We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveler rating
127
9
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely homehouse is beautifulgreat hostsb bscooked breakfastsitting roomcity centrerooms are spaciousminute walkold cityrictrammezaaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 136 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Me and my husband are doctors from India. We visited Riga for a medical conference. I am very glad that my husband arranged for us to stay with Diga and Ric. He read some fabulous reviews on Tripadvisor. Homestay turned out to be our most delightful experience in Riga. We were warmly welcomed by Ric and Diga to their pretty cottage (as pretty and as comfortable as in Enid Blyton books). They are a very warm, hospitable couple and very well read and well-informed. We spent three days at their home and everyday was a fun experience. We thoroughly enjoyed the hearty home-cooked breakfasts, long chats with Ric and Diga, learning about Lativian history and culture and the tandem bike rides. After the first day, we did not even bother to go to the old city, it was much more fun seeing the place with Ric and listening to his fascinating stories. And we felt very very safe in Riga and at Stockholmas Iela. We did not feel that any of the locals were hostile to foreigners. Infact, everybody was prompt to help with directions etc. At the end of the stay we almost felt as if Ric and Diga were old friends whom we had known for a long time. Homestay will be the best part of our Riga memories!.

Room Tip: All rooms are very pretty and comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asterix04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Everything and more is true about staying with our incredibly lovely hosts Diga and Ric at the Homestay.

When we arrived late on a Friday night we were charmed by our spacious, and beautifully appointed and individually outfitted room: A nice, big and comfy bed, a huge day bed, dresser, wardrobe and a little quaint table for two. The room on the ground floor has windows on three sides and we felt right at home. But even more welcoming were our hosts who not only offered us a cool drink after a long journey, but who had also cooked excellent chili and baked cookies in case we were hungry.

On Saturday after a hearty home-cooked breakfast we made use of the graciously offered tandem to start exploring Riga. We enjoyed a nice guided bike ride through the surrounding area, where beautiful mansions lined part of our way into Riga. Once in town - armed with great recommendations, maps, and of course the tandem - we explored the beautiful "Hanse-city" Riga as tourists, but somewhat felt right at home, almost like insiders or even locals which was again largely due to our hosts.

I guess it says it all, when one starts regretting not to have brought along a hostess gift to a B&B on the second day of one's stay...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 72Christian1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Overall-good experience. Absolutely beautiful house and very helpful once I was there. However, service when I was booking/planning was less than great. Seemed like they didn't really want guests at all. Long delay in responding to emails. Phone number and email address from site didn't work, etc. But was I was there, very hospitable and helpful environment.

Another minus-it's not as centrally located as I thought. It's a good 35 min tram from downtown.

Overall-comfortable, beautiful rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cp076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had we gone to an ordinary hotel, we wouldn't have learned half as much about Riga as we did by staying with Ric and Diga. Warm, hospitable, helpful - it was like visiting an aunt and uncle, but without the familial obligations. Thanks to our hosts, we left feeling like we'd got a sense of the history, culture and values of the place we'd visited - and seen more than we would have if we'd stayed in the city centre. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HandyTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

As a family of 4 we spent 4 nights at homestay, and found it very welcoming and comfortable. The hosts went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed, and the rooms were simply gorgeous- the adjoining rooms are great for families. Lovely breakfasts and friendly pets. 30mins by tram out of town, it has a lovely setting in Mezzaparks - excellent for children who can swim in the lake, hire bikes/go carts, swing on ropes etc. Lovely beach not far on the bus. The hosts give you all the information/maps you need to make the most of your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moose1246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews