We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riga,Latvia A Great Discovery”

National History Museum of Latvia
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.01*
and up
Old Town Walking Tour of Riga
Ranked #87 of 225 things to do in Riga
Attraction details
Munford, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Riga,Latvia A Great Discovery”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had only heard the name Riga and had no idea about it. With a little reading,I decided to extend my trip to St.Patersburg to Latvia by overnight train-only for the brave,otherwise fly.
The OldTown of Riga runs for blocks and many ways rival Prague its unique architecture.
The most stunning building was HOUSE OF BLACKHEADS.bUILD FIRST IN 1344 IT WAS A REFUGE FOR UNMARRIED MERCHANTS.
The design of St.Peters Church and St.Joseph's Cathedral are among the many captivating structures in the charming Old Town.
Latvia has been ruled by Sweden,Poland,Germany,Russia,etc. and these nations all left their influence.
At the edge of Riga is the most unusual restaurant I've seen in the 100 countries I've visited. It's called The Windmill Reataurant for the large windmill in front. The place is massive and so welll done with literally hundreds of choices of foods,dessserts,etc. in efficient cafateria-like setting for 500 guests.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank curious314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    20
    7
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
805 reviews
383 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Amazing Castle”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a castle on the banks of River Daugava in Riga, the capital of Latvia. The castle was founded in 1330. This structure was thoroughly rebuilt between 1497 and 1515. Upon the castle's seizure by the Swedes, they constructed spacious annexes in 1641. Its fortifications are amazing and I was impressed. A must see in Riga.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambrills, MD
Level Contributor
137 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Interesting out-of-the-way museum”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This small museum is one flight up from one of the offices of the President of Latvia. There are several guards pacing outside, but you can just open the front door and go up the stairs, walking past the office with the plaque on the door and continuing up the next flight of stairs to the museum. Inside you will find artefacts from the Stone Age through 1941. I thought the ancient currency and folk costumes were interesting. There was also an exhibit on education in Latvia when it was part of the Russian Empire. There was even a sign written in Russian, designed to be worn around a child's neck, reading "Today I spoke in Latvian."

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank emilysmom2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Nice overview of Latvian history”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Unlike what a previous reviewer said, we found that there was plenty of info in English in the form of printed overviews in each room (included with entrance fee of 2 lat). Some really interesting photos of Latvia at the end of the 1800s, complete with the artifacts that were pictured (e.g. farming implements, clothing). Also interesting to see when Latvia experienced each of the developmental ages (e.g. iron age around the 1000s... so late!). I would say this is worth a look, but do go to the Occupation and Medicine museums first if you must prioritize.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank misswhitneypaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No information in English”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

None of the exhibits were translated into English as they were in other museums (occupation museum for instance) and I bought the English guide book which didn't actually give any info on the exhibits only a general overview on each room which was already on printed sheets in each room. A waste of money and time really. The Latvian museum of history and navigation shows much the same and is in English.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MK1_GIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National History Museum of Latvia also viewed

 

Been to National History Museum of Latvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing