We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never have I experienced such wonderful hospitality”
Review of Homestay Riga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Riga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homestay Riga
Ranked #4 of 68 Riga B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in June and can attest to all the positive comments left by others. Ric and Diga are the most friendly, hospitable individuals you could meet. They rapidly make you welcome in their home and create a family atmosphere, encouraging visiting among guests and offering plenty of welcome advice. My room was large and comfortable. The common areas are welcoming. Ric's tour of the neighborhood is not-to-miss and their advice regarding points of interest, restaurants and the like is spot-on. I hope I can find many opportunities to return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Homestay Riga
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 130 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed there for 5days in May.Our 4beds family room was spacious,beautifully decorated and clean.Breakfast was delicious.Kids enjoyed play with Raffa the dog and,Skoda the cat. The house located in the surburban area of Riga,surrounded by trees.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kat056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

to leave homestay after 3 days, i felt very quick attached to this beautiful house with the cats & dog and DIGA, who took so good care of me, cooking delicious breakfast and giving me very good advice, for outdoor eating, shopping and doing all these interesting activities (bergi outdoor museum, beach, central market). if you wanna stay in a charming wooden house, that feels like home, book your room, book it quick:)
there should be a diga in every city i visit~~~

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank christinedesittner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Even before we got there we knew we had found somewhere special , it was our wedding anniversary and i had arranged with Diga and Ric to have some flowers and a Latvian anniversary card , which was ready and waiting when we arrived . Also we ordered a taxi for when we got there which cost 10 Lv , you can get the bus from the airport which cost 0.50 Lv and then straight over the road for the number 11 tram which takes you to 5 minutes from Homestay . The room was huge and so were the breakfasts , we arrived about midday and Ric made us some home made soup and then after this gave us a lift into town and showed us round the market which was housed in converted zepplin hangers . Diga & Ric are full of useful info and they love to tell you stuff . They have lots of cats and Raffaello a lovely stray dog . We went to the zoo which was nice but needs some serious updating but worth a look . We spent alot of time in yhe Folkclub Ala the beer was great and so was the food . If i can be of any more assistance please e-mail me .

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank celticbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Spent there 1 night and could only say the best words about this place. Very friendly host, excellent food and most of all huge kick of positive energy!

Room Tip: all rooms are a+
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T_Jankauskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rigariga, Owner at Homestay Riga, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

What can we say? Thank you so much. Come back. We had good with you both. See your picture with Raffa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Just returned from our trip to Riga & Jūrmala for the World Winter Swimming Championships. Before the swimming we stayed at Homestay in Riga which gave us so much more than you expect from a two night stay. It's ideally situated an easy tram journey away from the centre of Riga. 5 minutes walk from a tram stop and nearest restaurant, well suited to a evening meal on the first night. Next morning we were sharing a walk to Ķīšezers Lake, Mežaparks with Diga and Rafa which set up our stay excellently and we learnt a lot about Latvia - things that guide books don't mention, plus all the personal advice on what to see, where to eat in our trip down to the Old Town. We've never experienced a better B & B. Spacious, friendly and a wonderful healthy home cooked breakfast complete with home made bread.
Check out the walk: http://www.flickr.com/photos/26975404@N06/6756408783/
We then made our way across to Jūrmala for the WWSC. Latvia and the Jelgavas Roni club can be very proud of the event they put on. Superbly organised and a wonderful mix of competitveness and fun.
The venue: http://www.flickr.com/photos/26975404@N06/6756410875
Lots of other photos and videos by our South London Swimming Club team mates tagged on flickr with WSWC 2012 SLSC e.g. http://www.flickr.com/photos/75082419@N02/6762864411

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_Barbara_SLSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Wonderful place, we stayed there for the second time and we will stay more! Friendly and cosy atmosphere and people! You will like home!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
4.0 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
0.2 mi away
Keizarmezs
Keizarmezs
#85 of 110 in Riga
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mezaparks Hotel
Mezaparks Hotel
#93 of 110 in Riga
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#56 of 110 in Riga
185 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Jurnieks
Hotel Jurnieks
#90 of 110 in Riga
65 reviews
3.7 mi away
Art Hotel Laine
Art Hotel Laine
#1 of 68 in Riga
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestay Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestay Riga

Address: Stokholmas iela 1 | Mezaparks, Riga 1014, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Riga
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOMESTAY is where we live. Our house is a friendly eco-build log house in the leafy diplomatic suburb of Mezaparks; Europe's first Garden City. We usually do a free tour of the Art Nouveau and Deco buildings after the best cooked breakfast in Riga. We have 1 large double as well as 2 100m2 fully self contained luxury short or long term apartments. Plenty of secure parking is available. The tram to Riga center takes 20 minutes. There are great facilities on our doorstep. Forest, Lake, boating, cycling, golf, BMX track, tennis, squash, fitness, saunas and a couple of class restaurants. We will gladly lend you our tandem. Book early. If in doubt stay the extra few days to give us the chance to help you organise the perfect Northern holiday. ( for Finns and Estonians we organise the perfect Southern holiday ) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Homestay - Riga Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing