They genuinely can't do enough for you and can recommend great places to eat/drink/visit. Definitely check out Ala, Martin's, Oldest Bar in Riga (opposite the hostel). I highly recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Excellent hostel, very welcoming, lovely atmosphere. Lots going on - something on offer every evening! Trips organised by the hostel were excellent - you should definitely try out the trip to fire Russian guns! Nice rooms, clean, well ventilated. Lovely showers with separate boilers so pleanty of warm water :) Good location in Old Riga, excellent for exploring the more historical part of the city. Would definitely recommend and stay here again!

Room Tip: Spacious private rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah Jane Anya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

all hostels were like that! Its just awesome. We had a private double and there was nothing absolutely nothing to complain about!!! (And as I am German I always find sth to complain about... )

-Everything was clea n
-Staff was super friendly and more than helpful
-(free) Tours / Activities offered were amaizing
-Other guests were chilled and friendly and not them nor staff were the typical potheads u can find in ,any hostels
-Drinks in Hostel were cheap and good
-decorations were welcoming

Over all: best hostel we have been to. Ever. Worldwode. I wish all Hostels/Owners/Staff would put that much love in theor work. Real hospitality that is!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeinzLMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

a very well designed, maintained and managed hostel. The 3 different common areas in reception are sometimes a little bit of a divide but it's such a big hostel it'll be hard to stay here and not meet good people. I had a great stay with great friendly staff

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwoky86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

REALLY helpfun and cool staff, great location, great atmosphere!
But what impressed me the most was the cleanliness, rooms and toilets where as clean as you can hope for.

Lots of activities organized by the staff, which makes your stay a lot better even if you already have a lot of stuff planned!

One of the best hostels I've ever been to, I can definitely recommend this one!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViniciusLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 109 in Riga
769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naughty Squirrel Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naughty Squirrel Backpackers

Property: Naughty Squirrel Backpackers
Address: Kaleju iela 50 | Old Town, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aussie owned Backpackers in the Heart of the Old Town. Only 300m to Main Square, Airport Bus, Central Markets, Bus Station, Supermarkets and many Bars/Restaurants. AK47 Shooting, Bobsled, Free Walking Tours, Pub Crawls, Latvian Food Nights, Karaoke, Husky Dog Sledding, Daily Happy Hours, Latvian Beer Tastings and much more! Voted No.1 Hostel in Latvia 2009 and 2010.A Genuine Backpackers for Real Travellers !!!!!** NO STAG PARTIES ALLOWED **Clean, Secure and Fun backpackers hostel in Old Riga for small groups and solo travellers. We are a true backpackers with friendly local staff that will help you 24hrs.** Female Only Dorms Available!! Our prices include all taxes, all linens and your bed already made for you... PLUS a FRESH TOWEL!!- FREE internet and WIFI- FREE lockers and locks- FREE Foosball Table- FREE shower and hand soap- FREE tea all day- FREE guide map- FREE popcorn & gumibears (Movie Nights)- FREE good times and awesome memories. We offer you TWO common rooms to meet other backpackers and a fully equipped KITCHEN for cooking 24 hours. All dorm rooms have large security lockers under each bed that can fit your whole backpack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Naughty Squirrel Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing