We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, and a well-run hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great value, and a well-run hotel.”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Apparently this is a family owned business, and it shows in the care and efficiency with which the hotel is run.
Things I liked.
1) Computer terminal for internet access in the bar (for those of us, who prefer not to carry around tablets etc.).
2) BBC news channel on room and public area televisions.
3) Gratuitous afternoon tea, with cake at 3 pm.....how lovely !

Things I didn't like:
1) Self-service coffee area had every flavour of tea available, except er....tea. ie black tea as drunk in the UK. We don't go in for this 'peppermint', 'camomile' and 'rosehip' nonsense, we just like er....tea, please !
2) Why does the hotel feel it necessary to subject its diners and (in the bar) drinkers to incessantly load music ? (Actually I noticed this seemed to be a feature of life in Riga in general).
I quite liked the choice of music, but turn it down please.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LobbyLudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear LobbyLudd,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars on Tripadvisor. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the negative feedback that you gave us as well. We will definitely look at our teas and the volume of the music.
Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    253
    69
    26
    10
See reviews for
90
233
52
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I am from Riga, living abroad. I have visited Riga with my friend and stayed in this Hotel for 4 nigths in a Twin Superior room.

+ Location is really good, you are in the very centre of Riga and in a walking distance from the Old town
+ Beautiful building
+ Dinner buffet (really big for the price of the room and tastes good, local food) and 24/7 Tea, Coffee and fruits
+ Breakfast buffet has a lot of warm foods, like pancackes, porridge, bacon
+ Staff was really friendly, but not really professional, I suppose just students, who want to earn some money, not trained or having knowledge about hospitality or Hotel/guest service
+ complimentary wi-fi
+ steambath

- Very dirty bathroom (my dirty bathroom at home is cleaner), it was pretty unpleasant to use shower. Everything need to be cleaned with a strong cleaning detergent (we informed staff about this issue, asking to clean it, but recieved fruits as "sorry" instead, what was nice, but doesnt solve a problem)
- The room generally, also not very clean, a lot of dust everywhere, I guess the room was not used for some time
- Just regular soap in the bathroom, no additional bath amenities
- No slippers available (Bathrobe in the room) even if you are ready to pay for them. In my opinion strange, because there is a small wellness area
- Whirpool also need to be cleaned
- Wellness area accesible throught the street or through the bar, not very convenient if its cold outside or if there are people at the bar (you need to be dressed), do not understand the point of bathrobes if you are not really able to use them.
- Hairdryer stop to work every 4 min because of overheating
- Pictures are overpromising, hotel rooms are not that modern
- Not very comfortable bed (but this is personal)
- Minibar is a basket (no fridge)

Room Tip: Room to the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaBelasova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear AnnaBelasova,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars on tripadvisor. I am glad to read that you really enjoyed the Clarion Collection concept with the complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea, evening meal, coffee, tea and fruits 24/7 and free wi fi. I am more sorry to read that the cleaning was not up to your standards, we are currently doing many changes in our housekeeping department and I can see that we are coming to have a good out come it.
Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Very good service by hotel staff all the time. :-)
Free dinner and some snacks for lunch. :-)
Shower has some black spots, maybe soon time to renovate shower cabinets. :-/
10 min walk from city center. :-)

=Good hotel :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Lilledal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Lilledal,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars on Tripadvisor. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the food. We are currently going through all our baths to make sure that they are nice and clean.
Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vayrac, France
Level Contributor
221 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I come to Riga about 4 or 5 times a year and for the past few years have always stayed at Hotel Valdemars. Frankly, there is no reason to go anywhere else. The staff are always helpful and go the extra mile - e.g. having something ready for me to eat when I arrive from the airport at around 22.30 without my having to ask for it in advance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Molepolole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Pooley R,
Thank you for the very nice review you written about your stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars on tripadvisor. Words like yours makes it worth all the effort we put into making our guests happy.
Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed in this hotel on a stag do. All the staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful when advice was required for where to go in the town.
One bit of advice is if you're going out in the evening and will be returning to the hotel by taxi then make sure you take a card with the hotels address as it seemed like a lot of the taxi drivers weren't sure of the location of the hotel.
Would stay in this hotel again in a flash.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce_cleaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Bruce Cleaver,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and most of all that you found the staff friendly and helpful.
Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The suite tandart we stayed was far from expected, smoke smell in, no hooks in the bathroom. Evening meal in the restoran was disappointment, no tablecloth, no glasses, no cutlery on the tables.......

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Vadim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Vadim K
Thank you for writing a review of your stay on tripadvisor, I am sad that we didn’t live up to your expectations. Our evening meal is supposed to have a casual feel at home atmosphere so that our guests can relax after a busy day at work or in city, we therefore have chosen not to have tablecloths, glasses and cutleries on the table.
Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

From the exceptionally lovely welcome (including a ploughman's style salad which had been prepared for us as we had arrived late) through to the relaxing and homely lounge area with constant free tea and coffee, the small gym and steam room area, exceptionally clean rooms and fantastic location in the heart of the Art Nouveau area; I would totally recommend this hotel. The breakfast spread was extensive and fresh as was the evening buffet. Much of the fresh produce we has seen at the covered market was on offer. The mid afternoon cake and waffle making facility was also a nice touch. A gem of a hotel, only 10 min stroll from the heart of the old town.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear MichelleBrighton,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your stay with us in tripadvisor. It sounds to me that you had just that kind of a stay that we want our guests to have. Enjoying a fresh and healthy breakfast and evening meal and wind down in the afternoon with some waffles and coffee.
Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.4 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#11 of 109 in Riga
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Janne
Hotel Janne
#32 of 109 in Riga
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#23 of 109 in Riga
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Address: Kri jana Valdemara iela 23, Riga 1010, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Riga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#17 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Valdemar you live in comfort and style in the heart of Riga's history and culture. The over 100 year old house is an example of Riga's unique Art Nouveau architecture and total renovated in 2006.Hotel Valdemar is located in central Riga, only a few minutes walk from Old Town. On the tranquil courtyard, you can during the summer months enjoy a cup of coffee in the sun, while the one million city of Riga pulsates just outside.We want to take good care of our guest we therfore offer all our guest complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and evening meal between 18:00 and 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Riga
Clarion Collection Valdemars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing