We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hostel in a great location ! And they offer tons of professional guided excursions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Naughty Squirrel Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hostel in a great location ! And they offer tons of professional guided excursions”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Hi There! We stayed in Riga at this amazing Hostel for two Nights, starting from November 23th 2012! We had previously booked an appartment for 2 nights, because we wanted to have our on privacy etc. after having slept one night at the hostel! However we cancelled the 2nd night at the appt. and came back to the Hostel! The first contact was great, they immediately answered to all our serveral mails and requests! The location is perfect, the hostel is a charming place and we had been welcomed with a "special drink", WIFI was working! They had good beer for a great price! the rooms were nice and with a lot of colour! All was clean, and all restrooms and toiletts were awesome! (good). During our stay there the manager (sorry I forgot the Name) helped us with a lot of good trips! The Hostel is acting as well as a kind of turism office and is doing this highly professional! We went shooting in an old soviet bunker, it was safe, well-managed and really great! The next day we went "Bob-sledding" and also this worked perfect! Even if I had kids I would go there, my overal review of my stay at the Naughty Squirrel is really good! Maybe for all this reasons we moved back to the Hostel!!! I can recommend it to everyone, even to elder/older persons. That Hostel underlined my statement that it is always better to stay in a good hostel rather than in a cheap and bad,weird Hotel! Well done guys, hope to see y'all soon and many thanks!

Ps: Don't miss the funny foot-fish-massage store which s located right next to the Hostel! A terrific experience, cheers from Switzerland

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miro4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    68
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
58
152
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poprad, Slovakia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I can say just one word about NSH...this word is GREAT! Great awesome staff, great location, great pubcrawl, great friendly atmosphere and other activities, recommendations and tips what to do in Riga...it was really great stay there. Simple, Es milu tevi (I love you) NSH :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlado_Gombar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a great hostel! i went for a weekend and the staff are so friendly and helpful Encouraged everyone in the hostel to try Latvian drinking games and alcohols...why drink Stella?!? Super great location. Free drink is always a nice treat! They have lots of excursions to fill your day and the staff have great local recommendations and safety tips

Room Tip: get involved and just do as the Latvians do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

i have been staying in many good hostels but the naughty squirrel Backpackers will remain in my memories forever! Life is about caring for the others and that s exactly what this hostel has as philosophy. the friendly & super helpful staff has tried to make us feel like home and make our stay UNFORGETABLE! Plus they are always available as it is 24/24 reception). indeed, they give you all the good tips to visit and go to the right places in Riga which means more local places rather than touristic places. this hostel is not only cheap but super CLEAN (the toilets and bathrooms are being cleaned i would say minimum 3/4 times a day. it seems that there is always someone cleaning them), the location is just perfect , near the bus station and train station which means that if you are running late for your bus , you might still have a chance to get it. lets not forget the 24/24 bar which has everyday nice happy hours. anyway You will discover this bar immediatly on your arrival as you get a welcome shot. there are enough places to chill out or party and a fully equiped kitchen just next to the bar. i could write an essay on this hostel as everything was so perfect but i let you discover yourself more about this paradize ...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Our entire experiance at NSB was great. From the super easy online booking, to the friendly welcome, the free arrival shot (Riga Black Balsam), the rooms, the bar, the checkout, the thanks-for-staying-with-us-email... This list could continue.

At NSB they really made us feel welcome and we were instant fans of them as well as of Riga. Upon arrival we got a crash course of places to see, bars, restaurants and tour suggetions as well as an additional offer to help (reception is occupied 24hrs/day).

We staid in a 6 bed dorm and it was very clean, the beds made (and fresh!) with a towel included. Showers and bathrooms were cleaned daily at well maintained (individual bathrooms with a shower, as well as individual bathrooms). Also, there were lockers under the beds.

The common areas, fussball table, well equiped kitchen and bar made for a great hangout.

Everything is accessible by key card and the NSB is very centrally located (in Old Town, five minutes from the bus station).

What really made our experiance here, though, was the staff. They are friendly, helpful and literally made us feel like we had just arrived home. They had an abundance of suggetions (didnt overload us with info though!) and we willing to help with everything. They even organized our next hostel.

Overall, I have to recommend the NSB and know that I will be back! Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sotraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very central and good location in Riga's Old Town. The beds were comfy and the bathrooms were very well maintained. The common areas are nice and there are computers for people to use. Staff are very nice and friendly (and give you the occasional free drink which is always nice!). Kitchen is well equipped with free tea bags as well. Fun events - enjoyed a very interesting magic show while there, and they organise the events well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newmarcchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Arrived at the hostel about 11.30 in the morning and pressed the intercom to be let into the building. We were given a welcome shot and a map with some useful tips written on it. We were booked into a room just for the two of us. It was tidy and quite spacious with two power points and an additional two on the wall next to each bunk bed. The hostel was in a good location to get to all the main sites.

There were plenty of showers and toilets available in the hostel and I only had trouble with the temperature of the shower once.

We had problem with noise a few times but this was due to the thin walls of the rooms rather than anything else. Every time a door closed it sounded like it was slamming and we could hear people walking up and down the corridor outside our room.

Saying this there was no noise from other guests and this was the only minor complaint with the hostel. I would still recommend it and return.

Room Tip: Bring some ear plugs just in case
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stace85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.4 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naughty Squirrel Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naughty Squirrel Backpackers

Property: Naughty Squirrel Backpackers
Address: Kaleju iela 50 | Old Town, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aussie owned Backpackers in the Heart of the Old Town. Only 300m to Main Square, Airport Bus, Central Markets, Bus Station, Supermarkets and many Bars/Restaurants. AK47 Shooting, Bobsled, Free Walking Tours, Pub Crawls, Latvian Food Nights, Karaoke, Husky Dog Sledding, Daily Happy Hours, Latvian Beer Tastings and much more! Voted No.1 Hostel in Latvia 2009 and 2010.A Genuine Backpackers for Real Travellers !!!!!** NO STAG PARTIES ALLOWED **Clean, Secure and Fun backpackers hostel in Old Riga for small groups and solo travellers. We are a true backpackers with friendly local staff that will help you 24hrs.** Female Only Dorms Available!! Our prices include all taxes, all linens and your bed already made for you... PLUS a FRESH TOWEL!!- FREE internet and WIFI- FREE lockers and locks- FREE Foosball Table- FREE shower and hand soap- FREE tea all day- FREE guide map- FREE popcorn & gumibears (Movie Nights)- FREE good times and awesome memories. We offer you TWO common rooms to meet other backpackers and a fully equipped KITCHEN for cooking 24 hours. All dorm rooms have large security lockers under each bed that can fit your whole backpack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Naughty Squirrel Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing